Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Scare Me to Death - A Spell-Binding Edge-of-Your-Seat Thriller - cover

Scare Me to Death - A Spell-Binding Edge-of-Your-Seat Thriller

CJ Carver

Publisher: Bloodhound Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Digging up the past can be deadly in this “ingeniously plotted, twisty and enthralling” thriller from the CWA Debut Dagger–winning author of Cold Echo (Mystery People). A homemade bomb exploded mid-air, killing 214 people on board. Thirteen people survived . . . Sixteen years later one of the survivors is found brutally murdered. It looks like a crime of passion, but DC Lucy Davies knows something is wrong. They were trying to find the bombers. Lucy’s search for the killer brings her into conflict with her long-lost father—who has his own secrets. Dangerous secrets that Lucy must expose so she can confront a vicious murderer with only one thing on their mind: Keep on killing to stop the truth from being revealed.The perfect read for fans of authors like Sibel Hodge, Caroline Mitchell, and Tim Weaver. Praise for the novels of CJ Carver: “Tell Me a Lie is a fast and ingenious thriller. I’m full of admiration.” —Isabelle Grey, bestselling author of Wrong Way Home “A fabulously disturbing read! Carver really is a must read writer . . . Totally recommend.” —Northern Crime  

Other books that might interest you

  • The Claus Killing - cover

    The Claus Killing

    Carolyn Ridder Aspenson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A small-town realtor must solve Santa’s murder in this Southern holiday whodunit from the author of the Pooch Party Cozy Mysteries.   Christmas is just around the corner, and the entire town of Bramblett County, Georgia, is ready and waiting for the big event! But a terrible tragedy threatens the celebration and leaves a key component of the holiday dead. Now Lily must uncover the truth and save Bramblett County’s Christmas . . . before it’s too late.Join Lily in her holiday hunt for the truth!  Praise for the mysteries of Carolyn Ridder Aspenson  “I love the charming Southern small-town dynamic and all the drama it brings. And the supporting characters are a hoot!” —Caroline Fardig, USA Today–bestselling author   “If you like southern charm and laughter with deadly mysteries, this is your series.” —Wulfwyn Reads Excessively   “Has all the earmarks I look for in an engrossing whodunnit; a couple of plausible red herrings, a few rescue dogs for interest, and a budding romantic interest that will keep at least this avid reader coming back with each new installment. An excellent read, I am highly recommending!” —Roxx Is Reading
    Show book
  • The Search for Artemis - cover

    The Search for Artemis

    Vanessa Gordon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Search for Artemis is the second in the series The Naxos Mysteries with Martin Day. English archaeologist and TV presenter Martin Day, who is in his element enjoying the food, drink and atmosphere of his adopted Greece, uses his skills as a researcher to solve mysterious events on the beautiful island of Naxos.978-1-8384533-1-2
    Show book
  • 1979 - cover

    1979

    Val McDermid

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A Scottish journalist is drawn into a world of corruption, terror, and murder in the new novel by “one of crime fiction’s most eminent writers” (Entertainment Weekly).   The year started badly and only got worse—blizzards, strikes, power cuts, and political unrest were the norm. For investigative journalist Allie Burns, however, someone else’s bad news was the unmistakable sound of opportunity knocking, and 1979 is ripe with possibilities.   But Allie is a woman in what is still a man’s world. Desperate to get away from the “women's stories” the Glasgow desk keeps assigning her, she strikes up an alliance with wannabe investigative journalist Danny Sullivan. From the start, their stories create enemies. First an international tax fraud, then a potential Scottish terrorist group aiming to cause mayhem ahead of an impending referendum. And then Danny is found murdered in his flat. For Allie, investigative journalism just got personal.   The debut of an intense new series, 1979 is an atmospheric journey into the past with intriguing insight into the present, from a Diamond Dagger winner and multiple Edgar Award finalist.   “The queen of psychological thrillers.” —Irish Independent   “There are few other crime writers in the same league.” —The Washington Post
    Show book
  • Hounds Harvest and Homicide - A Pooch Party Cozy Mystery - cover

    Hounds Harvest and Homicide - A...

    Carolyn Ridder Aspenson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    USA Today–Bestselling Author: A fundraiser turns fatal, and an animal-shelter volunteer has to sniff out a killer . . .   When Missy Kingston brought her pooch-party program to an annual gala fundraiser for the city’s women’s shelter, she didn’t expect a murder. But the most prominent financial contributor to the shelter has been found dead, bringing the big night to a halt.   The suspect list is long, but Missy knows one person who shouldn't be on it: her friend Max Hoover. Missy vows to prove his innocence, and that determination leads her down a path of power, politics, and money. And it’s a path the killer doesn't want her taking . . .
    Show book
  • The Return of Sherlock Holmes - Further Extraordinary Tales of the Famous Sleuth - cover

    The Return of Sherlock Holmes -...

    Maxim Jakubowski

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Fifteen brand-new stories about the British super sleuth by an assortment of talented tale-tellers!   Sherlock Holmes and Watson have been household names for generations. In this new anthology from Maxim Jakubowski, you can read all about the dynamic duo in a new light and revisit the legacy of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. From brand new stories to deeper looks into famous Sherlock Holmes cases, fans have a new chance to delve into the world of Holmes, Watson, and their crime-solving capers.   “One highlight is Paul A. Freeman’s imaginative ‘Sherlock Holmes and a Case of Humbug,’ in which the detective doubts Ebenezer Scrooge’s change of heart resulted from ghostly visitations and uncovers a violent crime. Another is Eric Brown’s eerie ‘The Curse of Carmody Grange,’ in which Holmes investigates a disappearance from a sealed room attributed to a centuries-old curse.” —Publishers Weekly   “I have been a fan of Maxim Jakubowski for years. There just is no finer mystery writer and editor anywhere.” ―Alexander Algren, author of Out in a Flash: Murder Mystery Flash Fiction
    Show book
  • What’s the Matter with Mary Jane? - An Epitome Apartments Mystery - cover

    What’s the Matter with Mary...

    Candas Jane Dorsey

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    A wise-cracking, grammar-obsessed, pansexual amateur sleuth is thrust into the world of the uber-rich when her enigmatic, now-famous childhood friend breezes back into her life begging for help with a dangerous stalker
    		 
    Our nameless postmodern amateur sleuth is still recovering from her first dangerous foray into detective work when her old friend Priscilla Jane Gill breezes back into her life and begs for help. Pris, now a famous travel writer, fears she’s being stalked again after a nearly fatal attack by a deranged fan a year earlier. In Pris’s dizzying world of wealth and privilege, nameless meets dreamy but sinister tech billionaire Nathan and his equally unnerving sidekick Chiles. Pris’s stalker is murdered outside her book launch, and the shadow of obsession continues to stalk Pris. With no one she can totally trust, nameless knows she’s not going to like the answer — but she delves into her old friend’s past, seeking the mastermind behind Pris’s troubles before it’s too late. Bunnywit does his level best to warn them, but no one else speaks Cat, so background peril transforms into foreground betrayal and murder.
    		 
    In the second installation of the Epitome Apartments Mystery Series, our heroine walks a dangerous path in a world where money is no object and the stakes are higher, and more personal, than ever.
    Show book