Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Other Serious - Essays for the New American Generation - cover

The Other Serious - Essays for the New American Generation

Christy Wampole

Publisher: Harper

  • 1
  • 5
  • 0

Summary

An original collection of incandescent cultural criticism, both experimental and personal, full of pragmatic advice for how to live a considered, joyful existence in our era of screen living and hipster irony, by a Gen-X Princeton professor and contributor to The New York Times 
The essays in The Other Serious examine the signature phenomena of our moment: the way our lives contradict themselves, how exaggeration and excess seep into our collective subconscious, why gender is becoming more rather than less complicated, and how we interact with the material things that surround us. It is a book about the delicacy and bluntness of American life, about how pop culture sticks its finger deeply into the ethical dilemmas of our time, and how to negotiate between the old and the new, the high and the low, the global and the local, the sacred and the profane. At the heart of these reflections lies a central question: What should you do when you don't know what to do? 
Taken together, these essays comprise a guide for the overhaul of "the administrativersity" of contemporary American life, a bureaucratic prison where the brain needn't work anymore. These pieces investigate the writer's own way of thinking—putting forth new ideas, questioning them, and urging the reader to adopt the same spirit of critical reexamination.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Bridal Party - Perfect for fans of Lucy Foley's The Guest List - cover

    The Bridal Party - Perfect for...

    J G Murray

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Sometimes friendship can be murder... It's the weekend of Clarisse's bridal party, a trip the girls have all been looking forward to. Then, on the day of their flight, Tamsyn, the maid of honour, suddenly backs out. Upset and confused, they try to make the most of the stunning, isolated seaside house they find themselves in. But, there is a surprise in store - Tamsyn has organised a murder mystery, a sinister game in which they must discover a killer in their midst. As tensions quickly boil over, it becomes clear to them all that there are some secrets that won't stay buried...WINNER OF THE DEVIANT MINDS CRIME THRILLER PRIZE 2018READERS LOVE THE BRIDAL PARTY!"Dark, gritty, edge of your seat, addictive reading at its best" Karen, Netgalley"A chilling, sinister, intense thriller" Nicki, Netgalley
    Show book
  • The Poems of Hesiod - Theogony Works and Days and The Shield of Herakles - cover

    The Poems of Hesiod - Theogony...

    Hesiod

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this new translation of Hesiod, Barry B. Powell gives an accessible, modern verse rendering of these vibrant texts, essential to an understanding of early Greek myth and society. With stunning color images that help bring to life the contents of the poems and notes that explicate complex passages, Powell’s fresh renditions provide an exciting introduction to the culture of the ancient Greeks. This is the definitive translation and guide for students and readers looking to experience the poetry of Hesiod, who ranks alongside Homer as an influential poet of Greek antiquity.
    Show book
  • Criminal Minds - Sociopaths Serial Killers and Other Deviants - cover

    Criminal Minds - Sociopaths...

    Jeff Mariotte

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    An authorized tie-in to the popular TV show Criminal Minds 
    Most episodes of Criminal Minds feature a briefing where the show's team of FBI profilers defines the type of criminal they're looking for and provides some real-life examples. This book tells the story of those examples.Published to coincide with the release of season five of Criminal Minds on DVD Organized by type of criminal, including solo serial killers, sexual predators, and killers with famous victims; and tells the stories of many famous murderers, including David Berkowitz, Jeffrey Dahmer, Mark David Chapman, and the Zodiac killer Features photographs from the show  
    Criminal Minds: Sociopaths, Serial Killers, and Other Deviants is a fascinating, terrifying book about the criminal minds who live among us.
    Show book
  • Justine - cover

    Justine

    Marquis de Sade

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Justine is set just before the French Revolution in France and tells the story of a beautiful young woman who goes under the name of Therese. Her story is recounted to Madame de Lorsagne while defending herself for her crimes, en route to punishment and death. She explains the series of misfortunes which have led her to be in her present situation.
    Show book
  • 120 days of sodom - cover

    120 days of sodom

    Marquis de Sade

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    The extensive wars wherewith Louis XIV was burdened during his reign, while draining the State's treasury and exhausting the substance of the people, none the less contained the secret that led to the prosperity of a swarm of those bloodsuckers who are always on the watch for public calamities, which, instead of appeasing, they promote or invent so as, precisely, to be able to profit from them the more advantageously. The end of this so very sublime reign was perhaps one of the periods in the history of the French Empire when one saw the emergence of the greatest number of these mysterious fortunes whose origins are as obscure as the lust and debauchery that accompany them. It was toward the close of this period, and not long before the Regent sought, by means of the famous tribunal which goes under the name of the Chambre de Justice, to flush this multitude of traffickers, that four of them conceived the idea for the singular revels whereof we are going to give an account. One must not suppose that it was exclusively the low-born and vulgar sort which did this swindling; gentlemen of the highest note led the pack. The Duc de Blangis and his brother the Bishop of X***, each of whom had thuswise amassed immense fortunes, are in themselves solid proof that, like the others, the nobility neglected no opportunities to take this road to wealth. These two illustrious figures, through their pleasures and business closely associated with the celebrated Durcet and the Président de Curval, were the first to hit upon the debauch we propose to chronicle, and having communicated the scheme to their two friends, all four agreed to assume the major roles in these unusual orgies.
    Show book
  • The Mistresses of Henry VIII - cover

    The Mistresses of Henry VIII

    Kelly Hart

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Seventeen-year-old Henry VIII was 'a youngling, he cares for nothing but girls and hunting.' Henry was considered a demi-god by his subjects, so each woman he chose was someone who had managed to stand out in a crowd of stunning ladies. This book offers an insight into the love life of Henry, and the twelve women who knew the man behind the mask.
    Show book