Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read
without limits.
Subscribe to the pleasure of reading and enjoy the already more than a million books on all your digital devices.
All characters a62979f362eee8153229a51fdca0de40524eab52f63679cf7c23b9c6bb4e80d5
Hold Tight - A Novel - cover

Hold Tight - A Novel

Christopher Bram

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

During World War II, a gay navy sailor works undercover to catch Nazi spies, in this “fast-moving” novel from the author of Gods and Monsters (Publishers Weekly).   During shore leave in New York, Seaman Second Class Hank Fayette, a Texas country boy in the big city, finds himself visiting a gay brothel, where he is swiftly arrested during a raid. Facing the prospect of a dishonorable discharge—or worse—he is given another option: Return to the brothel, near Manhattan’s West Side piers, and work undercover as a prostitute.   Nazi agents are rumored to haunt the area, and Hank is a perfect lure to trap them. This military man is about to risk his life for his country in a way he never expected in “a spy thriller that breaks new ground” from the author of Eminent Outlaws and The Notorious Dr. August (Kirkus Reviews).  

Other books that might interest you

  • Live and Let Bondi - The Baxter & Co Mysteries #1 - cover

    Live and Let Bondi - The Baxter...

    Clare Kauter

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Welcome to the Shitty Cases Division.  
    Natalia isn’t sure about the new PI in the office. It seems like the bosses aren’t sure about him either, because they’ve ordered her to babysit him. What’s his deal? He’s keeping secrets, which isn’t ideal behaviour from someone who’s supposed to watch your back. Oh well. He’ll probably run screaming when he finds out what his first case is, anyway. 
    Billy is back at his dream job after a year away, and nothing is going to ruin his good mood. OK, so he’s being supervised by someone with less experience than him. Whatever. He’s back, and now it’s time to – wait, what? His first case is… to solve a murder. 
    For a ghost. 
    Right. 
    As if that’s not bad enough, there’s definitely something shady going on in the Sydney office of Baxter & Co., and Billy and Natalia don’t know who they can trust.  
    They’re not even sure about each other.  
    A new comedy-mystery series from author Clare Kauter. Perfect for fans of The Charlie Davies Mysteries!
    Show book
  • BC Blues Crime 3-Book Bundle - Creep Undertow Cold Girl - cover

    BC Blues Crime 3-Book Bundle -...

    R.M. Greenaway

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Dion and Leith aren’t just detectives, they’re human beings. See, that’s the problem. 
     
    
    
    RCMP officer David Leith and his team investigate a series of murders from the snowbound Hazeltons to Lower Mainland B.C. in this atmospheric new crime series. 
     
    
    
    Cold Girl — Book #1 
    
    A singer vanishes in the snowbound Hazeltons. Has she been snatched by the so-called Pickup Killer? Investigator David Leith has much to contend with — punishing weather and wily witnesses, plus a young constable who’s more hindrance than help. Suspects multiply, but only at the bitter end does Leith discover who is the coldest girl of all. 
     
    
    
    Undertow — Book #2 
    
    RCMP detective Leith fears he’s made a mistake bringing his family to North Vancouver. His first Serious Crimes Unit case has rocked his senses: who would brutally murder a mother, father, and baby? Detective Dion, also regretting the move, has returned to the city where he no longer fits in — but is he back in the swim, or destined to drown? 
     
    
    
    Creep — Book #3 
    
    A pair of dead bodies don’t seem linked, or even suspicious, at first, but Dion and Leith soon find themselves with a hairy murder case on their hands. As Dion gets tangled up with a witness and Leith loses himself in the case, a different kind of killer is on the prowl. But the rumours about him being more than human can’t possibly be true …
    Show book
  • The Expert - cover

    The Expert

    Bernard Knight

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Renowned pathologist John Hardy is thinking of leaving his job following the death of his wife – but when a series of women are found murdered, leaving police baffled, it's up to Hardy to try and crack one last big case. The odds are against him – a local nightclub owner is the key suspect, but fair means don’t seem to be enough to get a conviction, not when the other side has experts of their own…will Hardy manage to succeed?
    
     
    An insight into the latest scientific crime-fighting techniques available during 1970s investigations, The Expert was previously made into an acclaimed TV series and draws on the author’s extensive experience in pathology.
    Show book
  • Cold Girl - A BC Blues Crime Novel - cover

    Cold Girl - A BC Blues Crime Novel

    R.M. Greenaway

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    First police procedural has been set in the snowbound Hazelton area of northern B.C.
    Brings out the humanity of RCMP officers in its depiction of them, without idealizing or polishing off the rough edges
    A northern winter and two mismatched detectives bring out outstanding character friction and dialogue
    Author is a court reporter and longtime resident of the Hazeltons who has seen many trials in the area, including murders, and conveys a sense of its isolation and the claustrophobic feel of its criminal investigations
    Author’s extensive courtroom experience also shows in the gripping psychological realism of the book's criminals
    Show book
  • Undertow - A BC Blues Crime Novel - cover

    Undertow - A BC Blues Crime Novel

    R.M. Greenaway

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Second in the B.C. Blues Crime Novel series, beginning with Cold Girl, characterized by entertaining cases, strong characters, and taut backstories
    First long-running police procedural set in North Vancouver
    Brings out the humanity of RCMP officers in its depiction of them, without idealizing or polishing off the rough edges
    Author is familiar with the setting, as she was brought up on B.C.’s Lower Mainland, and has done extensive research about the area
    Author is a court reporter/court transcriber and has plenty of insight into the system and how trials are conducted, as well as a feel for dialogue and how experts speak about crime
    Show book
  • Snake Skin - cover

    Snake Skin

    CJ Lyons

    • 1
    • 11
    • 0
    From New York Times bestselling author CJ Lyons:
    
    An average Pittsburgh soccer mom, baking brownies and carrying a loaded forty-caliber Glock...
     
    From New York Times bestselling author CJ Lyons comes an irresistible read that's "everything a great thriller should be—action packed, authentic, and intense" (Lee Child). With over 500 five-star reviews!
     
    A loving mom and wife, dutiful daughter, consummate professional, and kick-ass federal agent, Lucy is living the perfect life as a Supervisory Special Agent running the FBI's Sexual Assault Felony Enforcement squad.
     
    Until the day she comes up against a predator more vicious and cunning than any she's ever tackled before, one who forces Lucy to choose between the life of the young victim she is fighting to save and her own daughter's....and Lucy's dream life is shattered.
    Show book