"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island." - Walt Disney
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Way It Should Be - cover

The Way It Should Be

Christina Suzann Nelson

Publisher: Bethany House Publishers

  • 0
  • 3
  • 1

Summary

After years of estrangement, the lives of Zara Mahoney and her twin sister, Eve, are suddenly and completely intertwined again. Eve's troubled lifestyle causes the state to take custody of her two children and contact Zara and her husband, asking them to consider foster care. Newlywed Zara thought she'd finally been given a fresh start and feels wholly unprepared to care for a niece and nephew whose existence she wasn't even aware of.  
 
Meanwhile, Eve may have a real chance to start over this time with the help of Tiff Bradley, who's dedicated to helping women everyone else has given up on after facing a heartbreaking tragedy in her own family.  
 
Over the course of one summer, all three women's hearts and lives hang in the balance as Eve desperately works toward a new life. Can they redefine their expectations of how life should be to find the hope they--and those they love--so desperately need?

Other books that might interest you

  • The Lucky Dress - The perfect feel-good romance for 2020 - cover

    The Lucky Dress - The perfect...

    Aimee Brown

    • 3
    • 40
    • 0
    We all have our lucky dress... an irresistibly hilarious rom-com! 
     
    Emi Harrison hasn't been feeling particularly lucky lately. Ever since her ex-fiancée, Jack Cabot, successfully shattered her heart into a million pieces. She's managed to avoid him for a whole year, but all that's about to change at her brother Evan's wedding... 
     
    She will have to face Jack, Jack's sister, Jack's parents, and Jack's new girlfriend: a mean girl that just won't quit. What could possibly go wrong? 
     
    With her lucky dress on, all bets are off, and maybe Emi will find her happily-ever-after at last? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Anna Bell, Jo Watson and Sophie Kinsella. 
     
    Praise for The Lucky Dress: 
     
    'One of my favorite books this year, maybe even ever' Michelle Harris. 
     
    'I was sucked in from the start and pretty much devoured the book' Nikki Newcomb. 
     
    'Perfect beach reading book' Danielle Dobson. 
     
    'Funny, relatable story' Erin Butler. 
     
    'I enjoyed this frothy, funny rom-com and read it in one sitting. Perfect beach read!' Amanda Driver.
    Show book
  • The Warrior's Call - Dragon Riders of Osnen Book 3 - cover

    The Warrior's Call - Dragon...

    Richard Fierce

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Darkness threatens the land.With an evil creature killing dragons and riders alike, the False King’s reign of terror spills across the border. While the king of Osnen and the Citadel’s riders struggle to stem the assault, Eldwin flies to the Conclave to plead for help from the other schools.
     
    Unless the schools unite and arrive in time, the world is doomed.
     
    Fans of Sarah K.L. Wilson’s Dragon School, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon and Anne McCaffrey’s Dragon Riders of Pern will feel right at home.
     
    The Warrior's Call is the third episode of the series Dragon Riders of Osnen.
     
    Dragon Riders of Osnen series:
     
    Book 1: Trial by Sorcery
     
    Book 2: A Bond of Flame
     
    Book 3: The Warrior's Call
     
    Book 4: The Coin of Souls
     
    Book 5: Wings of Terror
     
    Book 6: Eyes of Stone
     
    Book 7: Tooth and Claw
     
    Book 8: A Servant of Souls
     
    Book 9: Smoke and Shadow
     
    Book 10: The Dark Rider
    Show book
  • The Long Dark Road - an addictive and page-turning thriller - cover

    The Long Dark Road - an...

    P.R. Black

    • 2
    • 31
    • 0
    If you go, there's no coming back. 
     
    Dr Georgia Healey can't grieve. Her nineteen-year-old daughter went for a walk two years ago and vanished. The police never found Stephanie's body. The case has gone stale, but Georgia can't let it go. She knows Stephanie's out there, somewhere.
     
    On the anniversary of Stephanie's disappearance, Georgia's ready to re-interrogate university students, lecturers, Steph's past boyfriends, everyone. She treads the exact path where Stephanie vanished. Yet the shocking truth is even more than she can handle.
     
    When you seek the lost, be prepared for what you find . . . 
     
    Praise for P.R. Black: 
     
    'It's edge-of-the-seat stuff. The plot is good. I really couldn't see how it was going to work out ... It's a cracker' BOOKBAG
     
    'I absolutely loved this heart-stopping, spine-tingling novel that had me completely and utterly gripped throughout' Amazon Reviewer
     
    'Cleverly written with some great shockers and I had no idea how it would end – I wasn't disappointed' Amazon Reviewer
     
    'This was a fast-paced murder thriller that kept me turning the pages late into the night. It was intelligent and slick' Amazon Reviewer
     
    'It's always something of a risk trying a new author, but I was really glad I did ... I did not see the plot twist coming, and it was very surprising' Amazon Reviewer
    Show book
  • All That We Carried - A Novel - cover

    All That We Carried - A Novel

    Erin Bartels

    • 0
    • 5
    • 1
    "Bartels proves herself a master wordsmith and storyteller."--Library Journal, starred review 
     
    "This subdued tale of learning to forgive is Bartels's best yet."--Publishers Weekly 
     
    "A deeply personal, thoughtful exploration of dealing with pain and grief."--Life Is Story 
     
    "Taut and engaging."--Foreword 
     
    *** 
     
    Ten years ago, sisters Olivia and Melanie Greene were on a backcountry hiking trip when their parents were in a fatal car accident. Over the years, they grew apart, each coping with the loss in her own way. Olivia plunged herself into law school, work, and a materialist view of the world--what you see is what you get, and that's all you get. Melanie dropped out of college and developed an online life-coaching business around her cafeteria-style spirituality--a little of this, a little of that, whatever makes you happy. 
     
    Now, at Melanie's insistence (and against Olivia's better judgment), they are embarking on a hike in the Porcupine Mountains of Michigan's Upper Peninsula. In this remote wilderness they'll face their deepest fears, question their most dearly held beliefs, and begin to see that perhaps the best way to move forward is the one way they had never considered. 
     
    Michigan Notable Book Award winner Erin Bartels draws from personal experience hiking backcountry trails with her sister to bring you a story about the complexities of grief, faith, and sisterhood.
    Show book
  • The Collected Works of Victor Hugo - The Complete Works PergamonMedia - cover

    The Collected Works of Victor...

    Victor Hugo

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    This comprehensive eBook presents the complete works or all the significant works - the Œuvre - of this famous and brilliant writer in one ebook - 10090 pages easy-to-read and easy-to-navigate: 
    • Les Misérables
    • Notre-Dame De Paris
    • Poems
    • L'homme qui rit. English
    • The Luck of Roaring Camp and Other TalesBret Harte
    • International Short Stories: French
    • Toilers of the Sea
    • Prefaces and Prologues to Famous Books
    • Napoleon the Little
    • The Memoirs of 
    • The Dramas of: Mary Tudor, Marion de Lorme, Esmeralda
    • The Hunchback of Notre Dame
    • Histoire d'un crime. English
    • MEMOIR OF VICTOR MARIE HUGO.
    • EARLY POEMS.
    • ENVY AND AVARICE.
    • ODES.—-.
    • KING LOUIS XVII.
    • THE FEAST OF FREEDOM.
    • TO YE KINGS.
    • GENIUS.
    • THE GIRL OF OTAHEITE.
    • NERO'S INCENDIARY SONG.
    • REGRET.
    • THE MORNING OF LIFE.
    • BELOVED NAME.
    • THE PORTRAIT OF A CHILD.
    • 
    • BALLADES.—-.
    • THE GRANDMOTHER
    • THE GIANT IN GLEE.
    • THE CYMBALEER'S BRIDE.
    • BATTLE OF THE NORSEMEN AND THE GAELS.
    • MADELAINE.
    • THE FAY AND THE PERI.
    • THE PERI.
    • 
    • LES ORIENTALES.—.
    • THE SCOURGE OF HEAVEN.
    • PIRATES' SONG.
    • THE TURKISH CAPTIVE.
    • MOONLIGHT ON THE BOSPHORUS.
    • THE VEIL.
    • THE SISTER
    • THE FAVORITE SULTANA.
    • THE PASHA AND THE DERVISH.
    • THE LOST BATTLE.
    • THE GREEK BOY.
    • ZARA, THE BATHER
    • EXPECTATION.
    • THE LOVER'S WISH.
    • THE SACKING OF THE CITY.
    • NOORMAHAL THE FAIR.{}
    • THE DJINNS.
    • THE OBDURATE BEAUTY.
    • DON RODRIGO.
    • CORNFLOWERS.
    • MAZEPPA.
    • THE DANUBE IN WRATH.
    • OLD OCEAN.
    Show book
  • The Malady of Death - cover

    The Malady of Death

    Marguerite Duras

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “[An] erotic, existential mystery . . . part philosophical meditation, part fantasy” from the Prix Goncourt-winning author of The Lover (The Guardian). 
     
    A man hires a woman to spend several weeks with him by the sea. The woman is no one in particular, a “she,” a warm, moist body with a beating heart—the enigma of Other. Skilled in the mechanics of sex, he desires through her to penetrate a different mystery: he wants to learn to love. It isn’t a matter of will, she tells him. Still, he wants to try . . . 
     
    This beautifully wrought erotic novel is an extended haiku on the meaning of love, “perhaps a sudden lapse in the logic of the universe,” and its absence, “the malady of death.” 
     
    “The whole tragedy of the inability to love is in this work, thanks to Duras’ unparalleled art of reinventing the most familiar words, of weighing their meaning.”—Le Monde 
     
    “Deceptively simple and Racinian in its purity, condensed to the essential.”—Translation Review 
     
    Praise for Marguerite Duras’s international bestseller, The Lover 
     
    “Powerful, authentic, completely successful . . . perfect.”—The New York Times Book Review 
     
    “An exquisite jewel of a novel, as multifaceted as a diamond, as seamless and polished as a pearl.”—Boston Herald 
       
    “A vivid, lingering novel . . . a brilliant work of art.”—Cleveland Plain Dealer
    Show book