Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Nurse Matilda Goes to Hospital - cover

Nurse Matilda Goes to Hospital

Christianna Brand

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Once upon a time there was a huge family of children, and they were terribly, terribly naughty … 
 
The Brown children are back, and they're naughtier than ever! This time, they have feigned illness and been taken to hospital … but with the no-nonsense, magical Nurse Matilda running the show, they have little chance of keeping up their antics for long! 
 
This highly collectable new edition of a timeless classic is packed with episode after episode of mischief, mayhem and hilarity, all accompanied by Edward Ardizzone's beautiful original illustrations. 
  
 From the series that inspired the much-loved film Nanny McPhee, starring Emma Thompson and Colin Firth, Nurse Matilda Goes to Hospital overflows with naughtiness, wit and timeless humour – the perfect book for mischief-makers both young and old!

Other books that might interest you

  • Never Look Back - cover

    Never Look Back

    Lilliam Rivera

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    "Expertly blends reality and fantasy to explore what's behind love and loss, what it takes to heal." - Randy Ribay, author of National Book Award finalist Patron Saints of Nothing 
     
    Acclaimed author Lilliam  Rivera blends a touch of magical realism into a timely story about cultural identity, overcoming trauma, and the power of first love. 
     
    Eury comes to the Bronx as a girl haunted. Haunted by losing everything in Hurricane Maria--and by an evil spirit, Ato. She fully expects the tragedy that befell her and her family in Puerto Rico to catch up with her in New York. Yet, for a time, she can almost set this fear aside, because there's this boy . . . 
      
    Pheus is a golden-voiced, bachata-singing charmer, ready to spend the summer on the beach with his friends, serenading his on-again, off-again flame. That changes when he meets Eury. All he wants is to put a smile on her face and fight off her demons. But some dangers are too powerful for even the strongest love, and as the world threatens to tear them apart, Eury and Pheus must fight for each other and their lives. 
     
    Featuring contemporary Afro-Latinx characters, this retelling of the Greek myth Orpheus and Eurydice is perfect for fans of Ibi Zoboi's Pride and Daniel José Older's Shadowshaper. 
     
    A Pura Belpré Honor winner!
    Show book
  • Girl from Nowhere - cover

    Girl from Nowhere

    Tiffany Rosenhan

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    "A fast-paced spy thriller with enough twists and turns to keep readers entertained." - Publishers Weekly 
     
    Red Sparrow meets One of Us Is Lying in this action-packed, romance-filled YA debut about a girl trying to outrun her past. 
     
    Ninety-four countries. Thirty-one schools. Two bullets. Now it's over . . . or so she thinks. 
     
    Sophia Hepworth has spent her life all over the world--moving quickly, never staying in one place for too long. She knows to always look over her shoulder, to be able to fight to survive at a moment's notice. She has trained to be ready for anything. 
     
    Except this. Suddenly it's over. Now Sophia is expected to attend high school in a sleepy Montana town. She is told to forget the past, but she's haunted by it. As hard as she tries to be like her new friends and live a normal life, she can't shake the feeling that this new normal won't last. 
     
    Then comes strong and silent Aksel, whose skills match Sophia's, and who seems to know more about her than he's letting on . . .  
     
    What if everything Sophia thought she knew about her past is a lie? 
     
    Cinematic and breathtaking, Tiffany Rosenhan's debut stars a fierce heroine who will risk everything to save the life she has built for herself.
    Show book
  • The Toot Fairy - cover

    The Toot Fairy

    Mark Huffman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “Sorry, Walter the Farting Dog. I think it’s fair to say that this is probably the best picture book about toots I’ve ever read.” —A Fuse #8 Production, School Library Journal 
     
    When it’s time for Jessa the fairy to proclaim what kind of fairy she wants to be, she accidentally says “toot” instead of “tooth!” Now she’ll be in charge of finding all the toots from all the bottoms in the world. This is not exactly what she had in mind . . . 
     
    Read by the author! Play on any Kindle device with color and audio support, including Kindle Fire, Kindle for PC or the Kindle app for iOS. 
     
    “A good giggle. In this day and age, it’s fun to read something so . . . ‘refreshing!’” —Craig Smith, award-winning, international bestselling author of The Wonky Donkey 
     
    “Wish I had thought of it first!” —Adam Rex, author/illustrator of On Account of the Gum
    Show book
  • Grandma's Sugar Cookie - cover

    Grandma's Sugar Cookie

    Rose Rossner

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Make your Christmas extra sweet this year with this heartwarming holiday board book for babies and toddlers!
     
    Celebrate the special bond between Grandma and grandchild with this oh-so-sweet story about Grandma's love! Packed with heartfelt rhymes and adorable illustrations, this book will inspire littles one and grandmas to bake some treats (and memories!) together this holiday season. This board book for ages 0-3 makes a perfect grandma gift, festive stocking stuffer, and Christmas gift for kids.
     
    Plus, this book includes a delicious cookie recipe in the back for Grandma and grandchild to make together! Create new memories and treasure these special moments for years to come!
     
    You are Grandma's Chocolate Chip,my special little treat.I love to laugh and play with youand bake you something sweet!
    Show book
  • A cat's day - cover

    A cat's day

    Francisco Cunha

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Illustrations of everyday scenes of feline chores in a house, show us what our cat does and smashes at home. 
    
    It is the story of a relationship, or all of them, told in a humorous way.
    Show book
  • The Great Christmas Tales and Fables - cover

    The Great Christmas Tales and...

    Avneet Kumar Singla

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Great Christmas Tales and Fables is a collection of stories to bring back "the true spirit of Christmas" to the todays world where whole day just passes for running for ones livelihood. In this book we try to redirect the days to schools and Sunday schools and had written 20 great Christmas tales and fables. It contains the Nativity story, of course, but other parts of yesterday's Christmas will be much less familiar to modern readers. The song "White Christmas" has not yet been written, and the expression meant something more than snow. The people gave white gifts, to symbolize purity. Children may have had visions of sugar beet, but the book contains the unsweetened versions of two weepers by Hans Christian Anderson: "The Tiny Match Girl" and "the Fir Tree."(The tree learns to appreciate Christmas too late-at the campfire afterwards.) And Tiny Tom has to learn that he is lucky enough to get new skates for Christmas, even if they are the wrong brand. The book brings back great-grandfather's Christmas as a present for today. Christmas always came with problems. But it always came anyway. This Stories are full of faith, sacrifice, joy, and hope to excite the heart and carry fragrance of love to a cherished winter holiday.ContentsPREFACEThe Legend of the " White gifts"YOUR BIRTHDAY DREAMFIR TREETHE TINY MATCH GIRLTINY IVORYTHE STORY OF THE SHEPHERDTHE STORY OF CHRISTMASTHE LEGEND OF THE CHRISTMAS TREETINY ALBERTHOW THE FIR TREE BECAME A CHRISTMAS TREE? THE THREE MAGI IN THE WEST AND THEIR SEARCH FOR CHRISTTINY GRETCHEN AND THE WOODEN SHOETHE TINY SHEPHERDBABOUSCKATHE BOY WITH THE BOXTHE WORKER IN SANDALWOODTHE SHEPHERD WHO DID NOT GOPAULINAS CHRISTMASFOR US A CHILD IS BORNSTAR
    Show book