Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Fieldwork in Theology (The Church and Postmodern Culture) - Exploring the Social Context of God's Work in the World - cover

Fieldwork in Theology (The Church and Postmodern Culture) - Exploring the Social Context of God's Work in the World

Christian Scharen

Publisher: Baker Academic

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

In this addition to the acclaimed The Church and Postmodern Culture series, leading practical theologian Christian Scharen examines the relationship between theology and its social context. He engages with social theorist Pierre Bourdieu to offer helpful theoretical and theological grounding to those who want to reflect critically on the faith and practice of the church, particularly for those undertaking ministry internships or fieldwork assignments. As Scharen helps a wide array of readers to understand the social context of doing theology, he articulates a vision for the church's involvement with what God is doing in the world and provides concrete examples of churches living out God's mission.

Other books that might interest you

  • Forged - Writing in the Name of God--Why the Bible's Authors Are Not Who We Think They Are - cover

    Forged - Writing in the Name of...

    Bart D. Ehrman

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Bart D. Ehrman, the New York Times bestselling author of Jesus, Interrupted  and God’s Problem reveals which books in the Bible’s New Testament were not passed down by Jesus’s disciples, but were instead forged by other hands—and why this centuries-hidden scandal is far more significant than many scholars are willing to admit. A controversial work of historical reporting in the tradition of Elaine Pagels, Marcus Borg, and John Dominic Crossan, Ehrman’s Forged delivers a stunning explication of one of the most substantial—yet least discussed—problems confronting the world of biblical scholarship.
    Show book
  • Waiting for Morning - cover

    Waiting for Morning

    Margaret Brownley

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Molly Hatfield comes to Arizona Territory seeking stability and security. But living in Cactus Patch provides her with more than she ever dreamed of.  
    There is nothing Molly wouldnÆt do for her teenaged brother, Donny. Blaming herself for the accident that left him wheel-chair bound, Molly has dedicated her life to his care. But in 1896, gainful employment for a woman is hard to come by. So when Molly learns that an eccentric rancher in Cactus Patch, Arizona, is looking for an heiress--someone to take over management of the ranch in exchange for future ownership--she jumps at the chance to provide a real home for her brother.  
    If she proves to have a knack for ranching and agrees to remain single for life, the ranch can be hers. Neither stipulation worries Molly. SheÆs resourceful and hardworking. And she gave up dreams of marriage long ago when she dedicated her life to her brotherÆs well-being.  
    However, Molly didnÆt bank on meeting Dr. Caleb Fairbanks, the townÆs handsome and charismatic young doctor. Caleb has a way with Molly that makes her nervous. But itÆs how he is with her brother that really alarms her. Caleb sees past the wheelchair and genuinely likes Donny, but Molly fears heÆs putting unrealistic ideas into her brotherÆs head. Falling in love with Caleb would threaten everything sheÆs worked for, even her brotherÆs future happiness.  
    But it could be the very reason God brought her to Last Chance Ranch.
    Show book
  • Jesus Interrupted - Revealing the Hidden Contradictions in the Bible (And Why We Don't Know About Them) - cover

    Jesus Interrupted - Revealing...

    Bart D. Ehrman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The problems with the Bible that New Testament scholar Bart Ehrman discussed in his bestseller Misquoting Jesus—and on The Daily Show with John Stewart, NPR, and Dateline NBC, among others—are expanded upon exponentially in his latest book: Jesus, Interrupted. This New York Times bestseller reveals how books in the Bible were actually forged by later authors, and that the New Testament itself is riddled with contradictory claims about Jesus—information that scholars know… but the general public does not. If you enjoy the work of Elaine Pagels, Marcus Borg, John Dominic Crossan, and John Shelby Spong, you’ll find much to ponder in Jesus, Interrupted.
    Show book
  • The Heart of a Hero (Global Search and Rescue Book #2) - cover

    The Heart of a Hero (Global...

    Susan May Warren

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    Jake Silver may not be able to put the memories of his time as a sniper and Navy SEAL behind him, but at least he can put his skills to use as a part of the Jones Inc. rescue team. Saving the life of pediatric heart surgeon Dr. Aria Sinclair on Denali helped too. Now he can't get her out of his head, and when he hears she is in the path of a hurricane down in Key West he can't help but jump on a plane to rescue her. 
     
    Aria has dedicated her life to helping children born with defective hearts. After all, she was one of those children. Now driven to succeed, she lives a lonely, stressful life. One she would have lost on Denali if it hadn't been for Jake. Jake is exciting and handsome, but he's also dangerous, and she's already lost one person she loves. She can't bear it again. 
     
    It's not until she finds herself trapped in the middle of a category 4 hurricane that she can admit she needs Jake desperately. With their very survival in the balance, can they hope for a second chance at life . . . and love?
    Show book
  • Treasured Grace (Heart of the Frontier Book #1) - cover

    Treasured Grace (Heart of the...

    Tracie Peterson

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Tracie Peterson Begins Compelling New Series Set on the 1840s FrontierGrace Martindale has known more than her share of hardship. After her parents died, raising her two younger sisters became her responsibility. A hasty marriage to a minister who is heading to the untamed West seemed like an opportunity for a fresh start, but a cholera outbreak along the wagon trail has left Grace a widow in a very precarious position.Having learned natural remedies and midwifery from her mother, Grace seeks an opportunity to use her skills for the benefit of others. So when she and her sisters arrive at the Whitman mission in "Oregon Country," she decides to stay rather than push on. With the help of Alex Armistead, a French-American fur trapper, Grace begins to provide care for her neighbors, including some of the native populace. But not everyone welcomes her skills--or her presence--and soon Grace finds herself and those she loves in more danger than she imagined possible.
    Show book
  • The Kingdom New Testament eBook - A Contemporary Translation - cover

    The Kingdom New Testament eBook...

    N. T. Wright

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The New Testament for the Twenty-First Century. 
    If you think you might have grown overly familiar with the biblical text and lost sight of the wonder and breadth of its innovative ideas and world-changing teachings about Jesus of Nazareth, this New Testament is for you. N. T. Wright invigorates these sacred texts with this all-new English translation that allows contemporary readers to encounter these historic works afresh. 
    With the insight and expertise of "the world’s leading New Testament scholar" (Newsweek), this approachable, engaging translation features accessible, modern prose that stays true to the character of the ancient Greek text by maintaining the vibrancy and vigor of the original works while also conveying the most accurate rendering possible. 
    The Kingdom New Testament will help the next generation of Christians acquire a firsthand understanding of what the New Testament had to say in its own world, and what it urgently has to say in ours. 
    Features:The text of the Kingdom New Testament—a fresh, new translation by N. T. WrightPreface by N. T. WrightDozens of maps throughout the textParagraph headings
    Show book