Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Orphan Girl - A Beautiful World War One Saga of Found Family and Hidden Secrets - cover

The Orphan Girl - A Beautiful World War One Saga of Found Family and Hidden Secrets

Chrissie Walsh

Publisher: Aria

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

1901, West Yorkshire. When Eli Simmonite takes in a heavily pregnant woman fleeing from peril, he feels sure no good will come of it. After all, settled folk don't need much reason to take against the travellers, so having one seek safety amongst his people is unheard of.
 
When danger comes knocking they leave devastation and a newborn child in their wake. Eli is left with the baby girl and his orphaned grandson; a reminder of the offer of aid that cost him his family.
 
With no kin but the adopted family who hold her responsible for their demise, this girl named Rosie Nobody is filled with questions of her past. But with war looming in all of their futures, questions must be put aside: survival is the key.
 
A compelling and beautifully written historical World War One saga of family secrets and triumph in the face of adversity. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and AnneMarie Brear.

Other books that might interest you

  • Dancing on Snowflakes - cover

    Dancing on Snowflakes

    Jane Bonander

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A young mother’s troubled past catches up to her—and sets her heart aflame—in this spellbinding western romance set in California’s untamed past.  Sierra Nevada, 1867. Susannah Walker has fled to Angel’s Valley with her three-year-old son, seeking safety and a place to start over—a place where no one knows her name or who she used to be. But she never dreamed the past would come looking for her . . .   Bounty hunter Nathan Wolfe was hired to find Susannah and take her home to stand trial for her crimes. Carrying his own regrets in his heart, Nathan is committed to fulfilling the job. But as he gets to know Susannah, he begins to wonder if she’s truly the criminal he’s been told she is. In order to get to the bottom of the mystery he’ll have to gain her trust, which is the one thing Susannah does not give away easily . . .   “Jane Bonander reaches to her readers’ hearts.” —RT Book Reviews
    Show book
  • A Christmas in the Alps - A Christmas Novella - cover

    A Christmas in the Alps - A...

    Melody Carlson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After a time of heartache and loss, Simone Winthrop discovers a tantalizing letter from her French great-grandmother, which seems to suggest that she is heir to a family treasure. Ever practical, Simone assumes the claim is baseless, but her best friend encourages her to find out for sure. Despite her deep-rooted fear of flying, Simone boards a jet to travel to Paris at Christmastime to uncover the truth. 
     
    During the long flight, Simone meets the charming Kyle Larsson, who's on his way to France to become an apprentice clockmaker. Though they abruptly part ways, an unexpected rendezvous in the French Alps at Simone's family's clock factory may lead to the discovery of the family treasure . . . and so much more. 
     
    For anyone who is wearying of staying home, Melody Carlson invites you to spend Christmas with her in the beautiful French Alps this year. So pull on your mittens, tie your scarf tight, and prepare yourself for a magical mountain holiday.
    Show book
  • A Man with a Past (Brothers in Arms Book #2) - cover

    A Man with a Past (Brothers in...

    Mary Connealy

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Falcon Hunt awakens without a past, or at least not one he can recall. He's got brothers he can't remember, and he's interested in the prettiest woman in the area, Cheyenne. Only trouble is, a few flashes of memory make Falcon wonder if he's already married. He can't imagine abandoning a wife. But his pa did just that--twice. When Falcon claims his inheritance in the West, Cheyenne is cut out of the ranch she was raised on, leaving her bitter and angry. And then Falcon kisses her, adding confusion and attraction to the mix. 
     
    Soon it's clear someone is gunning for the Hunt brothers. When one of his brothers is shot, Falcon and Cheyenne set out to find who attacked him. They encounter rustled cattle, traitorous cowhands, a missing woman, and outlaws that take all their savvy to overcome. As love grows between these two independent people, Falcon must piece together his past if they're to have any chance at a future. 
    Show book
  • Love at The Ritz - cover

    Love at The Ritz

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    After her father the Earl of Cuttesdale suffers a riding injury, his lovely young daughter Lady Vilma accompanies him to Paris, where they are to stay at a friend's Rue St. Honoré home while he receives treatment from a Parisian expert. Because he is a proud man the Earl wants no one to know he is temporarily disabled – so they travel under one of their lesser-known names, calling themselves Colonel and Miss Crawshaw.
    To Vilma's astonishment the celebrated hotelier Cezar Ritz arrives at their door with a strange request – to borrow some of the house's chandeliers for the hotel. After agreeing to help him, Vilma soon finds herself at The Ritz, where she has an unpleasant encounter with an over-amorous French Comte – and is rescued by a dashing Englishman: the Marquis of Lynworth. 
    Assuming that Vilma is a lowly electrician's assistant, the Marquis is nevertheless taken with her – and soon he is escorting her around Paris, introducing her to all the sights, the restaurants and sophisticated society. And although the handsome Marquis has all London's Society ladies, not to mention the Cocottes of Paris, at his feet – and despite the fact that his mother has promised his hand in marriage to Princess Helgie of Whitenberg – he finds himself bewitched with Vilma. For her part, she too is deeply in love – but how can she tell him now that everything he knows about her is a lie?
    Show book
  • The Workhouse Children - A heartwarming saga - cover

    The Workhouse Children - A...

    Lindsey Hutchinson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Tears and tribulations, laughs and heartbreak, from an exciting new talent. Perfect for the fans of Jo Cox and Lyn Andrews. 
     
    Cara Flowers' mother disappeared when she was too young to realise, and when her grandmother dies she leaves not only an enormous fortune, but also a huge responsibility – she wants Cara to find their estranged family. 
     
    Her quest leads her to the doors of the looming Bilston workhouse where children are torn away from their families to toil for others. Shocked by the appalling conditions, Cara vows to find a way to shut down the building and rescue its residents. And then she discovers a link between the workhouse and her missing mother... 
     
    Can Cara overcome her past and save these children from their fate? 
     
    What people are saying about THE WORKHOUSE CHILDREN: 
     
    'A truly beautiful read, well done to the author for giving me such enjoyment' 
     
    'A very poignant, feel good novel' 
     
    'I laughed, cried and gasped, such a gripping story line' 
     
    'What an amazing story start to finish'
    Show book
  • Rules for Heiresses - cover

    Rules for Heiresses

    Amalie Howard

    • 2
    • 8
    • 0
    USA Today bestselling author Amalie Howard whisks you away with a historical romance full of drama, true love, and the perfect happily ever after. Readers will devour this tale of:A rebellious heiress determined to be independentA shunned duke forced to return to his family estateAnd a scandal between them that will have the whole town aflutter 
    Sometimes, finding love means flouting the rules...
     
    Born to a life of privilege, Lady Ravenna Huntley rues the day that she must marry. She's refused dozens of suitors and cried off multiple betrothals, but running away—even if brash and foolhardy—is the only option left to secure her independence.
     
    Lord Courtland Chase, grandson of the Duke of Ashvale, was driven from England at the behest of his cruel stepmother. Scorned and shunned, he swore never to return to the land of his birth. But when a twist of bad luck throws a rebellious heiress into his arms, at the very moment he finds out he's the new Duke, marriage is the only alternative to massive scandal.
     
    Both are quick to deny it, but a wedding might be the only way out for both of them. And the attraction that burns between them makes Ravenna and Courtland wonder if it'll truly only be a marriage of convenience after all...
     
    Praise for Amalie Howard:"Her writing sparkles."—LISA KLEYPAS, New York Times bestselling author"Smart, sexy, deliciously feminist romance that I couldn't put down."—SARAH MACLEAN, New York Times bestselling author, for The Beast of Beswick"Amalie Howard is the fresh voice historical romance needs right now."—KERRIGAN BYRNE, USA Today bestselling author
    Show book