Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Optional Retirement Plan - A Science Fiction Thriller - cover

Optional Retirement Plan - A Science Fiction Thriller

Chris Pourteau

Publisher: Aethon Books

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

When retiring isn't an option, it's kill or be killed.
 
Stacks Fischer is a killer for hire. For more than three decades, he’s loyally served the SyndicateCorporation as its most-feared and respected enforcer around the solar system. He’s buried the company’s dirty laundry six feet deep, no matter who had to be taken out to do it.Now, Stacks has a problem—he’s losing his mind to an incurable form of dementia, and unwittingly spilling corporate secrets in public.When SynCorp decides Fischer has outlived his usefulness, they decide it's time to permanently retire him. But Stacks isn’t quite ready to go. With every one of SynCorp’s Five Factions gunning for him—and his own mind slowly rebelling—Fischer leads a pack of would-be assassins in a final, deadly chase across the solar system.The old hitman refuses to fade quietly into oblivion at the hands of his disease or the business he's dedicated his life to. He’s choosing an Optional Retirement Plan.Don't miss this pulse-pounding science fiction thriller filled with twists that will leave you on the edge of your seat. It's perfect for fans of Titanborn, The Expanse, and Minority Report.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Play Underwater - cover

    The Play Underwater

    Gregory Pentz

    • 0
    • 11
    • 0
    After committing a terrible betrayal of his childhood friend, Franklin Orion plunges into a lake in upstate New York and comes up on the other side in a strange and alien world. Here eldritch gods rule over teeming masses of people snatched from throughout history, citizens are forced to adopt specific guises or be persecuted by those same deities, and the non-Euclidian city they all dwell in appears and disappears like a mirage based on your status in it. With the help of his new guide and business partner, the enigmatic Wandering Davey, Frank must journey through this new world to find either his place in it or a way back across the water...
    Show book
  • Into the Woods - Tales from the Hollows and Beyond - cover

    Into the Woods - Tales from the...

    Kim Harrison

    • 1
    • 11
    • 0
    A true queen of urban fantasy—the New York Times bestselling author of the wildly popular series featuring bounty hunter witch-turned-daywalking demon Rachel Morgan—the phenomenal Kim Harrison explores the Hollows more deeply than ever before in Into the Woods, her first collection of short stories. 
    Rachel is here, as are Jenks the pixie, elven tycoon Trent Kalamack, and an unholy host of vampires, demons, shapeshifters, ghosts, and other assorted supernatural beings, friends and foes. 
    Into the Woods combines original work, including a new Hollows novella, as well as all of Kim Harrison’s previously published short fiction gathered together in one volume for the very first time. No true Hollows aficionado will want to pass this up—and readers of Laurell K. Hamilton, Kelley Armstrong, Patricia Briggs, and Jim Butcher; fans of Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight novels and of paranormal romance superstars Christine Feehan and Sherrilyn Kenyon, will be likewise enchanted.
    Show book
  • Throne of Deceit - Dragons of Isentol Book 1 - cover

    Throne of Deceit - Dragons of...

    pd pdmac, Richard Fierce

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Two souls, one destiny.Their royal parents assassinated, two young siblings are separated and hidden to protect their future and the future of their kingdom. Only when their adoptive families are murdered do they discover the truth of their heritage. Now it is time to reclaim what is theirs.But to do that, they will need an army - and magic. With many interested in their royal roots, they must decide who can be trusted ... and who is trying to kill them.Throne of Deceit is the first book in the series Dragons of Isentol, a tale of dragons, magic, and a growing rebellion against tyranny.
    Show book
  • State of Fear - cover

    State of Fear

    Michael Crichton

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    New York Times bestselling author Michael Crichton delivers another action-packed techo-thriller in State of Fear.When a group of eco-terrorists engage in a global conspiracy to generate weather-related natural disasters, its up to environmental lawyer Peter Evans and his team to uncover the subterfuge. From Tokyo to Los Angeles, from Antarctica to the Solomon Islands, Michael Crichton mixes cutting edge science and action-packed adventure, leading readers on an edge-of-your-seat ride while offering up a thought-provoking commentary on the issue of global warming. A deftly-crafted novel, in true Crichton style, State of Fear is an exciting, stunning tale that not only entertains and educates, but will make you think.
    Show book
  • Vampires of Portlandia - cover

    Vampires of Portlandia

    Jason Tanamor

    • 2
    • 15
    • 1
    "Tanamor's Vampires of Portlandia is an entertaining vampire thriller with all the recognizable hallmarks of the supernatural genre, but two things distinguish this book from others: its focus on the aswang, a creature based on the author's research on Philippine folklore combined with his own inventions, and the book's beating heart, the family of aswang fleeing state violence in the Philippines and seeking refuge in the sanctuary city of Portland, Oregon. As a page-turner full of gory action, it also manages to be a touching story about family, love, and legacy." - Grace Talusan, author of The Body Papers"Here's a novel from Jason Tanamor that rocks Filipino folklore, shape shifters, vampires, and quick moving, tricksy, balls-out adventure, and it's a helluva lot of fun." - John Shirley, author of Black Butterflies: A Flock on the Dark Side "There are moments of storytelling that stand out... Those who enjoy the 'Twilight' books or TV series 'Grimm' may find this entertaining. Portland enthusiasts will also appreciate the references." - Library Journal"...creative world building of Portland's supernatural underworld...the most devoted vampire enthusiasts will find this rewarding." - Publishers Weekly
     
    When Marcella Leones relocates her family of aswang vampires from the Philippines to Portland, Oregon, she raises her grandchildren under strict rules so humans will not expose them. Her only wish is to give them a peaceful life, far away from the hunters and the Filipino government that attempted to exterminate them. Before she dies, she passes on the power to her eldest grandchild, Percival. He vows to uphold the rules set forth by Leones, allowing his family to roam freely without notice. After all, they are aswangs. However, when the aswang covenant is broken, the murder rate in Portland rises drastically. Who is behind the murders? And who is behind the broken covenant? Along with sensie Penelope Jane, Percival must find the truth. It's then they discover that there are other breeds of aswangs-werebeasts, witches, ghouls, and viscera--who have been residing in Portland for years. Based on Filipino folklore (aswang), "Vampires of Portlandia" is a fantastical tale of different monsters coexisting in the weirdest city in America. RIYL Twilight Saga, the television show "Grimm", and "The Lost Boys".
    Show book
  • Kill the Queen - cover

    Kill the Queen

    Jennifer Estep

    • 2
    • 17
    • 0
    Gladiator meets Game of Thrones: a royal woman becomes a skilled warrior to destroy her murderous cousin, avenge her family, and save her kingdom in this first entry in a dazzling fantasy epic from the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Elemental Assassin series—an enthralling tale that combines magic, murder, intrigue, adventure, and a hint of romance. 
    In a realm where one’s magical power determines one’s worth, Lady Everleigh’s lack of obvious ability relegates her to the shadows of the royal court of Bellona, a kingdom steeped in gladiator tradition. Seventeenth in line for the throne, Evie is nothing more than a ceremonial fixture, overlooked and mostly forgotten. 
    But dark forces are at work inside the palace. When her cousin Vasilia, the crown princess, assassinates her mother the queen and takes the throne by force, Evie is also attacked, along with the rest of the royal family. Luckily for Evie, her secret immunity to magic helps her escape the massacre. 
    Forced into hiding to survive, she falls in with a gladiator troupe. Though they use their talents to entertain and amuse the masses, the gladiators are actually highly trained warriors skilled in the art of war, especially Lucas Sullivan, a powerful magier with secrets of his own. Uncertain of her future—or if she even has one—Evie begins training with the troupe until she can decide her next move. 
    But as the bloodthirsty Vasilia exerts her power, pushing Bellona to the brink of war, Evie’s fate becomes clear: she must become a fearsome gladiator herself . . . and kill the queen.
    Show book