Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Black Card - A Novel - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books you can enjoy!

Black Card - A Novel

Chris L. Terry

Publisher: Catapult

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Chris L. Terry is both funny and unflinching in his prose. His humor, which permeates the entire novel, is dark, sharp, and willing to speak to uncomfortable truths
Intelligent and of the zeitgeist, Black Card will appeal to readers of Paul Beatty, Mat Johnson, Kiese Laymon, Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah, or Rachel Khong
The narrator's imaginary companion, Lucius, serves as a chorus to the absurd realities of racism, a coping strategy for the protagonist while navigating life as a mixed-race American, and as a motivational propellant of plot. Yet Lucius's appearance doesn't detract from the realism of Black Card; instead, the imaginary character is a thoughtful and impactful lens through which to read about mixed-race identity in the United States 
Author has a track record of publishing books for both YA and adult readers; Black Card  itself is a strong choice for a crossover audience (late YA/New Adult), with its young protagonist, humor, and relatability; will be submitted to Junior Library Guild, NCTE, and ALA Alex Award committee for consideration

 
Bookseller Praise for Black Card:

"Looking at race in this country from the perspective of a biracial punk musician, Chris L. Terry gives us not just an examination of what it means to be black or white, but the expectations that are heaped on with each label. He's not white enough because . . . He's not black enough because . . . And maybe he is too black when . . . It's funny, it's introspective, and Black Card will definitely leave readers thinking about the expectations that come with 'race' for a long time." —Melissa Fox, Watermark Books & Cafe (Wichita, KS)

Other books that might interest you

  • Does Somebody Need a Hedgehug? - And Other Thoughts From the Animal Kingdom - cover

    Does Somebody Need a Hedgehug? -...

    Publisher Gibbs Smith

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Quack up your friends with this effortless gift. Animal puns of encouragement and endearment for friends, family members or coworkers: keep at your desk as a pick-me-up, or sneak it into someone’s Christmas stocking.
    Show book
  • The Mutiny on Board HMS Bounty - A Voyage to the South Sea and the Terrible Mutiny on Board - cover

    The Mutiny on Board HMS Bounty -...

    William Bligh

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This documentary records the events of the most celebrated mutiny in the annals of the sea: the 1789 revolt against Captain William Bligh in the West Indies. Was Bligh a sadistic disciplinarian who terrorized his crew? Or a superb and misunderstood seaman? Over 200 years later, the controversy surrounding this legendary captain still rages. The truth may lie in this narrative based on the ship’s log, in which Bligh writes of the resentful crew, ravaging storms, and uncharted islands that led to mutiny.
    Show book
  • The Man in the White Linen Suit - A Stewart Hoag Mystery - cover

    The Man in the White Linen Suit...

    David Handler

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The next clever, witty, and touching installment in the Edgar award-winning Stewart Hoag mystery series finds the beloved ghostwriter-sleuth and his faithful neurotic basset hound, Lulu, back in 1990's New York City, investigating a bestselling author's stolen manuscript and three murders linked to the crime. 
    Washed-up celebrity ghostwriter Stewart "Hoagy" Hoag has finally rediscovered his voice and is making progress on what he hopes will be his long-awaited second novel. Burrowed up in his less-than-luxurious, sweltering fifth floor walk-up, he tries not to think of the disparities between himself and his ex-wife, celebrity actress Merilee Nash, who is sifting through film offers—and also her fickle feelings for Hoagy—from her elegant eight-room apartment looking over Central Park. When Merilee offers her home for Hoagy's use while she's shooting on location, hope blossoms that he might finally get some real work done… and solidify their rekindling romance. 
    Then Hoagy receives a call from his literary agent asking if he can meet with publishing's most ruthless and reviled editor, Sylvia James, for a drink at the Algonquin Hotel. After disclosing that aging literary genius Addison James—also Sylvia's father and main client—has not in fact written his last two bestselling historical sagas, Sylvia reveals her suspicions that Addison's assistant Tommy O'Brien—the true author—has run away with their most recent manuscript and is holding it for ransom. Tempted by Sylvia's offer to bid a hefty advance for his novel-in-progress, Hoagy agrees to help unearth Tommy's sudden disappearance. If only he'd known exactly what he was getting himself into, he might've saved himself from the ensuing grief that follows in his hot pursuit of Tommy. But then, that wouldn't be a normal day in the life of Hoagy. 
    With clattering claims of a mugging, a stolen manuscript, and three murders, now it's up to Hoagy and his short-legged sidekick Lulu to unravel this baffling, bizarre case.
    Show book
  • One Year Off - Leaving It All Behind for a Round-the-World Journey with Our Children - cover

    One Year Off - Leaving It All...

    David Elliot Cohen

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Have you ever wanted to take a year off from your life? A meandering, serendipitous journey around the world with your family? It sounds impossible. But one day, David Elliot Cohen, co-creator of the bestselling Day in the Life and America 24/7 book series, decided to make this dream a reality. Over the course of six months, he and his wife sold their house, cars, and most of their possessions. He closed his business and pulled their three young children out of school. With only a suitcase, a backpack, and a passport per person, the Cohen family set off on a rollicking round-the-world journey filled with laugh-out-loud mishaps, heart-pounding adventures, and unforeseen epiphanies. In Botswana, the Cohens’s tiny motorboat is charged by a hippo. In Zimbabwe, lions ambush a buffalo outside the family’s tent. In Australia, their young daughter is caught in a riptide and nearly pulled out to sea.   In One Year Off, you can join the family on a trek up a Costa Rican volcano, cruise the canals of Burgundy by houseboat, and ride ferries through the Greek Islands. Later, as the Cohens wander further off the tourist trail, you can drive through the villages of Rajasthan, traverse the vast Australian Nullarbor, and discover the charms of Cambodia’s Angkor Wat and the hidden shangri-las of northern Laos.   Over the course of these adventures, the Cohens learn to live as a family twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week and enjoy a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to spend time together without the distractions of modern life. The author rediscovers the world through his children’s eyes and gains new perspective of his own life. This humorous, heartfelt story is the next best thing to taking the trip yourself
    Show book
  • News from Lake Wobegon: Fall - Stories From The Collection News From The Lake Wobegon - cover

    News from Lake Wobegon: Fall -...

    Garrison Keillor

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Funny and touching, these monologues from original live broadcasts of A Prairie Home Companion focus on the fall season.Includes: Giant Decoys Daryl Tollerud's Long Day Hog Slaughter ThanksgivingThe Royal Family
    Show book
  • Abbott and Costello: Christmas Shopping - cover

    Abbott and Costello: Christmas...

    John Grant, Bud Abbott, Lou...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Bud needs $10,000 for Christmas. Veloa Vonn won't go out with Lou. The boys go to a department store to do Christmas shopping for the cast.
    Show book