Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Purple Hibiscus - A Novel - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have 800,000 other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

Purple Hibiscus - A Novel

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Publisher: Algonquin Books

  • 3
  • 238
  • 0

Summary

“One of the most vital and original novelists of her generation.” —Larissa MacFarquhar, The New Yorker From the bestselling author of Americanah and We Should All Be Feminists Fifteen-year-old Kambili and her older brother Jaja lead a privileged life in Enugu, Nigeria. They live in a beautiful house, with a caring family, and attend an exclusive missionary school. They're completely shielded from the troubles of the world. Yet, as Kambili reveals in her tender-voiced account, things are less perfect than they appear. Although her Papa is generous and well respected, he is fanatically religious and tyrannical at home—a home that is silent and suffocating. As the country begins to fall apart under a military coup, Kambili and Jaja are sent to their aunt, a university professor outside the city, where they discover a life beyond the confines of their father’s authority. Books cram the shelves, curry and nutmeg permeate the air, and their cousins’ laughter rings throughout the house. When they return home, tensions within the family escalate, and Kambili must find the strength to keep her loved ones together.Purple Hibiscus is an exquisite novel about the emotional turmoil of adolescence, the powerful bonds of family, and the bright promise of freedom.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Red Ledger: 3 - cover

    The Red Ledger: 3

    Meredith Wild

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    She can’t outrun him…
     
    Isabel should have died the night we met. She has a gift for looking danger in the eye and coming out unscathed. She narrowly escaped DC with her life, and now she’s on the run again. I’m hardly her guardian angel, but I’m determined to keep her safe. More, I refuse to give her up. She’s under my skin, sparking more than a few latent memories. She’s made me feel again. Showed me I’m human in ways I never knew possible. 
     
    I’ll find my way back to her, even if that means contending with the organization that has promised to keep her hidden. Except they have a different way of doing business than I’m accustomed to. Now I have to decide who I really am. Man or mercenary.
    Show book
  • The Faerie War - Creepy Hollow #3 - cover

    The Faerie War - Creepy Hollow #3

    Rachel Morgan

    • 1
    • 85
    • 0
    Driven by action, suspense, and a strong heroine, The Faerie War will keep you turning the pages until the epic conclusion! 
    Violet Fairdale is in big trouble. Her home is gone, her beloved forest lies in ruins, the guy she gave her heart to has deserted her—and she doesn't remember any of it. The powerful Lord Draven is taking over, brainwashing guardians into fighting for him. No one is safe from the evil spreading throughout the fae world. 
     
    As alliances are forged between the remaining free fae, Vi struggles to reclaim her identity and figure out where she belongs in this new world. When someone from her past shows up, life gets more complicated. He brings with him a long-forgotten weapon and an ancient prophecy that places Vi at the center of the fight against Draven. With the future of the fae world at stake, can Vi carry out the prophecy's instructions before it's too late? 
     
    Perfect for fans of The Mortal Instruments, The Iron Fey, and Graceling.
    Show book
  • Family Taboo 3 - A Father-Daughter Incest Bundle - cover

    Family Taboo 3 - A...

    Veronica Sloan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    These horny young women give the
    phrase "daddy's girl" a whole new meaning! Whether it's a lonely
    virgin seducing her father, a naughty brat trying to bargain her way out of
    being caught with her boyfriend, or a sexy vixen who wants to be Daddy's personal whore,
    these taboo tales are guaranteed to arouse and excite! This Family Taboo bundle
    collects four previously published books: "Bound for Step-Daddy,"
    "Daddy Gives Me a Presidential Pounding," "Angela's Awakening,"
    and "The Snowstorm."
    
     
    ~~~~~
    Excerpt ~~~~~
    
     
    Usually there were clothes between
    them—a lot more
    clothes. "Don't you give up," he whispered in her ear. As he leaned
    in, the scent of her, cool and fragrant, like frozen tulips, slithered up his
    nostrils and dripped down his throat. He could taste her, fresh and sweet. He
    groaned in frustration, which he hoped she took as anything but the guilty lust
    that ruled his heart.
    
     
    "I don't want to give up,"
    she whispered back, "but this trip has just been so… You don't know, but…Steve and I…this was supposed to be…"
    
     
    "If you and Steve had come up
    here I'd be tearing my hair out right now. I know he can handle himself, but…honestly, honey, I
    don't know what I would do if I couldn't get to you."
    
     
    "No, daddy," Alexis
    sobbed. "That's not what I mean. This trip. It was supposed to be so
    special. And instead…oh,
    it's a disaster!"
    
     
    He could feel her little heart
    banging wildly at her breasts. He squeezed her again, and she moaned. He pulled
    her deeper into his chest. "It's a disaster we'll face together," he
    promised.
    
     
    "No, no," she continued.
    "That's not it. I'm so…
    I'm supposed to be scared, and I am, but right now…you're holding me and…and all I can think is…all I want is—"
    Was it a sigh or a sob that leapt from her lips? Whatever it was, the
    frustrated passion was undeniable. The way she squirmed, the way her nipple
    warmed inside the creases of his fingers, it was as if…
    
     
    "I want you," she whispered fiercely.
    
     
    "W-what?" he stammered.
    
     
    "I'm glad it's so dark,"
    she said. "I can't bear to look at you right now. I just need you to…touch me." Her
    hand slid over his and clamped his fingers over her soft mound. They moaned
    together, even as his stomach dropped away. Alex rolled her backside into him.
    The gesture was unmistakable.
    
     
    "Can you?" she whispered,
    frightened to the core of her lonely soul.
    
     
    As she wiggled her cute little
    bottom, he couldn't believe his ears. The same adoring voice that had asked him
    for driving lessons, that had asked him why the sky was blue and why whales
    weren't fish, was begging him to touch her.
    
     
    Their teeth were chattering. For a
    moment, he could convince himself he didn't know what she was asking, but he
    could not ignore the way she squeezed his hand over her breast. "Daddy,
    please," she moaned. "I don't want to die a virgin…"
    
     
    God! he thought miserably. If I were
    any other man I wouldn't hesitate for a moment. Alex was beautiful. More
    beautiful than her mother. But that was the point! He and Keri had made a
    beautiful child, and it was his job to protect her, to save her!
    
     
    He chuckled to break the tension.
    "You know, that's usually the guy's line…"
    
     
    Alexis rolled in his arms. She gave
    him the eyes. He was helpless against those eyes. "I'm serious,
    daddy," she whispered to him. She reached for his cheeks, and he for hers.
    Her lips were blue, and he frowned with paternal concern.
    
     
    "Baby, we've got to get you
    warmer. I'll see if there's any blanket we missed—"
    
     
    "Don't you dare leave me,"
    she commanded. Her angry breath misted in the narrow space between them.
    "I can't feel my toes, let alone my lips."
    
     
    He didn't know what else to do. Taking her
    beautiful face, he kissed her blue lips. She moaned into his mouth, and quickly
    offered her tongue. He was just trying to warm her, he told himself, but it
    felt too good to stop.
    Show book
  • The Accidental Vampire - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    The Accidental Vampire - An...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 4
    • 13
    • 0
    Ever since an accident turned her into a knockout vamp, Elvi Black's been catching her z's in a coffin, staying out of the sun, and giving up garlic. She knows there's more to being undead than what she saw in Dracula, but she can't very well ask her mortal friends about proper biting etiquette. But when her neighbors placed a personal ad for her in the local paper, she never imagined she'd meet Victor Argeneau, a vampire who could have his pick of any woman—dead or alive. 
    Rich, powerful, and drop—dead gorgeous, Victor's the perfect man for a novice neck—biter like Elvi. He's willing to teach her everything he knows, but he'll have to do it fast. Someone's out to put a stake through her new vamp life, and only Victor can keep her safe—and satisfied—for all eternity.
    Show book
  • Blood Bond: 8 - cover

    Blood Bond: 8

    Helen Hardt

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Dante Gabriel has developed some abilities never before seen in a vampire his age. Without Erin Hamilton, he’d be on the brink of insanity, but she’s always there, always willing to give him what he needs, and he’s determined to keep her safe from the vampire thugs who want her. His questions are still unanswered, and he considers turning to an evil source for results.
     
    Erin trusts Dante completely but still seeks outside help to keep the rogue vampires away. Another dream leaves her more frantic to solve the mystery of the disappearing women and help Dante find what he’s looking for. Though her love for him doesn’t waver, she finds the subtle changes in him unsettling.
    Show book
  • Omega Challenge - Pine Creek Lake #4 - cover

    Omega Challenge - Pine Creek...

    Quinn Michaels

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    One is forsworn. One is forsaken. One will pay. 
    Noah and Luther are in love. The problem, Luther is a beta, Noah is an omega, and their mating is forbidden. Worse, if Noah can't find an acceptable alpha in the next three days, he will have no choice but to mate with Raymond, an alpha he despises. 
    Then Arthur arrives, and everything falls apart. 
    Arthur is an alpha with a secret. He and his mother were betrayed, and both wear the mark of it. Now, Arthur will stop at nothing to make the alpha who cursed them pay. Now, with revenge in his teeth, Arthur's own body betrays him. Twice. Will Arthur sacrifice love and happiness for vengeance? Or will he choose another path? 
    Find out in Omega Challenge an action-packed Omegaverse romance. This is a short book set prior to the events of the other three books of the Pine Creek Lake series. 
    If you love shifters, mmm menage, alpha, omega, and beta dynamics, adventure, magic, and a touch of mpreg, grab Omega Challenge now!
    Show book