Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read
without limits.
Subscribe to the pleasure of reading and enjoy the already more than a million books on all your digital devices.
All characters a62979f362eee8153229a51fdca0de40524eab52f63679cf7c23b9c6bb4e80d5
Purple Hibiscus - A Novel - cover

Purple Hibiscus - A Novel

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Publisher: Algonquin Books

  • 2
  • 206
  • 0

Summary

“One of the most vital and original novelists of her generation.” —Larissa MacFarquhar, The New Yorker From the bestselling author of Americanah and We Should All Be Feminists Fifteen-year-old Kambili and her older brother Jaja lead a privileged life in Enugu, Nigeria. They live in a beautiful house, with a caring family, and attend an exclusive missionary school. They're completely shielded from the troubles of the world. Yet, as Kambili reveals in her tender-voiced account, things are less perfect than they appear. Although her Papa is generous and well respected, he is fanatically religious and tyrannical at home—a home that is silent and suffocating. As the country begins to fall apart under a military coup, Kambili and Jaja are sent to their aunt, a university professor outside the city, where they discover a life beyond the confines of their father’s authority. Books cram the shelves, curry and nutmeg permeate the air, and their cousins’ laughter rings throughout the house. When they return home, tensions within the family escalate, and Kambili must find the strength to keep her loved ones together.Purple Hibiscus is an exquisite novel about the emotional turmoil of adolescence, the powerful bonds of family, and the bright promise of freedom.

Other books that might interest you

  • Live and Let Bondi - The Baxter & Co Mysteries #1 - cover

    Live and Let Bondi - The Baxter...

    Clare Kauter

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Welcome to the Shitty Cases Division.  
    Natalia isn’t sure about the new PI in the office. It seems like the bosses aren’t sure about him either, because they’ve ordered her to babysit him. What’s his deal? He’s keeping secrets, which isn’t ideal behaviour from someone who’s supposed to watch your back. Oh well. He’ll probably run screaming when he finds out what his first case is, anyway. 
    Billy is back at his dream job after a year away, and nothing is going to ruin his good mood. OK, so he’s being supervised by someone with less experience than him. Whatever. He’s back, and now it’s time to – wait, what? His first case is… to solve a murder. 
    For a ghost. 
    Right. 
    As if that’s not bad enough, there’s definitely something shady going on in the Sydney office of Baxter & Co., and Billy and Natalia don’t know who they can trust.  
    They’re not even sure about each other.  
    A new comedy-mystery series from author Clare Kauter. Perfect for fans of The Charlie Davies Mysteries!
    Show book
  • Royal Secrets - The Vampire & Werewolf Chronicles #6 - cover

    Royal Secrets - The Vampire &...

    Chrissy Peebles

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    This is book 6.  
    On the hunt to take down the Falcar and stop Halo from rising, Sophie stops at nothing, even risking her life as she travels to a lost city in the Rainforest to obtain an ancient sword. 
    Show book
  • Luna Marine - Book Two Of The Heritage Trilogy - cover

    Luna Marine - Book Two Of The...

    Ian Douglas

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    The revelations on Mars -- a half-million year-old legacy of the vanished star-traveling Builders -- have fed the flames of catastrophic war.  A beleaguered United States and its Russian and Japanese allies struggle to hold their own against the indomitable forces of the enemy United Nations.  The bloody conflict that has swept over the home planet now rages across the blackness of space -- with the U.S. Marine Corps in the vanguard, leading the charge as always. 
    But Mars is not the sole repository of alien wonders.  The Earth's moon hides unsettling mysteries of its own-and dangerous secrets pointing toward an unstoppable threat advancing from somewhere beyond the solar system.  And as scientists on both sides ract to utilize technology they have only barely begun to comprehend, the UN makes the opening move in a gambit that could end the hostilities quickly and decisively by bringing about the death of millions...without the aid of alien-inspired weaponry. 
    A bad situation worsens by the nanosecond.  And that means it's time to call in the Marines -- to make a life or death stand on the gray shores of Luna.
    Show book
  • Born to Bite - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Born to Bite - An Argeneau Novel

    Lynsay Sands

    • 4
    • 7
    • 0
    “Lynsay Sands writes books that keep readers coming back for more.” —Katie MacAlister, USA Today Bestselling Author of A Girl’s Guide to VampiresThe Argeneau vampire family is back in Born to Bite by USA Today and New York Times bestseller Lynsay Sands. One of the premier names in contemporary paranormal romance, the incomparable Sands blends steamy passion with mystery, as a sexy, chopper-riding Enforcer investigates a breathtaking immortal whose previous three wives all have had trouble remaining  undead. Are you hooked on Charlaine Harris and her Sookie Stackhouse books? Then Lynsay Sands and Born to Bite are exactly what you’re hungry for.
    Show book
  • Bad Karma in the Big Easy - cover

    Bad Karma in the Big Easy

    D.J. Donaldson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Broussard and Franklyn uncover murder in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina in this Southern thriller from the “master of the Gothic mystery” (Booklist).   Among the dead collected in the catastrophic wake of Hurricane Katrina are three nude female bodies, all caught in the same brush tangle—none with water in their lungs. These women didn’t drown, and that means a murderer is at large. Chief Medical Examiner Andy Broussard intends to bring the killer to justice. But the city’s records are destroyed, the population is scattered, the police force has no offices, and many of its rank and file are homeless. And if that’s not bad enough, Broussard discovers that the bodies were all once frozen solid, completely obliterating key forensic clues.   Now Broussard and criminal psychologist Kit Franklyn are on a dangerous journey through the devastated city of New Orleans, one that will bring them face-to-face with a kind of evil that neither of them could’ve imagined.   “Andy and Kit are a match made in mystery heaven.” —The Clarion-Ledger
    Show book
  • The Ninth Life - Lieutenant Kane - Dedicated to Death Series #2 - cover

    The Ninth Life - Lieutenant Kane...

    E.H. Reinhard

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    An anonymous phone call sends Tampa homicide lieutenant Carl Kane straight to the scene of a murdered woman, a sight far too familiar in his line of work. 
    What’s even more familiar is the manner in which the woman’s life was taken—the slaying is identical to that of victims of a satanic lunatic named Koskinen, yet Kane had captured and put the man away years before. 
    It seems that Koskinen has found himself an admirer, maybe a follower or, worse, someone to kill on his behalf. 
    The first body is just the beginning. The ending holds something much worse. 
    Editorial Review: 
    “Lt. Carl Kane thought he’d closed the books on serial killer Larry Koskinen, who is serving a life sentence in a state mental hospital for carving up his victims—and trying to carve up Kane himself—years ago. But when Carl discovers a dead body exhibiting the killer’s same MO, he finds himself revisiting a case he wants to close the books on for good. As new victims pile up, Reinhard ratchets up the tension big-time, and his fast-paced tale and fine plotting will keep readers turning pages long into the night.” Angela M., Editor, Red Adept Editing
    Show book