As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Petronella & The Trogot - cover

Petronella & The Trogot

Cheryl Bentley

Publisher: Sparkling Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Petronella moves to Charis Cottage hidden in the thick dark woods at the bottom of a track on the outskirts of Fort Willow. Everything is perfect. Except for one thing. Since she moved an enormous black tree has appeared in her back garden in the shape of a giant with a big black circle on the ground under it. Petronella finds out it is a deep pit and is terrified to go near its ridge. But one night...
 
How is the tree linked to:
The creepy night-time visits by the Hooded Horseman?
The boy ghost, Percy, Petronella finds in her bed one night?
The invasion of ghosts of the ancient Strincas population all over Fort Willow?


 
Reviews:
 
"Kids will like this. Girls will like it for romance and boys will like it for the scare factor."
 
"Full of ghosts and ghoulies, this is an imaginative tale."

Other books that might interest you

  • Warriors: Omen of the Stars #6: The Last Hope - cover

    Warriors: Omen of the Stars #6:...

    Erin Hunter

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    The end of the stars draws near. Three must become four to battle the darkness that lasts forever. . . .  
    After countless moons of treachery, Tigerstar's Dark Forest apprentices are ready to lay siege upon the warrior Clans. As Jayfeather, Dovewing, and Lionblaze prepare to lead their Clanmates into battle, they await the arrival of the mysterious fourth warrior who is prophesied to help lead the Clans to glory. 
    The darkest hour the Clans have ever faced has dawned. Hopes will be shattered and heroes will rise as the warriors fight for their very survival.
    Show book
  • The Last Apprentice: The Seventh Apprentice - A Novella - cover

    The Last Apprentice: The Seventh...

    Joseph Delaney

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    A blood-curdling original novella from the world of the internationally bestselling fantasy adventure series that inspired the major motion picture Seventh Son! This short novella stars the Spook's seventh apprentice, a boy named Will Johnson. 
    Will is a seventh son of a seventh son, the perfect candidate to train as the Spook's apprentice . . . but Will is lazy. Mr. Gregory is giving him one last chance to shape up or be sent home. When Mr. Gregory leaves to deal with some boggarts, he tells Will to catch up on his notes, practice throwing his silver chain, and not to take on any spook business of his own—under any circumstances. But when the pig butcher's son rings the Spook's bell, panicked because a witch has his father, can Will really ignore him? 
    In The Seventh Apprentice, Joseph Delaney packs all of the terror and gore of the Last Apprentice series into a short novella. The Last Apprentice series is now a major motion picture, Seventh Son, starring Jeff Bridges, Ben Barnes, Alicia Vikander, Kit Harington, Olivia Williams, Antje Traue, Djimon Hounsou, and Julianne Moore as Mother Malkin. It's a suspenseful thrill ride that's "spine-tingling" (Publishers Weekly) and "anything but tame" (Horn Book). But don't read it after dark! 
    Epic Reads Impulse is a digital imprint with new releases each month.
    Show book
  • Seven Wonders Journals: The Key - cover

    Seven Wonders Journals: The Key

    Peter Lerangis

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Discover the history behind the mystery of the New York Times bestselling Seven Wonders series in this original novella. 
    Follow the tale of Aliyah and Osman, twin treasure hunters pressed into a life of crime. For them, every day is another desperate death-defying adventure until they stumble upon the key that may lead to the greatest treasure ever. But to take home this magical orb, they must first battle their way out of the Tomb of Shadows. 
    With crucial historical details and plenty of backstory surprises, this is a perfect addition to the library of new and continuing fans of Seven Wonders, the epic adventure series by Peter Lerangis, author of three stories in the 39 Clues series.
    Show book
  • The Last Apprentice: Fury of the Seventh Son (Book 13) - cover

    The Last Apprentice: Fury of the...

    Joseph Delaney

    • 4
    • 21
    • 0
    The thirteenth—and final—book in the internationally bestselling fantasy adventure series that inspired the forthcoming major motion picture Seventh Son. Finally, Tom Ward, the spook's last apprentice, will confront the Fiend for the last time. A stunning conclusion to the acclaimed series! 
    Tom Ward has battled boggarts, ghasts, witches, dark gods, and the most terrifying creatures to roam the earth. He's allied with the witch assassin Grimalkin, with a powerful boggart, and with Alice . . . the young witch who is also his true love. And he has kept one step ahead of the Fiend, the most evil being in the world. Now he will vanquish the Fiend once and for all. But it will require a terrible sacrifice: not everyone Tom cares about will survive the final battle. The Last Apprentice series is soon to be a major motion picture, Seventh Son, starring Jeff Bridges, Ben Barnes, Alicia Vikander, Kit Harington, Olivia Williams, Antje Traue, Djimon Hounsou, and Julianne Moore as Mother Malkin. It's a suspenseful thrill ride that's "spine-tingling" (Publishers Weekly) and "anything but tame" (Horn Book). But don't read it after dark!
    Show book
  • Firelight - cover

    Firelight

    Sophie Jordan

    • 7
    • 17
    • 0
    The first book in an addictive, romantic trilogy from New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan is perfect for fans of Laini Taylor, Tahereh Mafi, and Claudia Gray. 
    With her rare ability to breathe fire, Jacinda is special even among the draki—the descendants of dragons who can shift between human and dragon forms. 
    But when Jacinda’s rebelliousness forces her family to flee into the human world, she struggles to adapt, even as her draki spirit fades. The one thing that revives it is the gorgeous, elusive Will, whose family hunts her kind. Jacinda can’t resist getting closer to him, even though she knows she’s risking not only her life but the draki’s most closely guarded secret. 
    Mythical powers and breathtaking romance ignite in this story of a girl who defies all expectations and whose love crosses an ancient divide, from New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan.
    Show book
  • The Last Apprentice: Rise of the Huntress (Book 7) - cover

    The Last Apprentice: Rise of the...

    Joseph Delaney

    • 3
    • 8
    • 0
    Things can never be the same again. 
    The Spook and his apprentice, Thomas Ward, have returned to the county after a long journey and a hard battle. But their troubles are far from over. Their home has been over-run by enemy soldiers. The Spook's house is in ruins, the boggart protecting it has fled, and the malicious witches imprisoned in the gardens have escaped. 
    Tom, Alice, and the Spook must flee, too, across the ocean to the island of Mona. And it's on Mona that this small band fighting against the dark will face an old enemy grown terrifyingly powerful. Will they be able to vanquish an evil that crawls beneath the ground itself? At what cost? 
    Will Tom and the Spook ever be able to return home?
    Show book