Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Criminal Cold Cases - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

Criminal Cold Cases

Charlotte Greig

Publisher: Arcturus Publishing

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

There's nothing more chilling than an unsolved crime, particularly one involving direct harm to human life; be it murder or rape, these are the crimes whose effects extend furthest and cause most pain to humanity: how much worse when they go unsolved and, as such, unpunished?
 
Such crimes, so-called 'cold cases', are all too common, especially in the big cities where hundreds if not thousands of such incidents remain on file. After the initial furore of questioning suspects and analyzing motives has died down, investigators are often left with no leads, and the uneasy knowledge that a dangerous person is still on the loose, possibly preparing to strike again.
 
But there is hope. With the development of science, and the continuing improvements in detection techniques, the re-examination of old, unsolved crimes is yielding positive results, often decades after the cases originally went 'cold'. This book documents the most fascinating of these cases, and includes:
 
. The murdered heiress, Helen Brach
 
. Albert Fish, child killer
 
. The Green River killer, Gary Leon Ridgway
 
. Gerald Parker, the 'Bedroom Basher'
 
. The woman in a box
 
. The bone breaker, Joe Clark
 
. Frank Bender, forensic sculptor
 
. Dennis Rader, the 'Bind, Torture, Kill' killer

Other books that might interest you

  • Criminal Minds - Sociopaths Serial Killers and Other Deviants - cover

    Criminal Minds - Sociopaths...

    Jeff Mariotte

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    An authorized tie-in to the popular TV show Criminal Minds 
    Most episodes of Criminal Minds feature a briefing where the show's team of FBI profilers defines the type of criminal they're looking for and provides some real-life examples. This book tells the story of those examples.Published to coincide with the release of season five of Criminal Minds on DVD Organized by type of criminal, including solo serial killers, sexual predators, and killers with famous victims; and tells the stories of many famous murderers, including David Berkowitz, Jeffrey Dahmer, Mark David Chapman, and the Zodiac killer Features photographs from the show  
    Criminal Minds: Sociopaths, Serial Killers, and Other Deviants is a fascinating, terrifying book about the criminal minds who live among us.
    Show book
  • The Bridal Party - Perfect for fans of Lucy Foley's The Guest List - cover

    The Bridal Party - Perfect for...

    J G Murray

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Sometimes friendship can be murder... It's the weekend of Clarisse's bridal party, a trip the girls have all been looking forward to. Then, on the day of their flight, Tamsyn, the maid of honour, suddenly backs out. Upset and confused, they try to make the most of the stunning, isolated seaside house they find themselves in. But, there is a surprise in store - Tamsyn has organised a murder mystery, a sinister game in which they must discover a killer in their midst. As tensions quickly boil over, it becomes clear to them all that there are some secrets that won't stay buried...WINNER OF THE DEVIANT MINDS CRIME THRILLER PRIZE 2018READERS LOVE THE BRIDAL PARTY!"Dark, gritty, edge of your seat, addictive reading at its best" Karen, Netgalley"A chilling, sinister, intense thriller" Nicki, Netgalley
    Show book