Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Wyrde and Wicked - cover

Wyrde and Wicked

Charlotte E. English

Publisher: Frouse Books

  • 3
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

‘When it comes to the Wyrde, there is no such thing as harmless. Every single one of us is a walking disaster.’
 
Winter has come to Werth Towers, and brought a deal of trouble with it.
 
Not that any of it is the fault of Miss Gussie Werth. To be a one-woman catastrophe might be seen as a misfortune, but really, there can be no hope of a cure.
 
What with murderous Books on the rampage, Lady Maundevyle brewing plans for Christmas, and a couple of dragons on the loose, a quiet life is not likely to be had.
 
Still, in times of crisis, there is always Lord Felix. The disreputable old revenant might have a few odd ideas; but you’re at Werth Towers, now. The merely unusual comes as a matter of course.
 
Welcome to the strangest family in Regency England. Find out just what Gussie did next...

Other books that might interest you

  • The Play Underwater - cover

    The Play Underwater

    Gregory Pentz

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    After committing a terrible betrayal of his childhood friend, Franklin Orion plunges into a lake in upstate New York and comes up on the other side in a strange and alien world. Here eldritch gods rule over teeming masses of people snatched from throughout history, citizens are forced to adopt specific guises or be persecuted by those same deities, and the non-Euclidian city they all dwell in appears and disappears like a mirage based on your status in it. With the help of his new guide and business partner, the enigmatic Wandering Davey, Frank must journey through this new world to find either his place in it or a way back across the water...
    Show book
  • State of Fear - cover

    State of Fear

    Michael Crichton

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    New York Times bestselling author Michael Crichton delivers another action-packed techo-thriller in State of Fear.When a group of eco-terrorists engage in a global conspiracy to generate weather-related natural disasters, its up to environmental lawyer Peter Evans and his team to uncover the subterfuge. From Tokyo to Los Angeles, from Antarctica to the Solomon Islands, Michael Crichton mixes cutting edge science and action-packed adventure, leading readers on an edge-of-your-seat ride while offering up a thought-provoking commentary on the issue of global warming. A deftly-crafted novel, in true Crichton style, State of Fear is an exciting, stunning tale that not only entertains and educates, but will make you think.
    Show book
  • Optional Retirement Plan - A Science Fiction Thriller - cover

    Optional Retirement Plan - A...

    Chris Pourteau

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When retiring isn't an option, it's kill or be killed.
     
    Stacks Fischer is a killer for hire. For more than three decades, he’s loyally served the SyndicateCorporation as its most-feared and respected enforcer around the solar system. He’s buried the company’s dirty laundry six feet deep, no matter who had to be taken out to do it.Now, Stacks has a problem—he’s losing his mind to an incurable form of dementia, and unwittingly spilling corporate secrets in public.When SynCorp decides Fischer has outlived his usefulness, they decide it's time to permanently retire him. But Stacks isn’t quite ready to go. With every one of SynCorp’s Five Factions gunning for him—and his own mind slowly rebelling—Fischer leads a pack of would-be assassins in a final, deadly chase across the solar system.The old hitman refuses to fade quietly into oblivion at the hands of his disease or the business he's dedicated his life to. He’s choosing an Optional Retirement Plan.Don't miss this pulse-pounding science fiction thriller filled with twists that will leave you on the edge of your seat. It's perfect for fans of Titanborn, The Expanse, and Minority Report.
    Show book
  • Into the Woods - Tales from the Hollows and Beyond - cover

    Into the Woods - Tales from the...

    Kim Harrison

    • 1
    • 11
    • 0
    A true queen of urban fantasy—the New York Times bestselling author of the wildly popular series featuring bounty hunter witch-turned-daywalking demon Rachel Morgan—the phenomenal Kim Harrison explores the Hollows more deeply than ever before in Into the Woods, her first collection of short stories. 
    Rachel is here, as are Jenks the pixie, elven tycoon Trent Kalamack, and an unholy host of vampires, demons, shapeshifters, ghosts, and other assorted supernatural beings, friends and foes. 
    Into the Woods combines original work, including a new Hollows novella, as well as all of Kim Harrison’s previously published short fiction gathered together in one volume for the very first time. No true Hollows aficionado will want to pass this up—and readers of Laurell K. Hamilton, Kelley Armstrong, Patricia Briggs, and Jim Butcher; fans of Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight novels and of paranormal romance superstars Christine Feehan and Sherrilyn Kenyon, will be likewise enchanted.
    Show book
  • Dead Star - cover

    Dead Star

    Simon Kewin

    • 2
    • 8
    • 0
    A hidden trail among the stars
     
    The galaxy is in flames under the harsh theocratic rule of Concordance, the culture that once thrived among the stars reduced to scattered fragments. Selene Ada, last survivor of an obliterated planet, joins forces with the mysterious renegade, Ondo Lagan.
     
    Together they attempt to unravel the mystery of Concordance’s rapid rise to galactic domination. They follow a trail of shattered starship hulks and ancient alien ruins, with the ships of the enemy always one step behind.
     
    But it’s only when they find the mythical planet of Coronade that they uncover the true scale of the destruction Concordance is capable of unleashing…
    Show book
  • Vampires of Portlandia - cover

    Vampires of Portlandia

    Jason Tanamor

    • 2
    • 15
    • 1
    "Tanamor's Vampires of Portlandia is an entertaining vampire thriller with all the recognizable hallmarks of the supernatural genre, but two things distinguish this book from others: its focus on the aswang, a creature based on the author's research on Philippine folklore combined with his own inventions, and the book's beating heart, the family of aswang fleeing state violence in the Philippines and seeking refuge in the sanctuary city of Portland, Oregon. As a page-turner full of gory action, it also manages to be a touching story about family, love, and legacy." - Grace Talusan, author of The Body Papers"Here's a novel from Jason Tanamor that rocks Filipino folklore, shape shifters, vampires, and quick moving, tricksy, balls-out adventure, and it's a helluva lot of fun." - John Shirley, author of Black Butterflies: A Flock on the Dark Side "There are moments of storytelling that stand out... Those who enjoy the 'Twilight' books or TV series 'Grimm' may find this entertaining. Portland enthusiasts will also appreciate the references." - Library Journal"...creative world building of Portland's supernatural underworld...the most devoted vampire enthusiasts will find this rewarding." - Publishers Weekly
     
    When Marcella Leones relocates her family of aswang vampires from the Philippines to Portland, Oregon, she raises her grandchildren under strict rules so humans will not expose them. Her only wish is to give them a peaceful life, far away from the hunters and the Filipino government that attempted to exterminate them. Before she dies, she passes on the power to her eldest grandchild, Percival. He vows to uphold the rules set forth by Leones, allowing his family to roam freely without notice. After all, they are aswangs. However, when the aswang covenant is broken, the murder rate in Portland rises drastically. Who is behind the murders? And who is behind the broken covenant? Along with sensie Penelope Jane, Percival must find the truth. It's then they discover that there are other breeds of aswangs-werebeasts, witches, ghouls, and viscera--who have been residing in Portland for years. Based on Filipino folklore (aswang), "Vampires of Portlandia" is a fantastical tale of different monsters coexisting in the weirdest city in America. RIYL Twilight Saga, the television show "Grimm", and "The Lost Boys".
    Show book