Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Space Between Time - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

The Space Between Time

Charlie Laidlaw

Publisher: Accent Press

  • 4
  • 10
  • 0

Summary

Emma Maria Rossini appears to be the luckiest girl in the world.  She’s the daughter of a beautiful and loving mother and her father is one of the most famous film actors of his generation.  Tom Cruise is almost an adopted uncle.

 
 

 
She’s also the granddaughter of a rather eccentric and obscure Italian astrophysicist whose theories on the universe have been much ridiculed.

 
 

 
The story centres on Emma’s childhood in Edinburgh and East Lothian, and the overpowering event of her mother’s death, apparently in a freak lighting strike.  

 
 

 
However, the secret that only Emma knows is that her mother’s death was no accident.  It precipitates a suicide attempt, and estrangement from her father.

 
 

 
Emma stumbles through university and finds work as a journalist in Edinburgh, although she is once more becoming mentally unstable and, following the death of her father, again tries to commit suicide.

 
 

 
It’s while she’s in a mental institution that her psychiatrist suggests she writes a memoir of her life, to help her make sense of everything that’s happened to her, and The Space Between Time is the story she writes.

 
 

 
The tragic-comic story, aimed at both male and female readers, has heart, humour and warmth.  Its central message is that, even at the worst of times, a second chance can often be just around the corner.

 
 

 
In coming to terms with her life and the deaths of her parents, Emma finds ultimate solace in her once-derided grandfather’s Theorem on the universe – which offers the metaphor that we are all connected, even to those we have loved and not quite lost.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Lucky Dress - The perfect feel-good romance for 2019 - cover

    The Lucky Dress - The perfect...

    Aimee Brown

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    We all have our lucky dress... an irresistibly hilarious rom-com! 
     
    Emi Harrison hasn't been feeling particularly lucky lately. Ever since her ex-fiancée, Jack Cabot, successfully shattered her heart into a million pieces. She's managed to avoid him for a whole year, but all that's about to change at her brother Evan's wedding... 
     
    She will have to face Jack, Jack's sister, Jack's parents, and Jack's new girlfriend: a mean girl that just won't quit. What could possibly go wrong? 
     
    With her lucky dress on, all bets are off, and maybe Emi will find her happily-ever-after at last? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Anna Bell, Jo Watson and Sophie Kinsella. 
     
    Praise for The Lucky Dress: 
     
    'One of my favorite books this year, maybe even ever' Michelle Harris. 
     
    'I was sucked in from the start and pretty much devoured the book' Nikki Newcomb. 
     
    'Perfect beach reading book' Danielle Dobson. 
     
    'Funny, relatable story' Erin Butler. 
     
    'I enjoyed this frothy, funny rom-com and read it in one sitting. Perfect beach read!' Amanda Driver.
    Show book
  • Love Me Like You Do - an emotional story of love and finding yourself - cover

    Love Me Like You Do - an...

    Aimee Brown

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    A runaway bride. A handsome stranger. Two pasts to put behind them. 
     
    Parker is ready to marry the man of her dreams. But he isn't ready to marry her. When she's dumped moments before walking down the aisle, she didn't expect to run into the arms of a handsome stranger. The southern drawl, the dreamy eyes, she can't fall for another man after being left at the altar – can she? 
     
    When Liam agreed to go on yet another blind date, he didn't expect his escape would lead him to the emergency room with a runaway bride. She might have just been left at the altar, but he's immediately drawn to her fiery spirit, kind heart and beautiful smile. Liam's got a whole host of problems and a past that's haunting him, now can't be the time to fall in love, but Parker might just be the one to break down his barriers and let him live a little – if she'll let him in. 
     
    Will these two strangers allow serendipity to force them together, or will their fears keep them apart? 
     
    From the bestselling author of The Lucky Dress comes a story about love, finding yourself and living your dreams.
    Show book
  • Otherhood - cover

    Otherhood

    William Sutcliffe

    • 2
    • 17
    • 1
    First published as Whatever Makes You Happy, the hilarious and moving novel about mothers and their adult sons will soon be a Netflix original movie starring Felicity Huffman, Angela Bassett and Patricia Arquette 
     
    Three sons. Three mums. One week. 
     
    Matt, Daniel and Paul were childhood friends. Now in their thirties, they've lost touch and have only one thing in common: their mothers. Little do they know that, having spent a cardless Mother's Day discussing how their emotionally dysfunctional offspring should be settling down, Carol, Gillian and Helen have decided to pay their wayward sons a visit. On the same day, they turn up on their sons' doorsteps, uninvited and unannounced. Their plan is to reestablish the mother-son bond by moving in for one week. Just a week. Surely that's not a lot to ask...
    Show book
  • Did That Really Happen? - cover

    Did That Really Happen?

    Errol Dunn

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This book is a brief collection of some of the humorous anecdotes from the workplace, the drinking place, the living place and a lot of other places. All information in this book is from sources and recollections considered to be trustworthy and reliable. However, no warranty is made to the accuracy thereof.
    Show book