Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
The Piper - An Inspector Ian Rutledge Story - cover

The Piper - An Inspector Ian Rutledge Story

Charles Todd

Publisher: Witness Impulse

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Scotland Yard inspector Ian Rutledge returns shell shocked from the trenches of World War I, tormented by the memory of Hamish MacLeod, the young Scots soldier he executed on the battlefield. Now, Charles Todd features Hamish himself in this compelling, stand-alone short story.  
Before the Great War, Hamish farms in the Highlands, living in a small croft on the hillside and caring for a flock of sheep he inherited from his grandmother. When at the height of a spring gale, he hears a faint cry echoing across the glen, Hamish sets out into the stormy night to find the source. Near the edge of the loch he spots a young boy lying wounded, a piper’s bag beside him. Hamish brings the piper to his home to stay the night and tends to his head wound, but by the time Hamish wakes the boy has vanished.  Worried, he goes in pursuit of the injured piper and finds him again collapsed in the heather--dead.  
Who was the mysterious piper, and who was seeking his death? As Hamish scours the countryside for answers, he finds that few of his neighbors are as honest as he, and that until he uncovers a motive, everyone, including Hamish, is a suspect.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Bowness Bequest - cover

    The Bowness Bequest

    Rebecca Tope

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    When winter draws in around Windermere it brings with it the death of Frances Henderson, best friend of Persimmon ‘Simmy’ Brown’s mother. Coping with the loss of a woman she has known all her life is hard, particularly coupled with the antagonism Simmy faces from some of Frances’s remaining family and the confusion of being bequeathed something in the will.  
    Then a violent murder is discovered close to home and Simmy must face the fact that the family she was once so close to as a child holds some dark and sinister secrets. Simmy’s efforts to keep out of the investigation are frustrated when people from the past resurface, rumours of infidelity in the Henderson household whirl around, and her friends Ben and Bonnie become involved in solving the crime. The Lake District’s tranquillity will be uncertain until the mystery is completely resolved.
    Show book
  • Tiger at Bay - cover

    Tiger at Bay

    Bernard Knight

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A classic murder mystery by acclaimed crime writer Bernard Knight. 
    
    Featuring dastardly deeds by cunning villains, this taut tale is set in the world-famous (and infamous) docks area of Cardiff, known far and wide as Tiger Bay, during the 1960s. When local good-for-nothing Iago Price sets himself up as a private detective, he gets more than he bargains for – he's not used to encountering blackmail, drug dealing, and murder! A bank worker, desperate to extricate himself from a spot of bother, turns to Iago for help, but things don't quite go as planned...
    Show book
  • 999 - New Stories Of Horror And Suspense - cover

    999 - New Stories Of Horror And...

    Al Sarrantonio

    • 1
    • 12
    • 0
    A ward-winning writer and editor Al Sarrantonio gathers together twenty-nine original stories from masters of the macabre. From dark fantasy and pure suspense to classic horror tales of vampires and zombies, 999 showcases the extraordinary scope of fantastical fright fiction. The stories in this anthology are a relentless tour de force of fear, which will haunt you, terrify you, and keep the adrenaline rushing all through the night.
    Show book
  • The Thirteenth Santa (A Rebecca Mayfield Novella) - The Rebecca Mayfield Mysteries - cover

    The Thirteenth Santa (A Rebecca...

    Joanne Pence

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Santa isn't always a saint... 
    When Santa Claus lies dead and flattened (as if he'd fallen from his sleigh) in the middle of a mall on Christmas Eve, San Francisco Homicide Inspector Rebecca Mayfield is on the case. As she attempts to track down a van full of Santas creating havoc throughout San Francisco, a stranger pops up to help her solve the crime…and bring her some much-needed Christmas cheer. 
    This brief novella introduces a new mystery duo. Look for their first full-length mystery novel, ONE O'CLOCK HUSTLE.
    Show book
  • With Option to Die - cover

    With Option to Die

    Richard Lockridge

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Inspector Heimrich gets embroiled in a small-town conspiracy in this mystery from the coauthor of the “excellent” Mr. and Mrs. North series (The New Yorker).   Inspector M. L. Heimrich of the New York State Police may not have the flash of hard-boiled city detectives, but there’s no lead the intrepid investigator won’t follow until his every hunch is satisfied . . .   Tensions have been rising in the conservative community of North Wellwood, New York, ever since African American lawyer Thomas Peters moved to town with a plan to open a desegregated country club.   Those in opposition are determined to see Mr. Peters’s plan fail at all costs—going so far as to harass liberal newcomers like Eric and Ann Martin, and commit vile acts against those who dare to support equality, like widow Faith Powers.   Called in to investigate Mrs. Powers’s shocking murder, recently promoted Inspector Heimrich soon finds himself caught in the storm that has taken over North Wellwood. Now, if he wants to see justice served, he’ll have to make it out of a hate-fueled powder keg that’s ready to explode . . .   With Option to Die is the 18th book in the Captain Heimrich Mysteries, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.
    Show book
  • Murder At Medley Park - A Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery #4 - cover

    Murder At Medley Park - A...

    Marilyn Clay

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    MURDER AT MEDLEY PARK is Book 4 in the Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery Series. What happens when clever young sleuth Miss Juliette Abbott accepts an assignment to catalogue the precious artifacts belonging to the wealthy Lord and Lady Medley at their country estate? First, a stable lad is found murdered, and soon thereafter Lady Medley's entire collection of valuable jewels is discovered missing! Following yet another murder, Juliette is drawn into the mystery when it's noted that she was the last person to see the deceased alive and an item belonging to that person is found in her bedchamber! 
    Juliette has no choice now but to clear her name. Among the suspects on her list include the attractive housekeeper, a prim governess who quotes the Bible while correcting everyone's behavior, a pair of handsome young gentlemen twins, a visiting cousin who has no proof that she truly is a cousin and two meddlesome children who chase kittens. 
    When Juliette receives an ominous threat on her life, she knows time is running out. Can she expose the killer, or will she find her neck in a noose as payment for both the theft and murders at Medley Park? 
    In the tradition of Stephanie Barron and Jane Austen, Marilyn Clay's Regency mystery novels contain no strong language or violence and are suitable for teen readers. 
    If you enjoy the Regency mystery novels of Ashley Gardner, Stephanie Barron, Sheri Cobb South, Alyssa Maxwell, Adele Clee, and Heidi Ashworth, you'll enjoy Marilyn Clay's traditional, clean, and always amusing Regency-set mysteries. 
    Other titles in the Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery Series are MURDER AT MORLAND MANOR, MURDER IN MAYFAIR, and MURDER AT MARGATE. 
    Best-selling author MARILYN CLAY has written numerous Regency romances, all originally published in print and now as ebooks. The Wrong Miss Fairfax, Felicity's Folly, Bewitching Lord Winterton, Miss Darby's Debut, Hyde Park Spectacle, Miss Eliza's Gentleman Caller, Brighton Beauty, A Pretty Puzzle, The Uppity Earl, and The Unsuitable Suitor. 
    Look for all of Marilyn Clay's historical suspense novels available from major online retailers!
    Show book