Reading without limits, the perfect plan for #stayhome
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
A Lonely Death - An Inspector Ian Rutledge Mystery - cover

A Lonely Death - An Inspector Ian Rutledge Mystery

Charles Todd

Publisher: William Morrow

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

“Todd’s Ian Rutledge mysteries are among the most intelligent and affecting being written these days.”—Washington Post 
Critics have called Charles Todd’s historical mystery series featuring shell-shocked World War One veteran Inspector Ian Rutledge “remarkable” (New York Times Book Review), “heart-breaking” (Chicago Tribune), “fresh and original” (South Florida Sun-Sentinel). In A Lonely Death, the haunted investigator is back in action, trying to solve the murders of three ex-soldiers in a small English village. A true master of evocative and atmospheric British crime fiction, Charles Todd reaches breathtaking new heights with A Lonely Death—a thrilling tale of the darkness in men’s souls that will have fans of Elizabeth George, Martha Grimes, and Anne Perry cheering. 
 

Other books that might interest you

  • The Aberrationists - cover

    The Aberrationists

    Ray O’Meara

    • 2
    • 4
    • 0
    High school senior Will Kendrick always saw himself as perfectly average in every way. However, a series of disturbing dreams and a visit from an old acquaintance of his parents changes everything he thought he knew about himself. Ripped from the safety of his suburban home by a stranger, Brandt, Will is thrust into an adventure that will reveal his own hidden past, dark family ties, and a world-threatening darkness that only he can stop.Brandt informs Will not only that the Kendricks are not his birthparents—that Will’s bloodline carries what is known as the Aberration: an ancient demonic strain that gives him superhuman abilities. Brandt and an organization known as the Collective plot to use Will as a weapon against the man who killed his birthparents, Desmond Duquesne. On his journey to confront Duquesne in Boston, Will encounters other “Aberrationists”who have incredible abilities—and agendas—of their own, including the powerful but absent-minded Francis Whitworth, the amoral mind reader Mr. Wisp, and the unstable assassin Candace, who has an ironic fondness for raising the dead.
    Show book
  • Proof of Guilt - An Inspector Ian Rutledge Mystery - cover

    Proof of Guilt - An Inspector...

    Charles Todd

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Ian Rutledge of Scotland Yard must contend with two dangerous enemies in New York Times bestselling author Charles Todd's Proof of Guilt. 
    Can Rutledge solve the apparent murder of a top wine merchant while dealing with interference from his superior, the new Acting Chief Superintendent? 
    Readers of Charles Todd’s Bess Crawford books and London-based Ian Rutledge mysteries will be thrilled with Proof of Guilt, clue by clue.
    Show book
  • Inspector Ghote's Good Crusade - cover

    Inspector Ghote's Good Crusade

    H. R. F. Keating

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Inspector Ghote, "one of the great creations of detective fiction" (Alexander McCall Smith), investigates a high-profile murder and finds liars wherever he looks
    When American millionaire and philanthropist Frank Masters dies of arsenic poisoning, Inspector Ganesh Ghote of the Bombay CID takes a moment to picture himself in the papers, triumphantly solving the case. This is no ordinary murder, and he knows it will attract a great deal of attention. 
    But the reality of the situation soon takes over: not only does Inspector Ghote know nothing about arsenic, but the key witnesses all seem deeply unreliable. Who can he trust at the Frank Masters Foundation for the Care of Juvenile Vagrants? The chef who tells him only what he wants to hear? The acerbic Dr Diana and her shifty dispenser? Or  –  least appealingly - two infuriating young boys known only as Edward G. Robinson and Tarzan? 
    The good inspector doggedly investigates, but the more he discovers in this perplexing case, the more he despairs of ever bringing the true killer to justice . . .
    Show book
  • Speaking of Summer - A Novel - cover

    Speaking of Summer - A Novel

    Kalisha Buckhanon

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    In the spirit of Maria Hummel's Still Lives and Megan Abbott's Give Me Your Hand comes a thrilling new page-turner by an award-winning writer of color
    Speaking of Summer is a psychological thriller about a young woman in Harlem whose twin sister goes missing from the roof of their building. But the door to the roof was locked, and no footprints were found. She sets about searching for her, dealing with her aching loss, and thus begins the novel's examination: What does it mean to be a strong woman of color? What does it mean to be alone in a city, the world? How much does the past influence our decisions today?
    After becoming the first person in her family to get a college degree, from the University of Chicago, Kalisha Buckhanon was set for grad school and law school before encountering Push by Sapphire. Kalisha reversed course and studied with Sapphire, obtaining her MFA from the New School.
    With her first novel, Upstate, Essence Magazine named Kalisha as one of "Three Writers to Watch."
    
    Praise from Booksellers:
    "After her sister Summer up and disappears one winter night in New York City, Autumn Spencer is consumed by her sister’s disappearance. Autumn is no stranger to true crime, surrounding herself with information about violence against women in order to protect herself and her sister in the big city, but Summer’s vulnerability and disappearance leaves Autumn spinning and frantic for answers, her guilt compounded by the fact that she’s fallen in love with her sister’s boyfriend. In a country where the treatment of African Americans, and particularly the disappearances of African American women, are often overlooked and ignored, Autumn is determined to make waves and force the NYPD to pay attention regardless of the personal toll it takes on her. Kalisha Buckhanon perfectly intertwines the best of the literary fiction and mystery genres in order to create a compelling narrative on the intersections of crime, race, gender, and personal freedom in modern America. With each chapter, the pace quickens, and Buckhanon’s writing will have you racing to the end." —Morgan McComb, The Raven Book Store (Lawrence, KS)
    "Imagine you have a twin sister (like Autumn does). Now imagine one day she walked up to the roof of your apartment building and, well . . . disappeared. Locked roof door and one set of footprints notwithstanding, there’s not much interest in finding her, at least from official ranks. So it’s up to Autumn to find Summer. This is no typical amateur sleuth. Autumn is a normal woman who would rather avoid danger, but she has no choice. I love her dedication to her sister and the mystery of her disappearance. This is a thriller written in such beautiful, compelling language that you won’t want it to stop." —Linda Bond, Auntie's Bookstore (Spokane, WA)
    Show book
  • All His Pretty Girls - An absolutely gripping detective novel with a jaw-dropping killer twist - cover

    All His Pretty Girls - An...

    Charly Cox

    • 2
    • 5
    • 0
    ‘a fast-paced, breathtaking read…This will definitely be making my list of favourite books of 2019’ Go Buy The Book
     
    Detective Alyssa Wyatt is hunting a serial killer.
     
    She doesn’t know that he’s hunting her.
     
    A woman is found naked, badly beaten and barely alive in the New Mexico mountains. The shocking discovery plunges Albuquerque Detective Alyssa Wyatt into a case that will test her to the limit.
     
    It appears that Callie McCormick is the latest plaything of a shadowy psychopath that leaves a long shadow on the streets of New Mexico – an individual linked to a string of deaths but leaving no evidence.
     
    But when Alyssa makes a breakthrough that just might reveal the killer, she unknowingly puts herself in the crosshairs of a brutal maniac – one with an old score to settle.
     
    Because the killer knows Alyssa very well, even if she doesn’t know him. And he’s determined that she’ll know his name – even if he has to extract his deadly revenge on her and everything she loves.
     
    The launch of a dark, gripping, completely unputdownable crime thriller series, All His Pretty Girls introduces New Mexico detective Alyssa Wyatt. Fans of Kendra Elliot, Melinda Leigh and Angela Marsons will be utterly engrossed.
     
    Reviewers are hooked on All His Pretty Girls:
     
    ‘Oh boy, was I swiped off my feet as what was already a totally gripping read escalated into my top five for this year…It felt like my heart was beating in the back of my throat!’ Books From Dusk Till Dawn
     
    ‘I raced through this book!...one of the most exciting crime books I’ve read in a long while!’ Alternative-Read.com
     
    ‘A serial killer chiller where the action never flags, the suspense is red-hot and the twists and turns jaw-droppingly brilliant, fans of the genre need to add Charly Cox to their list of must-buys.’ Bookish Jottings
     
    ‘Sharply plotted, and full of tense twists, this is extremely well written…An extremely confident, exciting and chilling new entry on to the crime thriller scene’ Alex J Book Reviews
     
    ‘a compelling thriller that I could not put down! The killer was insane, the story was addictive and the writing was fantastic. This is everything I want when I pick up a police procedural!’ Jessica Belmont 
     
    ‘some real heart in the mouth moments…It flows so easily, with a fast pace and really is unputdownable.’ The Bookwormery
     
    ‘like being on a scary and unpredictable rollercoaster ride with several twists and turns…had me totally gripped and I was on the edge of my seat throughout.’ Ginger Book Geek
     
    ‘This is one of the best debut novels I’ve read in a while’ Cheeky Pee Reads and Reviews
     
    ‘Wow did All His Pretty Girls pack a punch! I was shocked when I found out this was a debut…a heart in your mouth read that will have you racing through those pages.’ On The Shelf Reviews
     
    ‘I don’t think I took even a single deep breath while reading this…Each chapter raised my tension and I couldn’t stop tapping my ereader’ Shalini’s Books and Reviews
    Show book
  • Bleeding Darkness - A Stonechild and Rouleau Mystery - cover

    Bleeding Darkness - A Stonechild...

    Brenda Chapman

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    Two murders, fourteen years apart, both shrouded in secrets. 
    
     
    
    David McKenna lies dying in a Kingston hospital, his children gathered from across the country to say a final goodbye. But the family reunion opens old wounds. David’s only daughter, Lauren, never recovered from the unsolved murder of her high school best friend fourteen years earlier — or the suspicion that her brother, Tristan, was behind it. 
     
    
    Before David breathes his last, Tristan’s pregnant wife disappears and the Major Crimes Unit is called in to help find her. With Kala Stonechild struggling to reconnect with her foster niece and Zach Woodhouse making trouble for Staff Sergeant Jacques Rouleau, tensions are running high on the team, but they must put their personal problems aside when a woman’s  strangled body is found frozen on the Rideau Trail. 
     
    
    With a winter storm sweeping the shores of Lake Ontario, the team uncovers unspeakable betrayals that give more than one suspect a reason to kill …
    Show book