Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Restorations - cover

Restorations

Charles Strickler

Publisher: Koehler Books

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

When Miles West discovers a mysterious treasure in an old car he acquires, he thinks his broken life is on the mend. But the 1928 Stutz Black Hawk Boat Tail Roadster contains a secret that has remained hidden for almost ninety years, left there by the infamous bank robber “Lefty” Webber. Jewels, old gold pieces and a coded journal force Miles to dig into the past. With the assistance of the resourceful Bramley Ann Fairchild, West sets out on an adrenaline-fueled adventure. They must evade ruthless Mafia boss Carlo Bello, who seeks to acquire the car and the treasure for himself, no matter the cost. Will West unravel the decades old mystery, rescue his friend, and help a man restore his family name? Or will he simply become another victim of the Roadster’s murky history?

Other books that might interest you

  • Murderous Mind A - A Naomi Blake British Mystery - cover

    Murderous Mind A - A Naomi Blake...

    Jane A. Adams

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The murder of a student re-opens a series of cold cases in this intriguing mysteryA young student is found brutally murdered in her room, killed while her flatmates slept nearby. The police soon recognize that this is frighteningly similar to a crime committed fifteen years before. A crime investigated by the now discredited Detective Inspector Joe Jackson, but never solved.Other deaths, linked to the same modus operandi and stretching back more than twenty years, have also remained unsolved. No link has been found between the victims – but it seems Joe Jackson had a perpetrator in mind. He had however been unable to prove his guilt.Can the new investigation trust the judgement of a man who was himself a killer? Or did that give Naomi Blake’s one-time friend and mentor an insight his colleagues did not have?
    Show book
  • Open Your Eyes - cover

    Open Your Eyes

    Paula Daly

    • 1
    • 28
    • 0
    From acclaimed novelist and “master of psychological thrillers” (Library Journal) Paula Daly, Open Your Eyes follows a bestselling crime novelist’s tragic turn from fictional perpetrator into real-life victim.
     
    Jane Campbell avoids confrontation at any costs. Given the choice, she’ll always let her husband, Leon—a bestselling crime writer—take the lead, while she focuses on her two precious young children and her job as a creative writing teacher. After she receives another rejection for her novel, Leon urges Jane to put her hobby to rest. And why shouldn’t she, when through Jane’s rose-tinted glasses, they appear to have the perfect house and the perfect life?
     
    But then Leon is brutally attacked in their driveway while their children wait quietly in the car, and suddenly, their perfect life becomes the stuff of nightmares. Who would commit such a hateful offense in broad daylight? With her husband in a coma, Jane must open her eyes to the problems in her life, as well as the secrets that have been kept from her. Although she might not like what she sees, if she’s committed to discovering who hurt her husband—and why—Jane must take matters into her own hands.
     
    A surprising and gripping thriller of pride, ambition, and envy, Open Your Eyes is an unsettling whodunit about the illusions of a perfect marriage that confirms Paula Daly as a writer at the forefront of domestic suspense.
    Show book
  • Finding Jake - A Novel - cover

    Finding Jake - A Novel

    Bryan Reardon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “I devoured Finding Jake. The tension is almost unbearable in this thriller-cum-character study as layer after layer of a father’s soul are revealed as reflected in the character of his missing son. Utterly engrossing.”—Alice LaPlante, New York Times bestselling author of Circle of Wives and Turn of Mind 
    Simon Connolly’s successful wife has gone to her law office each day, while he has stayed home to raise their children—Jake and Laney. He has tried to do the best for the kids. For sunny, outgoing Laney, it’s been easy. But Jake is different. He has always been on the quiet side, preferring the company of his small group of friends to popularity and organized sports. Now that his children are in high school, Simon should be able to relax, to worry less. He’s never given that chance. 
    On a warm November day, he receives a text: There has been a shooting at the high school. 
    Racing to the rendezvous point, Simon is forced to wait with scores of other anxious parents as one by one, they are reunited with their children. Their numbers dwindle, eventually leaving Simon alone. That is when he learns that Jake is the only child missing. 
    As his worst nightmare unfolds, Simon’s thoughts race. Where is Jake? What happened in those final moments? Jake could not have done this—or could he? Did Simon miss the signs? As rumors begin to ricochet, amplified by an invasive media and the fear swallowing their community, Simon must find answers. 
    But there is only one way to understand what has happened . . . he must find Jake. 
    “Harrowing.” —New York Times Book Review
    Show book
  • Devil Sent the Rain - A Mystery - cover

    Devil Sent the Rain - A Mystery

    Lisa Turner

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Edgar Award nominee and bestselling author Lisa Turner’s hard-boiled Detective Billy Able returns in this dark Southern mystery about the murder of a dazzling Memphis socialite—and the scandals revealed in the wake of her death 
    The heart can be an assassin. Detective Billy Able knows that from experience.  
    Fresh from solving Memphis’ most sensational murder case, Homicide Detective Billy Able and his ambitious new partner Frankie Malone are called to a bizarre crime scene on the outskirts of town. A high society attorney has been murdered while dressed in a wedding gown. Billy is shocked to discover he has a very personal connection to the victim. When the attorney’s death exposes illegal practices at her family’s prestigious law firm, the scandal is enough to rock the southern city’s social world.  
    In a tale of the remnants of Old South aristocracy and entitlement, twisted by greed and vengeance, Billy must confront the secrets of his own past to have any chance at solving the murder of the girl he once knew. But as he seeks the truth, he’s drawn closer to an embittered killer bent on revenge—and eliminating the threat Billy poses. 
     
    Show book
  • Justice Denied - cover

    Justice Denied

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The murder of an ex-drug dealer ex-con—gunned down on his mother's doorstep—seems just another turf war fatality. Why then has Seattle homicide investigator J.P. Beaumont been instructed to keep this assignment hush-hush? Meanwhile, Beau's lover and fellow cop, Mel Soames, is involved in her own confidential investigation. Registered sex offenders from all over Washington State are dying at an alarming rate—and not all due to natural causes. 
    A metropolis the size of Seattle holds its fair share of brutal crime, corruption, and dirty little secrets. But when the separate trails they're following begin to shockingly intertwine, Beau and Mel realize that they have stumbled onto something bigger and more frightening than they anticipated—a deadly conspiracy that's leading them to lofty places they should not enter . . . and may not be allowed to leave alive.
    Show book
  • The Art Teacher: Shocking Page-Turning Crime Thriller - cover

    The Art Teacher: Shocking...

    Paul Read

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    'A fast-paced and gritty read.' --The Daily Mail 
    'An impressive feat' --Publishers Weekly 
    'This is a superb debut... gritty, disturbing and pacy. It opens with thrilling intensity and never lets up.' --Alex Lake, author of After Anna 
    Patrick Owen managed seven years at Highfields Secondary School without punching a pupil in the face. 
    Unknowingly drawn into a war against his own pupils, Patrick's patience finally snaps as he finds himself the number one target with the boy the school just can't seem to expel. 
    When one of his Art students needs his help, she unwittingly pulls Patrick further into the line of fire, altering their lives forever. 
    With the media circling and rumours of his involvement reaching new highs, Patrick must escape the world he lives in, or face the consequences. 
    A gritty, harrowing page-turner. Perfect for fans of Linwood Barclay and Peter James
    Show book