Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Occult Fiction Collection - cover

The Occult Fiction Collection

Charles Dickens, Louisa May Alcott, Oscar Wilde, Washington Irving, Henry James, Edith Nesbit, William Hope Hodgson, Henry Haggard, Joseph Le Fanu, Mary Shelley, Rudyard Kipling, Arnold Bennett, John Meade Falkner, H. G. Wells, Elizabeth Cleghorn Gaskell, Montague Rhodes James

Publisher: Blackmore Dennett

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The Occult Fiction Collection assembles 29 of the greatest occult & supernatural stories ever written.

Featuring:

THE ABBOT’S GHOST, OR MAURICE TREBERNE’S TEMPTATION, by Louisa May Alcott
THE GHOST, by Arnold Bennett
THE HAUNTED MAN AND THE GHOST’S BARGAIN, by Charles Dickens
THE HAUNTED HOUSE, by Charles Dickens
THE LOST STRADIVARIUS, by John Meade Falkner
CURIOUS, IF TRUE: STRANGE TALES, by Elizabeth Cleghorn Gaskell
THE GHOST KINGS, by H. Rider Haggard
CARNACKI, THE GHOST FINDER, by William Hope Hodgson
THE GHOST PIRATES, by William Hope Hodgson
THE LEGEND OF SLEEPY HOLLOW, by Washington Irving
THE TURN OF THE SCREW, by Henry James
GHOST STORIES OF AN ANTIQUARY, by Montague Rhodes James
A THIN GHOST AND OTHERS, by Montague Rhodes James
THE PHANTOM RICKSHAW AND OTHER GHOST STORIES, by Rudyard Kipling
MADAM CROWL’S GHOST AND THE DEAD SEXTON, by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu
SCHALKEN THE PAINTER, by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu
AN ACCOUNT OF SOME STRANGE DISTURBANCES IN AUNGLER STREET, by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu
THE HAUNTED BARONET, by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu
AN AUTHENTIC NARRATIVE OF A HAUNTED HOUSE, by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu
ULTOR DE LACY: A LEGEND OF CAPPERCULLEN, by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu
LAURA SILVER BELL, by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu
WICKED CAPTAIN WALSHAWE OF WAULING, by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu
THE CHILD THAT WENT WITH THE FAIRIES, by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu
THE MYSTERY OF THE SEMI-DETACHED, by Edith Nesbit
THE EBONY FRAME, by Edith Nesbit
MAN-SIZE IN MARBLE, by Edith Nesbit
ON GHOSTS, by Mary Shelley
THE STORY OF THE INEXPERIENCED GHOST, by H.G. Wells
and
THE CANTERVILLE GHOST, by Oscar Wilde
Available since: 02/25/2019.

Other books that might interest you

  • Locating the Moving Image - New Approaches to Film and Place - cover

    Locating the Moving Image - New...

    Julia Hallam, Les Roberts

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Essays exploring the methodologies used by film scholars to develop a spatial history of the moving image. 
     
    Leading scholars in the interdisciplinary field of geo-spatial visual studies examine the social experience of cinema and the different ways in which film production developed as a commercial enterprise, as a leisure activity, and as modes of expression and communication. Their research charts new pathways in mapping the relationship between film production and local film practices, theatrical exhibition circuits and cinema going, creating new forms of spatial anthropology. Topics include cinematic practices in rural and urban communities, development of cinema by amateur filmmakers, and use of GIS in mapping the spatial development of film production and cinema going as social practices. 
     
    “Introduces some of the concrete ways practical mapping and GIS technologies help elaborate historical film projects. . . . The scope of many of these projects is breathtaking in scale. . . . Others embrace ethnographic methods that tell poignant individual stories. Still others deftly merge qualitative and quantitative approaches. . . . As a whole, the volume brings together disparate fields of study in interesting ways.” —James Craine, California State University, Northridge 
     
    “This collection breaks new ground for cinema history. Hallam and Roberts have gathered some of the foremost scholars who are mapping spatial histories of the moving image and the geographies of film production, distribution and consumption. Introducing new interdisciplinary methods and asking new questions, Locating the Moving Image takes film studies into new territory, beyond the boundaries of the text and its interpretation, towards an understanding of the relationship between culture, spatiality and place.” —Richard Maltby, Matthew Flinders Distinguished Professor of Screen Studies, Flinders University
    Show book
  • Unknown Pleasures - Inside Joy Division - cover

    Unknown Pleasures - Inside Joy...

    Peter Hook

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In Unknown Pleasures: Inside Joy Division, Peter Hook, bassist for the legendary, groundbreaking band Joy Division, takes readers backstage with the group that helped define the sound of a generation and influenced artists such as U2, Radiohead, and the Red Hot Chili Peppers.Unlike other books about Joy Division, Factory Records, or lead singer Ian Curtis—who took his own life just before the band's first U.S. Tour—Unknown Pleasures tells Joy Division's story from the unique perspective of one of the three surviving band members.Told with surprising humor and vivid detail, Unknown Pleasures is the book Joy Division fans have been waiting for.
    Show book
  • Brat - An '80s Story - cover

    Brat - An '80s Story

    Andrew McCarthy

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Fans of Patti Smith's Just Kids and Rob Lowe's StoriesI Only Tell My Friends will love this beautifully written, entertaining, and emotionally honest memoir by an actor, director, and author who found his start as an 80s Brat pack member -- and the inspiration for Brats, the Hulu documentary wirrten and directed by Andrew McCarthy.    Most people know Andrew McCarthy from his movie roles in Pretty in Pink, St. Elmo's Fire, Weekend at Bernie's, and Less than Zero, and as a charter member of Hollywood's Brat Pack. That iconic group of ingenues and heartthrobs included Rob Lowe, Molly Ringwald, Emilio Estevez, and Demi Moore, and has come to represent both a genre of film and an era of pop culture.     In his memoir Brat: An '80s Story, McCarthy focuses his gaze on that singular moment in time. The result is a revealing look at coming of age in a maelstrom, reckoning with conflicted ambition, innocence, addiction, and masculinity. New York City of the 1980s is brought to vivid life in these pages, from scoring loose joints in Washington Square Park to skipping school in favor of the dark revival houses of the Village where he fell in love with the movies that would change his life.     Filled with personal revelations of innocence lost to heady days in Hollywood with John Hughes and an iconic cast of characters, Brat is a surprising and intimate story of an outsider caught up in a most unwitting success.
    Show book
  • Top Secret - The Battle for the Pentagon Papers 2008 Tour Edition - cover

    Top Secret - The Battle for the...

    Geoffrey Cowan, Leroy Aarons

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A timely docudrama about The Washington Post’s decision to publish the Pentagon Papers, a top secret study documenting U.S. involvement in Vietnam. The subsequent trial tested the parameters of the First Amendment, pitting the public’s right to know against the government’s desire for secrecy. An L.A. Theatre Works full-cast performance featuring Diane Adair, Bo Foxworth, John Getz, James Gleason, Gregory Harrison, John Heard, Charles Janasz, Raphael Sbarge, Russell, Soder, Susan Sullivan, Peter Van Norden, Tom Virtue and Geoffrey Wade.
    Show book
  • Albrecht Dürer and artworks - cover

    Albrecht Dürer and artworks

    Victoria Charles

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Dürer is the greatest of German artists and most representative of the German mind. He, like Leonardo, was a man of striking physical attractiveness, great charm of manner and conversation, and mental accomplishment, being well grounded in the sciences and mathematics of the day. His skill in draughtsmanship was extraordinary; Dürer is even more celebrated for his engravings on wood and copper than for his paintings. With both, the skill of his hand was at the service of the most minute observation and analytical research into the character and structure of form. Dürer, however, had not the feeling for abstract beauty and ideal grace that Leonardo possessed; but instead, a profound earnestness, a closer interest in humanity, and a more dramatic invention. Dürer was a great admirer of Luther; and in his own work is the equivalent of what was mighty in the Reformer. It is very serious and sincere; very human, and addressed the hearts and understanding of the masses. Nuremberg, his hometown, had become a great centre of printing and the chief distributor of books throughout Europe. Consequently, the art of engraving upon wood and copper, which may be called the pictorial branch of printing, was much encouraged. Of this opportunity Dürer took full advantage. The Renaissance in Germany was more a moral and intellectual than an artistic movement, partly due to northern conditions. The feeling for ideal grace and beauty is fostered by the study of the human form, and this had been flourishing predominantly in southern Europe. But Albrecht Dürer had a genius too powerful to be conquered. He remained profoundly Germanic in his stormy penchant for drama, as was his contemporary Mathias Grünewald, a fantastic visionary and rebel against all Italian seductions. Dürer, in spite of all his tense energy, dominated conflicting passions by a sovereign and speculative intelligence comparable with that of Leonardo. He, too, was on the border of two worlds, that of the Gothic age and that of the modern age, and on the border of two arts, being an engraver and draughtsman rather than a painter.
    Show book
  • Ray Conniff - cover

    Ray Conniff

    Wink Martindale

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Ray Conniff got his start arranging and conducting for other recording artists.  His success working for others eventually led to Columbia allowing him to record an album under his own name which was released to great success and acclaim. Conniff was the first artist to use voices and vocal arrangements as part of the instrumentation. In a conversation with host Wink Martindale, Conniff discusses his unique sound, evolving his style and his passion for creating music.
    Show book