Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Christmas Mystery Wagon – Premium Collection - Greatest Murder Mysteries & Ghost Tales for Holiday Season - cover

The Christmas Mystery Wagon – Premium Collection - Greatest Murder Mysteries & Ghost Tales for Holiday Season

Charles Dickens, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Wilkie Collins, O. Henry, George MacDonald, Saki Saki, Robert Louis Stevenson, Grant Allen, Robert Barr, Edgar Wallace, G.K. Chesterton, J. M. Barrie, E.F. Benson, Jerome K. Jerome, M. R. James, Algernon Blackwood, Mary Elizabeth Braddon, Arthur Conan Doyle, Sabine Baring-Gould, R. Austin Freeman, Fred M. White, Frank R. Stockton, Fergus Hume, James Bowker, Thomas Hardy, Arthur Cheney Train, Emmuska Orczy, Louisa M. Alcott, Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu

Publisher: e-artnow

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This meticulously edited collection includes some of the finest Christmas mysteries to keep you company for the entire holiday season! From puzzling detective cases to hair raising ghost tales, this collection has it all:
The Adventure of the Blue Carbuncle (Arthur Conan Doyle)
The Flying Stars (G. K. Chesterton)
Percival Bland's Proxy (R. Austin Freeman)
A Christmas Capture (Fred M. White)
McAllister's Christmas (Arthur Cheney Train)
The Mystery of Room Five (Fred M White)
A Policeman's Business (Edgar Wallace)
Stuffing (Edgar Wallace)
Mr Wray's Cash Box (Wilkie Collins)
The Adventure of the Second Swag (Robert Barr)
A Chaparral Christmas Gift (O. Henry)
A Christmas Tragedy (Emmuska Orczy)
What the Shepherd Saw (Thomas Hardy)
The Silver Hatchet (Arthur Conan Doyle)
Markheim (Robert Louis Stevenson)
The Wolves of Cernogratz (Saki)
Mustapha (Sabine Baring-Gould)
The Christmas Banquet (Nathaniel Hawthorne)
The Haunted Man (Charles Dickens)
The Ghost's Touch (Fergus Hume)
Glámr (Sabine Baring-Gould)
The Ghosts at Grantley (Leonard Kip)
A Terrible Christmas Eve (Lucie E. Jackson)
Ghosts and Family Legends (Catherine Crowe)
Thurlow's Christmas Story (John Kendrick Bangs)
The Abbot's Ghost (Louisa M. Alcott)
Old Applejoy's Ghost (Frank R. Stockton)
Wolverden Tower (Grant Allen)
The Christmas-Eve Vigil (James Bowker)
The Box with the Iron Clamps (Florence Marryat)
Joseph (Katherine Rickford)
The Story of the Goblins Who Stole a Sexton (Charles Dickens)
The Ghost of Christmas Eve (J. M. Barrie)
The Dead Sexton (Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu)
Uncle Cornelius His Story (George MacDonald)
The Grave by the Handpost (Thomas Hardy)
Number Ninety (Bithia Mary Croker)
At Chrighton Abbey (Mary Elizabeth Braddon)
The Black Bag Left on a Door-Step (Catherine L. Pirkis)
Between the Lights (E. F. Benson)
Transition (Algernon Blackwood)
The Kit-Bag (Algernon Blackwood)

Other books that might interest you

  • Piranesi - cover

    Piranesi

    Susanna Clarke

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller 
    Winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction 
    World Fantasy Awards Finalist 
     
    From the New York Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic new novel set in a dreamlike alternative reality. 
      
     Piranesi's house is no ordinary building: its rooms are infinite, its corridors endless, its walls are lined with thousands upon thousands of statues, each one different from all the others. Within the labyrinth of halls an ocean is imprisoned; waves thunder up staircases, rooms are flooded in an instant. But Piranesi is not afraid; he understands the tides as he understands the pattern of the labyrinth itself. He lives to explore the house. 
     
    There is one other person in the house-a man called The Other, who visits Piranesi twice a week and asks for help with research into A Great and Secret Knowledge. But as Piranesi explores, evidence emerges of another person, and a terrible truth begins to unravel, revealing a world beyond the one Piranesi has always known. 
     
     For readers of Neil Gaiman's The Ocean at the End of the Lane and fans of Madeline Miller's Circe, Piranesi introduces an astonishing new world, an infinite labyrinth, full of startling images and surreal beauty, haunted by the tides and the clouds.
    Show book
  • Aether Ones - cover

    Aether Ones

    Wendi Coffman-Porter

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “A science fiction mystery with political upheaval and dangerous secrets. It’s got a kick-butt female lead and lots of really neat alien races.” —The Bookwyrm’s Den 
     
    Long ago, the Great Sundering ripped the universe apart, creating two separate realities. The kuldain realm developed advanced technology, and its inhabitants travel the universe on massive ships to colonize and expand their empire. The aether realm, meanwhile, harnessed the magic of the massively powerful eldrich energy that connects everything within their realm. 
     
    Now, a tentative peace reigns between the two realms, maintained by a treaty and by the Imperial Investigative Service—a force designed to monitor interactions between the realms and ensure that most kuldain inhabitants don’t even know aether space exists. 
     
    Leilani Falconi, a talented agent of the IIS, polices the galaxy with quick sarcasm and a quicker temper. When a series of suspicious deaths in kuldain space threatens the secrecy and peace, Lei must solve the mystery—fast—before both her realities change forever. 
     
    “Impressive and original world building . . . an entertaining read and a book which transported me to a fascinating and vivid universe.” —Facing the Story 
     
    “Aether Ones with its incredible protagonist and refreshing take on a science fiction slash fantasy genre is a very engaging, fast-paced read.” —Lili’s Blissful Pages
    Show book
  • Vampire Granny and Other Surprising Stories - cover

    Vampire Granny and Other...

    Lura Dymond

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Meet the entertaining characters of this short story collection and follow them on their action-filled adventures. The dozen stories are contemporary science fiction with a twist, except for the last one. Granny Evans is a sweet old lady who bakes cookies and babysits. None of her neighbors know that she was made a vampire more than 175 years ago in New Orleans. Then her too-handsome vampire son comes for a visit and wreaks havoc in the neighborhood. Sindra is an initiative in the Cult of the Virgin, using a portal to travel between worlds, when the universe sends her flying in another direction and she ends up at the cookie store in the West Temple Mall. She has to evade an evil flute player and find the arches that will take her home. Janey and Timmy are playing tag across time one Sunday when they become embroiled in the 1381 Peasants Revolt and Janey has a baby named after her in the fourteenth century. As for the story that isn't science fiction? It'll break your heart.
    Show book
  • Born of Love - cover

    Born of Love

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    Exceedingly lovely, grey eyed-beauty Lady Marcia Woode is the apple of her father’s eye as his only child.
     
    But unlike the other Society debutantesshe is reluctant to be pinned down by marriage – indeed she has refused proposals from countless suitable suitors, the latest being from the richest Duke in the whole of England.
     
    Infuriated, Marcia’s father decides to force her to marry the illustrious French Duc de Roux, whose father was an old and distinguished friend of his.
     
    Arriving in France, Marcia is swept off her feet by the Duc’s awe-inspiring château,the magnificent gorges of the Dordogneand, best of all, his stable of fine thoroughbred horses, if not at first by the Duc himself, who is extremely tall and handsome
     
    Impressive though he is, Marcia knows that he is not in love with her, nor is she with him. And she will not marry unless it is for love and love alone.
     
    And yet, almost in spite of herself, she realises that her heart has other ideas.
     
    When she finds out that the Duc’s decadent nephew, Sardos, is plotting his murder and then she discovers the Ducat his nephew’s gunpoint amid the stalactites and stalagmites of a prehistoric Dordogne cave,
     
    And with a courage born of love, she rushes to the rescue –
    Show book
  • The Horizons of Love - cover

    The Horizons of Love

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    Lucy, Lady Wymonde, reluctantly agrees to her husband’s request that she would chaperone his innocent orphaned young niece, Ina, for her first Season as a debutante.It was infuriating to have to take another guest with her to Chale Hall, the Marquis of Chale’s majestic stately home in the country, but that it should be a lovely young girl made it worse. It was not a question of her being a rival, that was not what Lucy feared. It was that Ina would be completely out of place in what was to be her party given her by the Marquis, whom Lucy has become infatuated with and it is only a matter of time before they begin an affaire-de-coeur.Little does she know what an innocent threat the beautiful Ina will soon become! Having reluctantly left her Bohemian background and a family friend’s villa near Nice with her devoted lady’s maid, Ina is bewildered by the sophisticated Society world of London and rather in awe of the handsome Marquis. But soon, to Lucy’s fury, the Marquis is smitten by Ina’s untainted beauty and the almost clairvoyant perceptiveness by which she seems to see deep into his soul. Ina too is entranced and, despite her aunt’s attempts to pair her off with over-eager and unattractive suitors, she too is falling in love
    Show book
  • A Miracle in Music - cover

    A Miracle in Music

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    A much-admired patron of the arts and something of a ‘ladies’ man, the Duke of Arkholme, a very rich and celebrated aristocrat, is as passionate about music as he is bored by the attentions of predatory Society ladies. He decides to launch at his own expense a competition to encourage talented new composers, but he finds that the entrants he has to listen to are insipid and uninspiring.So when he hears the sparkling brilliant music he has been searching for being played on his own piano in a room next to his bedroom in his own home in the middle of the night, he is bewitched. Even more so when the pianist proves to be a pale, elfin, auburn-haired beauty called Vanola. She forces the Duke at gunpoint to listen longer to her music and she relates the story of her Hungarian father and his failure to attract any interest in his superb and innovative compositions in England.He is also horrified to be told by Vanola that his employees are corrupt and taking bribes from entrants to his auditions, so that the real talent, such as her father’s, is excluded. Realising that she is half-starved and that her father is at death’s door, he is determined to make amends, despite her implacable contempt for him for employing crooked Managers. Soon the Duke realises that he has fallen in love – but too late. Vanola’s father is dead and in her grief and fury she has fled to who knows where and it seems that he has lost her and his one chance of happiness forever.
    Show book