Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Listen online to the first chapters of this audiobook!
All characters reduced
Sketches by Boz Volume 2 - cover

Sketches by Boz Volume 2

Charles Dickens

Narrator Peter Joyce

Publisher: Assembled Stories

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0


The ‘sketches’ in this volume are more the substance and length of short stories illustrating the development of the tools of the Masters trade: farce, parody, irony, black humour and wonderful one liners which unerringly hit the mark. The ensuing narrative, however, brings the listener bumpily back to earth with a reminder of the mean and often tragic lives that were being endured in the busy, uncaring  metropolis. The stories are in the following order and entitled: The Dancing Academy, Shabby Genteel People,The Prisoners Van, The Boarding House, Mr Minns and his Cousin, Sentiment, The Tuggses’ at Ramsgate, Horatio Sparkins, The Black Veil, The Steam Excursion, The Great Winglebury Duel, Mrs Joseph Porter, A Passage in the life of Mr Watkins Tottle, The Bloomsbury Christening, The Drunkards Death. National Press Reviewers had this to say of the first volume of ‘Sketches by Boz’. ‘I couldn’t wish for a better reader. It’s been one of the highlights of my listening’. The Publishing News. ‘A brilliant reading in tune with Dickens’ own vibrancy and humanity’ The Observer. ‘This is social history with a soul’. The Guardian.
Duration: about 11 hours (11:10:53)
Publishing date: 2008-01-10; Unabridged; Copyright Year: 2008. Copyright Statment: —