Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Ham On Rye - A Novel - cover

Ham On Rye - A Novel

Charles Bukowski

Publisher: Ecco

  • 1
  • 11
  • 0

Summary

“Wordsworth, Whitman, William Carlos Williams, and the Beats in their respective generations moved poetry toward a more natural language. Bukowski moved it a little farther.” –Los Angeles Times Book Review   
In what is widely hailed as the best of his many novels, Charles Bukowski details the long, lonely years of his own hardscrabble youth in the raw voice of alter ego Henry Chinaski. From a harrowingly cheerless childhood in Germany through acne-riddled high school years and his adolescent discoveries of alcohol, woman, and the Los Angeles Public Library's collection of D.H. Lawrence, Ham on Rye offers a crude, brutal, and savagely funny portrait of an outcast's coming-of-age during the desperate days of the Great Depression.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Woman Who Spoke to Spirits - cover

    The Woman Who Spoke to Spirits

    Alys Clare

    • 3
    • 32
    • 0
    A clever plot, two engaging sleuths, plenty of period ambience, and a satisfying ending make this a fine choice for all mystery collections Booklist
    Introducing private investigators Lily Raynor and Felix Wilbraham in the first of the brand-new World’s End Bureau Victorian mystery series.London, 1880. “I’m dreadfully afraid someone is threatening to kill my wife …”   When accounts clerk Ernest Stibbins approaches the World’s End investigation bureau with wild claims that his wife Albertina has been warned by her spirit guides that someone is out to harm her, the bureau’s owner Lily Raynor and her new employee Felix Wilbraham are initially sceptical.  How are the two private enquiry agents supposed to investigate threats from beyond the grave?
    But after she attends a séance at the Stibbins family home, Lily comes to realize that Albertina is in terrible danger.  And very soon so too is Lily herself …
    Show book
  • Vampire Interrupted - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Vampire Interrupted - An...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 3
    • 16
    • 0
    After seven hundred years of life, Marguerite Argeneau finally has a career. Well, the start of one, anyway. She's training to be a private investigator, and her first assignment is to find an immortal's mother. It seemed simple enough, until Marguerite wakes up one evening to find herself at the wrong end of a sword. Now she realizes she's in way over her head. 
    Julius Notte wants to protect Marguerite, and not because someone just tried to take her head off. She doesn't know it yet, but she's his lifemate and he's determined to woo her. It's been over five hundred years since he last courted a woman, but surely the techniques haven't changed. Now if only he can keep her alive—so to speak—so they can have that happily-ever-after.
    Show book
  • Do Her No Harm - a page turning and gripping psychological thriller - cover

    Do Her No Harm - a page turning...

    Naomi Joy

    • 2
    • 12
    • 1
    One unsolved murder. A best friend determined to right the wrongs of the past. 
     
    On the 21st August Tabitha Rice disappeared without a trace. All the signs point to murder, but no signs point to a murderer. The easiest answer is her husband, Rick. But he protests his innocence and there is little proof he is the murderer. 
     
    Annabella knows there is more to the story than what the police are telling. Tabitha was her best friend and she vows to uncover the truth. 
     
    As Annabella delves further into the past, she uncovers sides to Tabitha that she never saw coming, and she finds herself asking the question... Was this murder? Or is there more to Tabitha Rice's story than meets the eye? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Louise Candlish, The Silent Patient and Blood Orange.
    Show book
  • The Night Inside - cover

    The Night Inside

    Nancy Baker

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Vampire horror from the author of A Terrible Beauty. “Riveting . . . her compromised heroine . . . is a strikingly drawn and hauntingly memorable figure.” —USA Today   Dependable grad student Ardeth Alexander finds herself trapped in a nightmare as the unwilling blood source for a captive vampire named Dimitri Rozokov. “Baker’s engrossing debut alternates the present-day story with the 1898 diary of obsessed businessman Ambrose Dale, who drove Rozokov into hiding and a 100-year sleep . . . Learning his story, Ardeth gradually loses her horror of Rozokov and begins to see their human jailers as the real monsters. Their only hope of salvation is to trace the links to Rozokov’s Victorian nemesis and discover the person behind his 20th-century captivity . . . In prose studded with passages of dark luster, Baker offers a truly original scenario” (Publishers Weekly).   “It’s almost impossible not to finish The Night Inside in one frenzied, chocolate donut munching sitting. It’s also impossible not [to] root for its feisty, feminist vampiress heroine.” —Charles Busch, author of Vampire Lesbians of Sodom   “Terrific . . . The unrelenting tension between the monstrous and the human propels this unique tale of gripping suspense.” —Katherine Ramsland, author of The Vampire Companion   “The metamorphosis is achieved in a highly charged ritual as sensuous as any written: this is consummation as bloodbath, as mutual blood-letting and blood-sucking . . . breathless, lingering, erotic . . .” —The Globe and Mail (Toronto)   “Baker has obviously thought about what surrendering to the dark side means that lifts this book up above the vast . . . morass of romantic vampire fiction.” —Quill & Quire
    Show book
  • Executive Command - cover

    Executive Command

    Gary Grossman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A Secret Service agent must stop terrorists targeting America’s most valuable—and vulnerable—natural resource…“A great thrill ride.”—Dwight Jon Zimmerman, New York Times-bestselling coauthor of Lincoln’s Last Days The nation’s water resources are high on the terrorist target list—but low in America’s consciousness. Water sources are largely unprotected, providing open access to any enemy with chemicals and biotoxins. So far we’ve been lucky. But now that luck may be running out… This is the all-too-real-and-present danger facing President Morgan Taylor and Secret Service Agent Scott Roarke as they try to prevent terrorists from destroying America and its infrastructure city by city, state by state. Fact-based in frightening detail, Executive Command is a political thriller that will leave you wondering the next time you pour a glass of water.   “Moving at break-neck speed and nothing short of sensational. Grossman is a master storyteller who sets you up and delivers. Executive Command is not just a great book, it’s a riveting experience!”—W.G. Griffiths, award-winning and bestselling author of Methuselah’s Pillar
    Show book
  • Vampire Most Wanted - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Vampire Most Wanted - An...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 7
    • 27
    • 0
    Take a road trip with the undead . . . in this latest in the Argeneau series by New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands 
    For Basha Argeneau, anything is better than facing her estranged family. Even hiding out in sweltering southern California. But when a sexy immortal in black shows up determined to bring her back to the clan, she'll do anything to keep far, far away from the past she can't outrun. 
    Marcus Notte isn't here to play games—especially not with someone as crazy as the infamous blonde. Asked by Lucian Argeneau to bring her back for questioning, Marcus is determined to carry out Lucian's request—no matter how the seductive little mind-reading vamp feels about it. 
    Basha doesn't mind fighting fire with fire, especially with a hot immortal involved. But if he wants to take her away, he'll have to catch her first . . .
    Show book