Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Will the Civil Engineer - cover

Will the Civil Engineer

Chadd Kahlsdorf

Publisher: Esri Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The STEAM at Work! series Introduces children to the AEC (architecture, engineering, construction) industry and demonstrates construction, environmental, and social issues landscape architects, planners, and engineers solvePart of a seven-book series dedicated to teaching children about different areas of STEAM.Glossary of terms is included for words that children may be unfamiliar with. In the text, these words are bolded in order to indicate that a definition can be found at the back of the book.Raises awareness and understanding of career opportunities in STEAM as well as the benefits these fields provide to the publicColorful illustrations that are easy to follow.Broadens a child’s perspective of the world, enhances their knowledge of the built-environment, and bolsters critical and creative thinking skills

Other books that might interest you

  • No and Me - cover

    No and Me

    Delphine de Vigan

    • 1
    • 51
    • 0
    Parisian teenager Lou has an IQ of 160, OCD tendencies, and a mother who has suffered from depression for years. But Lou is about to change her life-and that of her parents-all because of a school project about homeless teens. While doing research, Lou meets No, a teenage girl living on the streets. As their friendship grows, Lou bravely asks her parents if No can live with them, and is astonished when they agree. No's presence forces Lou's family to come to terms with a secret tragedy. But can this shaky, newfound family continue to live together when No's own past comes back to haunt her? 
     
    Winner of the prestigious Booksellers' Prize in France, No and Me is a timely and thought-provoking novel about homelessness that has far-reaching appeal.
    Show book
  • Friendship List #3: 13 and Counting - cover

    Friendship List #3: 13 and Counting

    Lisa Greenwald

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Fans of Lauren Myracle and Rachel Renee Russo's Dork Diaries will adore the third book in this laugh-out-loud series about two BFFs who master middle school with a list of thirteen goals they MUST achieve before their first summer apart. 
    With winter break almost over and seventh grade spinning beyond their control, best friends Kaylan and Ari write a new list of 13 resolutions to make the New Year, middle school, and their friendship even more amazing before they go to separate camps next summer. 
    But what happens when their bestie bucket list reveals issues in their friend group? Can they want totally different things and still be BFFs? 
    Told in the alternating POVs of Ari and Kaylan—and with goals inspired by suggestions from readers—this contemporary coming-of-age story is bound to be the most heartbreaking and hilarious Friendship List yet.
    Show book
  • A Court of Frost and Starlight - cover

    A Court of Frost and Starlight

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 4
    • 15
    • 0
    A tender addition to the #1 New York Times bestselling Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas, bridging the events of A Court of Wings and Ruin and upcoming books. 
     
    Feyre, Rhysand, and their friends are still busy rebuilding the Night Court and the vastly altered world beyond, recovering from the war that changed everything. But Winter Solstice is finally approaching, and with it, the joy of a hard-earned reprieve.  
     
    Yet even the festive atmosphere can't keep the shadows of the past from looming. As Feyre navigates her first Winter Solstice as High Lady, her concern for those dearest to her deepens. They have more wounds than she anticipated-scars that will have a far-reaching impact on the future of their court. 
    Bridging the events of A Court of Wings and Ruin with the later books in the series, A Court of Frost and Starlight explores the far-reaching effects of a devastating war and the fierce love between friends.
    Show book
  • Eight Times Up - cover

    Eight Times Up

    John Corr

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    Ever since his mom left, Riley has been a mess. He feels nervous all the time. His heart pounds, his neck is tight, and he can't seem to turn off his brain. His dad signs him up for aikido, hoping it will help.
    In the dojo, Riley meets boys who are much rougher than he is and a girl who is tougher than all the rest of them put together. For Wafaa, aikido is not her first choice. She was disqualified from competing in judo for wearing a hijab. From the first time she steps on the mat, it's clear she is far more skilled than anyone expected.
    Through the teachings of their sensei, Riley and his classmates come to understand that aikido is not about winning or losing or about being perfect. Sensei shows them how to tap into their inner strength and find their place in the universe.
    Show book
  • When Light Left Us - cover

    When Light Left Us

    Leah Thomas

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    * "A nuanced exploration of human nature." --Booklist, starred review 
     
    * "For fans of Patrick Ness and Lauren Oliver, this is a must buy." --SLJ, starred review 
     
    When the Vasquez siblings' father left, it seemed nothing could remedy the absence in their lives . . . until a shimmering figure named Luz appeared in the canyon behind their house. 
      
     Luz filled the void. He shot hoops with seventeen-year-old Hank's hands. He showed fourteen-year-old Ana cinematic beauty behind her eyelids. He spoke kindly to eight-year-old Milo. But then Luz left, too, and he took something from each of them. As a new school year begins, Hank, Ana, and Milo must carry on as if an alien presence never altered them. But how can they ever feel close to other people again when Luz changed everything about how they see the world and themselves?  
     
    In an imaginative and heartfelt exploration of human--and non-human--nature, Leah Thomas champions the unyielding bonds between family and true friends.  
     
    Because You'll Never Meet Me 
    A William C. Morris YA Debut Award finalist
    Show book
  • Wild and Crooked - cover

    Wild and Crooked

    Leah Thomas

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Critically-acclaimed author Leah Thomas blends a small-town setting with the secrets of a long-ago crime, in a compelling novel about breaking free from the past. 
     
    In Samsboro, Kentucky, Kalyn Spence's name is inseparable from the brutal murder her father committed when he was a teenager. Forced to return to town, Kalyn must attend school under a pseudonym . . . or face the lingering anger of Samsboro's citizens, who refuse to forget the crime. 
      
     Gus Peake has never had the luxury of redefining himself. A Samsboro native, he's either known as the "disabled kid" because of his cerebral palsy, or as the kid whose dad was murdered. Gus just wants to be known as himself. 
      
     When Gus meets Kalyn, her frankness is refreshing, and they form a deep friendship. Until their families' pasts emerge. And when the accepted version of the truth is questioned, Kalyn and Gus are caught in the center of a national uproar. Can they break free from a legacy of inherited lies and chart their own paths forward?
    Show book