Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Blood Isles - An action-packed adventure set in Scotland's Hebrides - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

The Blood Isles - An action-packed adventure set in Scotland's Hebrides

C.F. Barrington

Publisher: Head of Zeus -- An AdAstra Book

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The second in an action-packed adventure thriller series, where modern-day recruits compete in an ancient fight to the death in the streets of Edinburgh.
 
New Season. New Rules. Same deadly game...
 
The Pantheon Games are the biggest underground event in the world, followed by millions online. New recruits must leave behind their twenty-first century lives and vie for dominance in a gruelling battle to the death armed only with ancient weapons – and their wits.
 
Last season's new recruits Tyler and Lana have lived to fight another day, but now they face a series of even more lethal clashes before the Grand Battle that will end the Season.
 
It's survival of the fittest, in the most brutal fashion imaginable. Lana must face the demons of her past, and Tyler has the mother of all targets on his back.
 
This action-packed adventure thriller is perfect for fans of Pierce Brown's Red Rising, Battle Royale and The Running Man.
 
Praise for Chris Barrington:
 
'The Wolf Mile is a thrilling ride and a heck of a debut. C.F. Barrington knocks it out of the park' MATTHEW HARFFY
 
'The Wolf Mile blurs the boundary between fantasy and real life with authoritative panache. The moment you ask yourself if it could just be true, the story has you' ANTHONY RICHES
 
'The Wolf Mile had me hooked from the first page. Gripping and original – a terrific read!' JOE HEAP

Other books that might interest you

  • Oliver - The True Story of a Stolen Dog and the Humans He Brought Together - cover

    Oliver - The True Story of a...

    Steven J. Carino, Alex Tresniowski

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The remarkable, life-changing true story of a lonely man, his lost dog, and the astonishing array of strangers who brought them back together. 
    On February 14, 2019, someone stole Steven Carino's dog Oliver, a fourteen-pound Yorkie Shi-Tzu mix, from his car. Having lost his mother at thirteen and grown up with an alcoholic, abusive father, Steven's primary friendships were with dogs. Now, in the wake of a romance disintegrating, Steve was left utterly alone. 
    Then, the miracle: in a series of near-impossible coincidences, people from different walks of life crossed paths with Oliver and with Steven. There were sightings, near misses, fresh leads, and false hopes. Striving immigrants, wealthy suburbanites, heroic reporters, car mechanics, deli workers, old friends and relatives, street cops, gang members, and one very gifted hairdresser all entered the story. And in the middle of it all, Steven realized that no one is ever truly alone. Losing Oliver was not the end of a story but just the beginning, a story of unexpected faith and compassion. Oliver is a dog story, but it is also a love story, a timeless, resonant tribute to the power of love, kindness, community, and faith.
    Show book
  • DTLA Hustler - Lose Weight and Make Money as a Postmates Courier - cover

    DTLA Hustler - Lose Weight and...

    Charles St. Anthony

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In this short read set in the downtown LA (DTLA) Renaissance, Charles St. Anthony delivered hundreds of meals while finding out the most delicious delights in this fusion food hotbed. When moving to Los Angeles, Charles felt hopelessly overweight. After leading a sedentary life, he knew he needed to make changes. Also, needing to make some extra money while doing his day job, Charles decided to kill two birds with one stone by joining Postmates. By delivering by foot and bicycle Charles made his "latte money" (his term for extra cash) while incorporating work as a courier into his fitness journey. 
    DTLA Hustler takes a close-up view of what it's like to work for this tech leader and how it can benefit your overall health. The book includes educational chapters answering these burning questions: 
    1. How much do Postmates couriers really make?  
    2. What are the fabulous residents of DTLA actually eating? 
    3. What lifestyle changes did Charles St. Anthony make to lose forty pounds? 
    4. How does the Postmates system work? 
    5. What challenges do couriers deal with? 
    If you are thinking of joining the gig economy or needing to lose a few pounds, DTLA Hustler has advice for everyone while keeping you laughing. Get your hustle on and read DTLA Hustler today.
    Show book
  • HMS Warrior - Ironclad Frigate 1860 - cover

    HMS Warrior - Ironclad Frigate 1860

    Wyn Davies, Geoff Dennison

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “A well-illustrated tour of the ship as she is today, deck by deck . . . includes a historical introduction looking at the ship and her significance.”—Ships Monthly   HMS Warrior, launched in 1860, was the first iron-hulled, sea-going armored ship, and for many years was the most powerful warship in the world. Rescued a century later from her role as a refueling hulk, she became the object of the most ambitious ship restoration project ever mounted and is now afloat and open to visitors at Portsmouth.   As is the case for many historic ships, however, there is a surprising shortage of informative and well-illustrated guides, for reference during a visit or for research by enthusiasts, ship modelers, naval buffs, technical historians or students. This book—second in the Seaforth Historic Ship Series—redresses the gap.   Written by experts and containing more than 200 specially commissioned photographs, each title in the series takes the reader on a superbly illustrated tour of the ship, deck by deck. Significant parts of the vessel for example, the steering gear, armament and armor, engine-room and gundeck are given detailed coverage so that the reader has at hand the most complete visual record and explanation of the ship that is at present available.   In addition, the importance of the ship, both in her own time and now as a museum vessel, is explained, while her design and build, her service career and her life prior to restoration and exhibition are all described.   The Seaforth Historic Ship Series is a truly groundbreaking concept, bringing the ships of our past vividly to life.   “A beautiful publication.”—Ships in Scale
    Show book
  • Card Player: The Total Poker Manual - 266 Essential Poker Skills - cover

    Card Player: The Total Poker...

    Eileen Sutton, Player The...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Play like a pro with this guide full of strategies, tactics, and techniques from the experts!   Eileen Sutton has been writing about—and winning at!—poker for over a decade. Now she joins with the experts at Card Player magazine to demystify the game and detail everything you need to know, whether you’re sitting down to a friendly kitchen-table game or hoping to compete in the high-stakes world of multimillion dollar tournaments. The Total Poker Manual is packed with the strategies, tactics, and techniques needed to beat opponents in Texas Hold’em, Draw and Stud.   From the basics of each type of game and the hands needed to win, to insider tips such as specific strategies for different versions and how to beat the odds, these skills and many more are accompanied by some of the most fascinating poker stories in history, from the riverboat gamblers to today’s international stars players. Detailed sections cover how to play online, in casinos, and in tournaments large or small, as well as how to run a game for fun at home. You’ll also get insider tips from the following poker experts:   Vanessa Selbts • Linda Johnson • Matt Matros • Jennifer Harman • Ed Miller • Mario Ho • Xuan Liu • Leo Margets • Jared Tendler • Randy Lew • Tommy Angelo • Brian Rast • Kelly Minkin • James Sweeney   Learn something new, improve your poker game and walk away a winner!
    Show book
  • The Ultimate Football Trivia Book - 600 Questions for the Super-Fan - cover

    The Ultimate Football Trivia...

    Christopher Price

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Become a football trivia expert with these tough questions!The Ultimate Football Trivia Book tests and expands your knowledge on the sport of football—covering players’ careers from Draft Day to the rookie season, the Pro Bowl, and beyond! In this collection of six hundred questions, seasoned football writer Chris Price tests your level of expertise on all things football. Some of the many questions that Price poses include:Who was the last player to collect an MVP and Super Bowl trophy in the same season? (Kurt Warner)Which rookie running back set the NFL record for most rushing yards in a season? (Eric Dickerson)Who is the only quarterback in the top 10 in career playoff passing yards NOT to win a Super Bowl? (Dan Marino)What 2010 Pro Bowl quarterback never started a game in college? (Matt Cassel)Football stars and coaches past and present are represented, from Johnny Unitas to Peyton Manning, Randy Moss to Tom Brady, Bart Starr to Aaron Rodgers, Bill Parcells to Bill Belichick and everyone in between.The Ultimate Football Trivia Book is the definitive test for knowledgeable football fans!
    Show book
  • Gardening with Perennials - Lessons from Chicago's Lurie Garden - cover

    Gardening with Perennials -...

    Noel Kingsbury

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A tour of a beloved botanic treasure that’s “brimming with ideas for every home garden”—includes photos (The New York Times).   For gardeners, inspiration can come from the most unexpected places. Perennial enthusiasts around the world might be surprised to find their muse in the middle of a bustling city.   Lurie Garden, a nearly three-acre botanic garden in the center of Chicago’s lakefront in Millennium Park, is a veritable living lab of prairie perennials, with a rich array of plant life that both fascinates and educates as it grows, flowers, and dies back throughout the year. Thousands of visitors pass through—and many leave wondering how they might bring some of the magic of Lurie to their own home gardens.   In Gardening with Perennials, horticulturalist Noel Kingsbury brings a global perspective to the Lurie oasis through a wonderful introduction to the world of perennial gardening. He shows how perennials have much to offer home gardeners, from sustainability—perennials require less water than their annual counterparts—to continuity, as perennials’ longevity makes them a dependable staple. Kingsbury also explains why Lurie is a perfect case study for gardeners of all locales. The plants represented in this urban oasis were chosen specifically for reliability and longevity. The majority will thrive on a wide range of soils and across a wide climatic range. These plants also can thrive with minimal irrigation, and without fertilizers or chemical control of pests and diseases. With a special emphasis on plants that flourish in sun, and featuring many species native to the Midwest region, Gardening with Perennials will inspire gardeners around the world to try Chicago-style sustainable gardening.
    Show book