Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
His Burial Too - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

His Burial Too

Catherine Aird

Publisher: Open Road Media Mystery & Thriller

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

Detective Inspector C. D. Sloan puzzles over an industrialist crushed under the rubble of a church tower in this crime novel by a CWA Diamond Dagger winner. On the hottest day in living memory, Richard Mallory Tindall, the owner of a patent firm, does not return home to Cleete village. When a man is found crushed to death, Tindall’s case goes from missing person to homicide.   In the course of solving murder cases, Detective Inspector C. D. Sloan has seen all manner of ugly death. But there’s something particularly gruesome about this one, the body crushed beneath the marble and iron of an old Saxon church tower. With rubble blocking off access to the crime scene, no one can get close enough to inspect the body. What little evidence is available—a burned match, a black thread, an earring—doesn’t bode well for a quick and easy solution.   Even the legendarily cool-headed great detective might begin to crack when a second body turns up. And then an important file goes missing from Sloan’s office. How does it all connect?
Available since: 05/05/2015.
Print length: 199 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Telling Lies - A Maggie MacGowen Mystery - cover

    Telling Lies - A Maggie MacGowen...

    Wendy Hornsby

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A Maggie McGowen Mystery. When her sister, Emily, is mysteriously shot in a Los Angeles alley and the evidence shows that it was not the result of random crime, filmmaker Maggie MacGowen must piece together the murder bit by bit.
    Show book
  • Among the Shadows (A Cara Ward FBI Suspense Thriller—Book 4) - Digitally narrated using a synthesized voice - cover

    Among the Shadows (A Cara Ward...

    Katie Rush

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This recording has been digitally produced by Katie Rush, using a synthesized version of an audiobook narrator’s voice under license. When victims of a new killer are found aboard ghost ships on the Great Lakes, FBI Agent Cara Ward must decipher the lore of old mariners if she hopes to stop a killer at his diabolical game…
    
    AMONG THE SHADOWS (A Cara Ward FBI Suspense Thriller—Book 4) is the fourth novel in a new series by mystery and suspense author Katie Rush. The series begins with AMONG THE DEAD (Book 1).
    
    The Cara Ward series is a compelling and intense thrill ride starring a gifted but tormented female protagonist. This captivating mystery delivers relentless excitement, nail-biting tension, astonishing twists, and a rapid-fire tempo that ensures you'll be turning pages well past bedtime. Fans of Kendra Elliot, Lisa Regan, and Robert Dugoni are sure to fall in love. 
    
    Future books in the series are also available!
    Show book
  • The Minorities - cover

    The Minorities

    Suffian Hakim

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Meet the four misfits living in one HDB flat. 
     
    One is a Malay–Jew who is trying to get his father to come back as a ghost. Cantona is a promising Bangladeshi artist on the run from a construction company. Tights is a Chinese illegal immigrant with a Forrest Gump obsession. And Shanti is a gifted Indian lab technician hiding from her abusive husband. 
     
    When a forlorn pontianak begins haunting them, the four friends find themselves embroiled in a surreal showdown that may just upend the world, or at least Singapore. 
     
    Written in Suffian Hakim's trademark humour, The Minorities is a novel about those living on the edges of society and their soulful bond.
    Show book
  • The Return of the Soul - cover

    The Return of the Soul

    Robert Smythe Hichens

    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
    Can the soul of the dead come back to haunt the one who was responsible for its death? What would happen if the responsible one did not believe it could be so, and yet was in love with the returned soul? The Return of the Soul is a horror story of a man who is visited by the returning soul of a deceased, and who has some very perplexing issues to deal with upon that return. (Introduction by Roger Melin)
    Show book
  • Below the Surface - cover

    Below the Surface

    Karen Harper

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    She surfaced from the depths of the sea...and was terrifyingly, inexplicably aloneBriana Devon knows her twin sister would never deliberately leave her--but when she emerges from underwater, Daria and their boat have vanished. Fighting rough waves and a fast-approaching storm, Bree doesn't have time to question: if she wants to survive, she has to swim. Exhausted and terrified, Bree barely makes it to a tiny barrier island, where Cole De Roca, who has also taken shelter, revives her. Bound to Cole by the harrowing experience, she turns to him as she struggles to understand what happened to her sister. What was her twin, whom she thought she knew so well, hiding? What really transpired that terrible afternoon? And what secrets lie dormant...below the surface?
    Show book
  • BIGLAW - A Novel - cover

    BIGLAW - A Novel

    Lindsay Cameron

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Mackenzie Corbett has always dreamed of living in New York City. Now, almost two years into her job as an associate at a premier Manhattan law firm, she's living her fantasy—big salary, high profile deals, cute boyfriend, designer bag on her arm. The giant bags under her eyes from lack of sleep don't fit into the fantasy, though. To make matters worse, she's being tormented by a bitter, bitchy senior associate, her boyfriend is annoyed that she never has time for him, and now she's stuck on the deal from hell with a partner whose biggest claim to fame is throwing a stapler at a cleaning lady because she touched his ficus plant. With the opportunity to secure a prestigious secondment on the line, the overachiever in her is determined to endure whatever it takes to close the biggest deal in the firm's history. But when Mackenzie finds herself the focus of a devastating investigation, her dream job begins spiraling into a nightmare. In this pitch perfect, frighteningly accurate novel, Lindsay Cameron throws back the curtain to this intriguing world exposing the truth about life in Biglaw.
    Show book