A world full of adventures is waiting for you!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
A Late Phoenix - cover

A Late Phoenix

Catherine Aird

Publisher: Open Road Media Mystery & Thriller

  • 1
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Detective Inspector C. D. Sloan is called on to solve the coldest of cases in this thriller from CWA Diamond Dagger winner Catherine Aird Berebury, England, did not have an easy go of it during the Second World War. This quaint Victorian town was destroyed when the Nazis dropped bomb after bomb on its perfect gardens and neat hedges. After three decades of disarray, the town council has finally begun reconstructing what’s left. All throughout Berebury, the sounds of hammers and saws drone on. But on this particular day, the noise stops.   In the crater of a bomb site, a skeleton has been found. While its presence there isn’t unusual—hundreds died in bombing raids throughout England—the manner in which the pregnant girl met her end is sinister enough that Detective Inspector C. D. Sloan and his assistant, Detective Constable Crosby, are called to the scene. The cause of death, it seems, was not the blast, but a bullet to the spine.   Inspector Sloan is the best there is when it comes to cracking the most complex cases. But can he piece together a murder that’s been buried for more than a quarter century?

Other books that might interest you

  • The Godmother - A Crime Novel - cover

    The Godmother - A Crime Novel

    Hannelore Cayre

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Inspiration for the major motion picture Mama Weed; translated from the international bestseller La Daronne, winner of the European Crime Fiction Prize and the Grand Prix de Littérature Policière, France’s most prestigious prize for crime fiction
    		 
    Meet Patience Portefeux, a fifty-three-year-old, underpaid Franco-Arab  interpreter for the Ministry of Justice who specializes in phone tapping. Widowed after the sudden death of her husband, Patience is now wedged between university fees for her grown-up daughters and nursing home costs for her aging mother.
    		 
    Happening upon an especially revealing set of police wiretaps ahead of all other authorities, Patience makes a life-altering decision that sees her intervening in — and infiltrating — the machinations of a massive drug deal. She thus embarks on an entirely new career path: Patience becomes The Godmother.
    		 
    This is not the French idyll of postcards and stock photos. With a gallery of traffickers, dealers, police officers, and politicians, The Godmother casts its sharp and amusing gaze on everyday survival in contemporary France. With an unforgettable woman at its center, Hannelore Cayre’s bestselling novel reveals a European criminal underground that has rarely been seen.
    Show book
  • Dead End - cover

    Dead End

    Sally Spencer

    • 1
    • 12
    • 0
    He was going to have to terminate Monika, he decided. It was a pity, but there it was.
    
    The body has lain buried for years, and has no face and no fingertips. Monika Paniatowski’s team have no real leads, but when they discuss the case at her hospital bedside – where she lies paralysed – Monika begins to see possible links with a case she closed four years earlier.
    
    Are the two cases connected? Did the first murder make the second almost inevitable? She doesn’t know, but she does know that she is being watched by an old enemy who will kill her if he decides there is ever any chance of her sharing her thoughts and information with her team.
    Show book
  • Peril in the Cotswolds - cover

    Peril in the Cotswolds

    Rebecca Tope

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    ‘AS REBECCA TOPE TELLS IT, EVERY RURAL IDYLL IS BLIGHTED BY UNDERLYING MENACE. SUCH IS HER WRITING SKILL, I’M INCLINED TO BELIEVE HER’ DAILY MAIL 
    Thea Slocombe, formerly Osborne, is trying to settle into normal family life with Drew and his two children in the village of Broad Campden. But any sense of cosy domesticity is shattered when Thea finds the body of a neighbour. No longer a house-sitter, Thea has no choice but to stay in the village and deal with the fallout, even when this risks damage to her marriage. 
    Unconvinced that the swift conclusion the police reach is the right one, Thea is compelled to follow her nature and investigate for herself. But what repercussions might there be for her, Drew and those with whom they share this corner of the Cotswolds?
    Show book
  • Revenge in the Cotswolds - cover

    Revenge in the Cotswolds

    Rebecca Tope

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Thea Osborne is determined to avoid trouble during her latest commission house-sitting in the pretty Cotswold village of Daglingworth. Anticipating a relaxing two weeks looking after the client’s pets, brightened with phone calls to her boyfriend, Drew, Thea settles down for a quiet assignment. Until, that is, a dead body is discovered in a nearby quarry. 
    Could the death be linked to a group of environmental activists who have intimidated local residents? While Thea can empathise with the activists’ views against wind farms and building developments, she is not so sure about their violent methods. As real tensions begin to simmer, even Thea, a seasoned crime-solver, is surprised by the truth . . .
    Show book
  • Dead Flowers - cover

    Dead Flowers

    Nicola Monaghan

    • 2
    • 27
    • 0
    She doesn’t trust the police. She used to be one of them.
     
    Hardened by ten years on the murder squad, DNA analyst Doctor Sian Love has seen it all. So when she finds human remains in the basement of her new home, she knows the drill.
     
    Except this time it’s different. This time, it’s personal...
     
    A page-turning cold case investigation, Dead Flowers is an intriguing, multi-layered story perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson’s Case Histories and British crime dramas like Line of Duty and Unforgotten.
     
    Shortlisted for the UEA Crime Fiction Award 2019
     
    --------------------
     
    Praise for Nicola Monaghan's previous works
     
    'A gripping, mile-a-minute British debut. Enthralling' - Kirkus Reviews
     
    'Monaghan's convincing characters swing unpredictably between terrifying and tender, and the often violent encounters usually have a bleakly funny edge' - Independent
    Show book
  • Gallows Thief - A Novel - cover

    Gallows Thief - A Novel

    Bernard Cornwell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The year is 1820. Rider Sandman, a hero of Waterloo, returns to London to wed his fiancée. But instead of settling down to fame and glory, he finds himself penniless in a country where high unemployment and social unrest rage, and where men—innocent or guilty—are hanged for the merest of crimes. 
    When he's offered a job as private investigator to re-open the case of a painter due to be hanged for a murder he didn't commit, Sandman readily accepts—as much for the money as for a chance to see justice done in a country gone to ruins. 
    Soon, however, he's mired in a grisly murder plot that keeps thickening. Sandman makes his way through gentlemen's clubs and shady taverns, aristocratic mansions, and fashionable painters' studios determined to rescue the innocent young man from the rope. But someone doesn't want the truth revealed.
    Show book