Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Coming Home - Rocky Mountain Front #4 - cover

Coming Home - Rocky Mountain Front #4

Casey Dawes

Publisher: Mountain Vines Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Veteran Jen Torres's latest fight might be her toughest. 
  
For Jen the Nature Fund in Montana is a chance to readjust to civilian life. But she doesn't feel like she fits in, especially when a fellow employee takes every opportunity to snipe at her. Is he threatened by her gender, ex-military status, the color of her skin, or all of the above? 
Ignoring his negativity, she initiates the idea of running a fishing program for disabled vets. If she succeeds, she'll have more standing in the organization and can do more of the fieldwork she craves. But like much in life, things don't go exactly as planned. 
  
First, she has to stand in front of her fellow soldiers, many who'd been in more senior positions, and act like she's in charge. Second, there is her annoying attraction to Cameron Beck, in spite of her vow never to get involved with another vet. Then there is her concern for one of the men who seems to be losing the battle long after he left the war.  
  
Will she be able to survive the swirling waters around her? Or will the current pull her back into the perceived safety of the military life? 
  
A woman's fiction novel based on real events, Coming Home examines the phenomenal strength it takes for our military veterans to come to terms with civilian life.

Other books that might interest you

  • Shakespeare Never Did This - cover

    Shakespeare Never Did This

    Charles Bukowski

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    An account of Charles Bukowski's 1978 European trip. In 1978 Europe was new territory for Bukowski holding the secrets of his own personal ancestry and origins. En route to his birthplace in Andernach, Germany, he is trailed by celebrity-hunters and paparazzi, appears drunk on French television, blows a small fortune at a Dusseldorf racetrack and stands in a Cologne Cathedral musing about life and death.
    Show book
  • Blood Cold - A Chris Black Adventure - cover

    Blood Cold - A Chris Black...

    James Lindholm

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    The legacy of a failed regime rises from the deep.
     
    Indomitable marine biologist Chris Black is looking forward to six quiet months of scientific research off the coast of Cape Town, South Africa. But when on a routine dive Chris discovers the wreck of a fishing vessel that disappeared during a storm decades earlier, he inadvertently clashes with the ghost of South Africa's Apartheid. Thousands of gold Krugerrand provide powerful motivation for treachery everywhere, and Chris is forced to take a careful look at those he trusts most. Racing against time, he must find out who is providing critical information to the criminals ... before too much innocent blood is shed.
     
    "Opening this book is like diving with sharks. Big sharks. At night. In a hurricane. What next?" -Stephen Palumbi, scientist and author of The Death and Life of Monterey Bay
    Show book
  • Worry - A Novel - cover

    Worry - A Novel

    Jessica Westhead

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A CBC BOOKS BEST FICTION BOOK OF THE YEAR 
    A riveting novel about a mother’s all-consuming worry for her child over forty-eight hours at a remote cottage with old friends and a mysterious neighbour, for fans of Little Fires Everywhere and Truly Madly Guilty 
    Ruth is the fiercely protective mother of almost-four-year-old Fern. Together they visit a remote family cottage belonging to Stef, the woman who has been Ruth’s best friend—and Ruth's husband’s best friend—for years. Stef is everything Ruth is not—confident, loud, carefree—and someone Ruth cannot seem to escape. While Fern runs wild with Stef’s older twins and dockside drinks flow freely among the adults, they’re joined by Stef’s neighbour Marvin, a man whose frantic pursuit of fun is only matched by his side comments about his absent wife. As day moves into night and darkness settles over the woods, the edges between these friends and a stranger sharpen until a lingering suspicion becomes an undeniable threat.
    Show book
  • Vampire Most Wanted - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Vampire Most Wanted - An...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 7
    • 28
    • 0
    Take a road trip with the undead . . . in this latest in the Argeneau series by New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands 
    For Basha Argeneau, anything is better than facing her estranged family. Even hiding out in sweltering southern California. But when a sexy immortal in black shows up determined to bring her back to the clan, she'll do anything to keep far, far away from the past she can't outrun. 
    Marcus Notte isn't here to play games—especially not with someone as crazy as the infamous blonde. Asked by Lucian Argeneau to bring her back for questioning, Marcus is determined to carry out Lucian's request—no matter how the seductive little mind-reading vamp feels about it. 
    Basha doesn't mind fighting fire with fire, especially with a hot immortal involved. But if he wants to take her away, he'll have to catch her first . . .
    Show book
  • Summertide - cover

    Summertide

    Charlotte E. English

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    ‘You may have noticed,’ said Maut, ‘that the Tree is on the move.’
     
    On the edge of the town of Kottow stands the tallest (and oddest) Tree in the land. It’s a staid and solid arbour — until the Tree picks up its mighty old roots and wanders off, taking its resident band of misfits away with it. Whither goes the Tree? Not even the wizard can say.
     
    'There is something mighty fey about all this, or my name ain't Diggory Stokey.'
     
    Far away from Kottow, a forest lies lost in the mists of a dream. There’s much to mend in this hoary old wood, for the Summer’s been swept from the glittering skies, and no one’s keeping an eye on the Winter...
     
    'Enchanted forests,' Mudleaf spat. 'Bah. Like it's been raining magic this long age through.'
     
    The good folk of Kottow aren’t used to so wayward a magic — not even Maut Fey, the one with the sunlight behind her eyes. But magic will have its way with them, whether they will or no.
     
    Summertide’s waiting. Can the folk of the Tree bring it back, or will the wild magic wash them away?
     
    “If you mixed elements of the Faraway Tree, Narnia, Frozen and A Midsummer Night’s Dream together, you might get something like Summertide. Maybe.” — The Author
     
    ‘Almond tarts for her MAJESTY!’ someone else roared. ‘Apple ice-wine for her majesty!’
     
    Praise for the Wonder Tales:
     
    “...large helpings of wit and whimsy... readers who enjoy the old-fashioned language of classic fairy tales will be pleased with this one.” - Publishers Weekly on Faerie Fruit
     
    “Her faultless prose by turns ascends with the lark, leads you down secret paths like the willow-the-wisp, bewitches you into bewilderment, and sparkles with eye-bedazzling wonder...” - NYT bestselling author Mercedes Lackey on Gloaming
    Show book
  • Tales of a Traveller - cover

    Tales of a Traveller

    Washington Irving

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This collection by the author of The Legend of Sleepy Hollow recounts the experiences of an American abroad in the early nineteenth century.In Tales of a Traveller, renowned essayist and short story writer Washington Irving turns his talents to the genre of travel writing. Based on his excursions across Europe, Irving tells of the people he meets in France, England, Italy, and elsewhere, recounting the many tall tales they tell him. First published in 1824, this collection includes the narrative of a young German student living in Paris during the French Revolution; an account of Italian bandits who prey on travelers on the road to Naples; and legends of the pirate Captain Kidd, including the story “The Devil and Tom Walker,” which served as the inspiration for Stephen Vincent Benét’s “The Devil and Daniel Webster.”
    Show book