Do you dare to read without limits?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Halloween is Murder - McKinley Mysteries: Short & Sweet Cozies #11 - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

Halloween is Murder - McKinley Mysteries: Short & Sweet Cozies #11

Carolyn Arnold

Publisher: Carolyn Arnold

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Beware of all that goes bump in the night… 
 
"You can never go wrong with a McKinley cozy mystery… These are the little mysteries are a perfect addition to your cozy mystery collection." –Wifetime of Happiness 
 
Sean and Sara McKinley are excited about the haunted house they've set up as a Halloween charity fund-raiser, but things take a ghoulish turn when the reporter covering their story is found dead. With the media keeping mum about how she died, Sara's curiosity is piqued, and she convinces Sean to take on the investigation. 
 
With the police actively investigating and with no clear indication that the woman was murdered, the McKinleys will need to take a cloak-and-dagger approach if they're going to carve out the truth. As they troll for leads and work through the skeletons in the reporter's closet, they unearth a few suspects. If they're able to narrow them down fast enough, there might even be time for a little trick-or-treating. 
 
McKinley Mysteries are short & sweet just like that coffee you crave. Savor the perfect blend of romance, humor, and murder with zero additives such as foul language, graphic violence or sex. These international bestselling cozies are bound to hit the spot and keep you coming back for more. This is an addiction you can afford to have. Get started today. 
 
What readers have to say about Halloween is Murder: 
 
★★★★★ "A well written mystery with fun for the Halloween days." 
★★★★★ "It's got an ending I didn't expect. Highly recommend." 
★★★★★ "Another fast-paced and fun book by Carolyn Arnold." 
★★★★★ "A great story, quick read." 
★★★★★ "A fun, old-fashioned murder mystery." 
★★★★★ "I love fun, cozy, mystery books and this book totally fits the bill!" 
★★★★★ "There are some very comedic sequences." 
★★★★★ "I would recommend this book to all cozy mystery lovers." 
★★★★★ "Another Wow book from Carolyn Arnold!"

Other books that might interest you

  • Dead on Course - A contemporary horse racing mystery - cover

    Dead on Course - A contemporary...

    Glenis Wilson

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A fast-paced mystery set in the cut-throat world of horse-racing: second in the new Harry Radcliffe series.Back in the saddle and race riding again after weeks recuperating from a serious accident, champion jockey Harry Radcliffe reckons his life is back on course. That’s before local gangster Jake Smith, newly released from gaol, makes contact. Knowing of Harry’s success in finding out who killed his brother, Jake now wants him to discover who murdered his sister, Jo-Jo. Refusing to accept the official verdict of accidental death, Jake is prepared to use whatever violence necessary to uncover the truth. He’s determined that somebody pays the price for his sister’s death – and if Harry doesn’t find out who’s responsible, it’ll be him.Once again forced to turn detective, Harry is about to enter a world of greed, corruption and treachery in order to unmask a ruthless killer.
    Show book
  • Hitmen I Have Known - cover

    Hitmen I Have Known

    Bill James

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Assistant Chief Constable Iles finds himself suspected of murder in the fast-paced 35th installment of the popular Harpur and Iles police procedural series.
    
    Tensions in the community are mounting following the gruesome deaths of two men, both of whom were accused yet acquitted of the murder of an undercover police officer. It looks like vigilante justice, but who is responsible? Alarmingly, suspicion falls on Assistant Chief Constable Iles.
    
    Matters escalate when a TV show investigating the murders is aired, further implicating Iles. Iles seems at ease with the accusations, as are his superiors in the police force. But others are not feeling so secure.
    
    Local crime bosses Ralph Ember and Mansel Shale fear reprisals against Iles will result in their own businesses suffering. And so they begin to plan how to remove potential troublemakers from their path . . .
    Show book
  • The Mind Readers - cover

    The Mind Readers

    Margery Allingham

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A mysterious invention causes mayhem in a coastal English village—from “my very favourite of the four Queens of Crime” (J. K. Rowling).   The ancient hamlet of Saltey, once the haunt of smugglers, now hides a secret rich and mysterious enough to trap all who enter . . . and someone in town is willing to terrorize, murder, and raise the very devil to keep that secret to themselves.   When a transistor thought to be the key to telepathic communication is found, Albert Campion is called to sort fact from fiction. But the device at the center of the mystery is in the possession of two schoolboys, and whether they stole it or invented it, there are others who will kill to get hold of it.   “Allingham has a strong, well controlled sense of humour, a power of suggesting character with a few touches and an excellent English style. She has a sense of the fantastic, and is never dull” —Times Literary Supplement
    Show book
  • Dead Flowers - cover

    Dead Flowers

    Nicola Monaghan

    • 3
    • 54
    • 0
    She doesn’t trust the police. She used to be one of them.
     
    Hardened by ten years on the murder squad, DNA analyst Doctor Sian Love has seen it all. So when she finds human remains in the basement of her new home, she knows the drill.
     
    Except this time it’s different. This time, it’s personal...
     
    A page-turning cold case investigation, Dead Flowers is an intriguing, multi-layered story perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson’s Case Histories and British crime dramas like Line of Duty and Unforgotten.
     
    Shortlisted for the UEA Crime Fiction Award 2019
     
    --------------------
     
    Praise for Nicola Monaghan's previous works
     
    'A gripping, mile-a-minute British debut. Enthralling' - Kirkus Reviews
     
    'Monaghan's convincing characters swing unpredictably between terrifying and tender, and the often violent encounters usually have a bleakly funny edge' - Independent
    Show book
  • The Emerald Lie - Jack Taylor #12 - cover

    The Emerald Lie - Jack Taylor #12

    Ken Bruen

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    "Nobody writes like Ken Bruen, with his ear for lilting Irish prose and his taste for the kind of gallows humor heard only at the foot of the gallows. The Emerald Lie is pure Bruen, with its verbal tics, weird typography and unorthodox wordplay." 
    
    —Marilyn Stasio, New York Times Book Review 
    
     
    
    From the "Godfather of the modern Irish crime novel" (Irish Independent), The Emerald Lie introduces a villain of the most unusual sort: an Eton and Cambridge graduate who becomes murderous over split infinitives, improper punctuation, and any other sign of bad grammar.
    
     
    Ken Bruen's irascible protagonist, ex-cop Jack Taylor, is meanwhile approached by a grieving father with a pocketful of cash on offer if Jack will help exact revenge on those responsible for his daughter's brutal murder. Jack agrees to get a read on the likely perpetrators but is soon derailed by the appearance of Emily (also known as Em, Emerald), a chameleon-like young woman who is by turns passionate, clever, and utterly homicidal. She will use any sort of coercion to get Jack to conspire with her against the serial killer the Garda have nicknamed "the Grammarian," but her most destructive obsession just might be Jack himself. 
    
     
    
     
    Praise for The Emerald Lie…
    
     
     
    
    "The most entertaining of Bruen's Jack Taylor books." — Toronto Star 
    
     
    
    "Bruen remains on the mountaintop of contemporary Irish noir. Sprightly, elliptical prose is a plus." — Publishers Weekly 
    
     
    
    "Not to be missed." — BookPage 
    
     
    
    "I picture Bruen not so much writing as transcribing the words of a sweet fallen angel that are whispered feverishly into his ear." — Bookreporter 
    
     
    
    Ken Bruen received a doctorate in metaphysics, taught English in South Africa, and then became a crime novelist. The critically acclaimed author of eleven previous Jack Taylor novels and The White Trilogy, he is the recipient of two Barry Awards and two Shamus Awards and has twice been a finalist for the Edgar Award. He lives in Galway, Ireland.
    Show book
  • Hacker's Diary - Duty Free - cover

    Hacker's Diary - Duty Free

    Adam Smith

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A debut novel by Adam Prockstem Smith. He is living in Israel and after several months of work in Duty-Free he comes up with an idea how to elegantly rob the place.
    
    As a computer science and computer application enthusiast, he lives the life of a writer in the Middle East.
    
    The main hero in this book is a Hacker and he describes in a diary manner the mind that stands behind a perfect cybercrime. The book has resources, points of enlightenment and philosophical ruminations. It has every aspect of a good afternoon read for every type of reader that is not afraid to be spoken by the intelligent author. Throughout this book, you will learn about Dark Web and elementary aspects of planning a cybercrime.
    
    It is a fiction nonetheless, not a practical guide.
    Show book