Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Day-Old Child - cover

Day-Old Child

Carol Lynn Pearson

Publisher: Gibbs Smith

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Beloved author of The Lesson, Will You Still Be My Daughter, and I’ll Walk with You, Carol Lynn Pearson is known for her tender and heartfelt stories. Her newest book, illustrating her poem titled Day-Old Child, will enchant adults and children alike. Observe the moment of utter joy when a parent first looks into their newborn baby’s eyes.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Silver Hand - cover

    The Silver Hand

    Terry Deary

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    This brand new, thrilling adventure from bestselling 'Horrible Histories' author Terry Deary brings the closing days of the First World War to life. Perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo and John Boyne. 
     
    It's 1918 and the Great War is entering its final phase. In northern France, young Aimee has just found out that her mother is part of a spy network working with the British. After reluctantly befriending Marius, a German boy who has been left behind by his countrymen, she must try to help him get back behind German lines while evading a traitor she has helped to discover. 
     
    This page-turning adventure sheds new light on the First World War and will have readers gripped from start to finish. 
     
    Book band: Dark Blue
    Show book
  • Stoneywish and other chilling stories: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    Stoneywish and other chilling...

    Joan Aiken

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A brilliant collection of spine-chilling tales by Joan Aiken, author of The Wolves of Willoughby Chase.  
     
    From a mysterious traveller who leaves an injured horse with a stranger, to a garden plant that slowly creeps into a house during a thunderstorm and a man who comes across two angry forces in the middle of a forest, this chilling collection of stories will have readers jumping at bumps in the night. 
     
    Much-loved author Joan Aiken is best known for The Wolves of Willoughby Chase and the Arabel and Mortimer books. This brilliant collection has spooky black-and-white illustrations by Masha Ukhova and is perfect for children who are developing as readers.  
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence, covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Dark Blue 
    Ideal for ages 9+
    Show book
  • Saxon Tales: The Witch Who Faced the Fire - cover

    Saxon Tales: The Witch Who Faced...

    Terry Deary

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Wilfred, the Saxon village Cunning Man, is loved by all for his wondrous healing powers. But he is growing old and weary, and it will soon be time for his apprentice, Ardith, to step up. It's a risky job, and Ardith's about to learn the hard way that you need more than potions and magic words. You need to be... cunning. 
     
    Join master storyteller Terry Deary for a trip back in time to Saxon times and an exciting adventure. 
     
    Book band: Brown 
    Ideal for ages: 7+
    Show book
  • Cinderella Is Dead - cover

    Cinderella Is Dead

    Kalynn Bayron

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    "Wholly original and captivating." - Brigid Kemmerer, New York Times bestselling author of A Curse So Dark and Lonely 
     
    Girls team up to overthrow the kingdom in this unique and powerful retelling of Cinderella from a stunning new voice that's perfect for fans of Dhonielle Clayton and Melissa Albert. 
     
      It's 200 years after Cinderella found her prince, but the fairy tale is over. Teen girls are now required to appear at the Annual Ball, where the men of the kingdom select wives based on a girl's display of finery. If a suitable match is not found, the girls not chosen are never heard from again.  
      
     Sixteen-year-old Sophia would much rather marry Erin, her childhood best friend, than parade in front of suitors. At the ball, Sophia makes the desperate decision to flee, and finds herself hiding in Cinderella's mausoleum. There, she meets Constance, the last known descendant of Cinderella and her step sisters. Together they vow to bring down the king once and for all--and in the process, they learn that there's more to Cinderella's story than they ever knew . . . 
     
    This fresh take on a classic story will make readers question the tales they've been told, and root for girls to break down the constructs of the world around them.
    Show book
  • World War II Tales: The Apple Spy - cover

    World War II Tales: The Apple Spy

    Terry Deary

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Stories of the Second World War on the Home Front from the bestselling  Terry Deary, author of the hugely successful Horrible Histories. In this retelling of an extraordinary true story, a pair of children realise that the odd strangers they see in their tiny Scottish village are German spies. Can the children alert the authorities or will the ruthless spies find them first?
    Show book
  • Saxon Tales: The King Who Threw Away His Throne - cover

    Saxon Tales: The King Who Threw...

    Terry Deary

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    King Vortigern thinks he's so clever but his servant Mervyn knows he is playing a dangerous game. Can Mervyn keep the King safe from the invading Saxons, Pictish raiders, and a beautiful Saxon princess?  
     
    Join master storyteller Terry Deary for a trip back in time to Saxon times and an exciting adventure. 
     
    Book band: Grey 
    Ideal for ages: 8+
    Show book