What's better than reading? Reading withour limits :D
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
This Dog for Hire - cover

This Dog for Hire

Carol Lea Benjamin

Publisher: Open Road Media Mystery & Thriller

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Winner of the Shamus Award for Best First PI Novel: In the first book of Carol Lea Benjamin’s acclaimed mystery series, Greenwich Village PI Rachel Alexander and her loyal pit bull must find a killer and a missing show dog  Divorced dog trainer–turned–private-eye Rachel Alexander and her canine assistant Dash—short for Dashiell—are hired by a man named Dennis Keaton to investigate the hit-and-run death of his friend and neighbor Clifford Cole, whose body was found on an isolated Christopher Street pier. The police are treating the gay painter’s suspicious death as a hate crime, but Dennis insists Cliff hadn’t cruised the waterfront in months. Plus, Magritte, Cliff’s champion basenji—a competitor in the upcoming Westminster Dog Show—may have been a witness to the crime and is now missing. The search for answers takes Rachel and Dash from the SoHo art scene to the most famous dog show in America. Now Rachel is in the sights of a killer hunting her across a treacherous urban landscape. There’s no one she can trust—especially not of the two-legged variety.This Dog for Hire is the 1st book in the Rachel Alexander and Dash Mysteries, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.

Other books that might interest you

  • A Conspiracy of Wolves - cover

    A Conspiracy of Wolves

    Candace Robb

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    1374. When a prominent citizen is found dead in the woods, rumours spread like wildfire that wolves are running loose throughout the city. Persuaded out of retirement to investigate, Owen Archer is convinced that a human killer is responsible. Teaming up with Geoffrey Chaucer, Owen’s enquiries will draw him headlong into a deadly conspiracy.
    Show book
  • Dead Flowers - cover

    Dead Flowers

    Nicola Monaghan

    • 3
    • 42
    • 0
    She doesn’t trust the police. She used to be one of them.
     
    Hardened by ten years on the murder squad, DNA analyst Doctor Sian Love has seen it all. So when she finds human remains in the basement of her new home, she knows the drill.
     
    Except this time it’s different. This time, it’s personal...
     
    A page-turning cold case investigation, Dead Flowers is an intriguing, multi-layered story perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson’s Case Histories and British crime dramas like Line of Duty and Unforgotten.
     
    Shortlisted for the UEA Crime Fiction Award 2019
     
    --------------------
     
    Praise for Nicola Monaghan's previous works
     
    'A gripping, mile-a-minute British debut. Enthralling' - Kirkus Reviews
     
    'Monaghan's convincing characters swing unpredictably between terrifying and tender, and the often violent encounters usually have a bleakly funny edge' - Independent
    Show book
  • Fire Trap - A TJ Peterson Mystery - cover

    Fire Trap - A TJ Peterson Mystery

    Bob Kroll

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    The third and final installment of the T.J. Peterson mysteries
    		 
    Things have gone from bad to worse for T.J. Peterson. The cops have kicked him off the force, his girlfriend called it quits, his best friend and former partner won’t speak to him, and his estranged 20-year-old daughter, Katy, continues to torment him with photos of the hellholes she is living in. Add in a shrink’s diagnosis of PTSD, and Peterson is barely holding it together. 
    		 
    When he receives an anonymous text message with an online link to a video of a young journalist being tortured, Peterson does the only thing he knows how to do — he sets out to save her. Using psychological warfare, a maniac of savage cruelty lures Peterson into a brutal labyrinth of hard-core porn and the vicious depravity of the Dark Web, and Peterson finds himself in a race to find the girl before the torment breaks him for good.
    Show book
  • Bone Rattler - Duncan McCallum #1 - cover

    Bone Rattler - Duncan McCallum #1

    Eliot Pattison

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    "Hauntingly beautiful are the bonds between the cultures of the Scots Highlanders and the Indians" – Historical Novel Society 
     
    Aboard a British convict ship bound for the New World, Duncan McCallum witnesses a series of murders and apparent suicides among his fellow Scottish prisoners. A strange trail of clues leads Duncan into the New World and eventually thrusts him into the bloody maw of the French and Indian War.  
     
    Exploring a frontier world shrouded in danger and defying death in a wilderness populated by European settlers, Indian shamans, and mysterious scalping parties, Duncan, the exiled chief of his near-extinct Scottish clan, finds that sometimes justice cannot be reached unless the cultures and spirits of those involved are appeased. 
     
    Bone Rattler is a powerful historical mystery set against a backdrop of culture clashes, greed, deceit and murder as seen through the eyes of an honest Scot swept up in both the wonder and heartbreak of early colonial America. 
     
     
    "Having already won an Edgar for his Inspector Shan series, Pattison makes a strong bid for another with this outstanding mystery set in colonial America… Pattison's moving characters, intricate plot and masterful evocation of the time, including sensitive depictions of the effects of the European war on Native Americans, set this leagues beyond most historicals." – Publishers Weekly 
     
    ELIOT PATTISON is the author of The Skull Mantra, winner of the Edgar Award and finalist for the Gold Dagger, Water Touching Stone, and Bone Mountain. Pattison resides in rural Pennsylvania with his wife, three children, two horses, and two dogs on a colonial-era farm.
    Show book
  • Unto Us a Son Is Given - A Comissario Guido Brunetti Mystery - cover

    Unto Us a Son Is Given - A...

    Donna Leon

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Donna Leon’s previous novel, The Temptation of Forgiveness, was a New York Times national bestseller and a regional bestseller for many weeks across the country, as well as a New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice.
    Her books have sold over two million copies in North America.
    All of Leon’s recent Brunetti books have appeared on the New York Times Bestseller List. Earthly Remains debuted at #12, and The Waters of Eternal Youth reached #10. Falling in Love debuted at #5 in hardcover fiction, her highest debut ever. By Its Cover and The Golden Egg both reached #7.
    In recent years Leon’s sales and critical esteem have only risen. These are fantastic books that just keep getting better.
    Donna Leon has been named one of the 50 Greatest Crime Writers of all time by both Time and the Times of London.
    Leon has fans everywhere; Ruth Bader Ginsburg is a close friend and supporter, and both Hillary Clinton and R.L. Stine named Leon as a favorite writer in the New York Times Book Review’s “By the Book” section.
    Show book
  • Great Deception - Detective Cole Sullivan Returns - cover

    Great Deception - Detective Cole...

    Russell Warnberg

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    Detective Cole Sullivan faces a challenge that threatens almost everyone close to him. Heading the HIU (Homicide Investigation Unit) headquartered in Augusta, Maine is his job, but this challenge forces him to step out of that role. Due to the dangers to his family he considers a new path and then the Navy comes calling.
    Show book