Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Earl's American Heiress - cover

The Earl's American Heiress

Carol Arens

Publisher: Harlequin Historical

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

In this sweet historical romance, a British noble’s reluctant American bride discovers that their match is more than perfect.  
 
England, 1889. Though she stands to inherit her grandfather’s fortune, Clementine Maccoish prefers her work as a schoolteacher to the gaiety of high society. But when her pretty cousin runs off with a charlatan, it falls to Clementine to fulfill her grandfather’s wish and marry into English nobility. Loyal to a fault, she agrees to leave California for dreary England, where she will marry a man she’s never met. 
 
On a sleepless night in London, Clementine is drawn to a nearby garden by the sound of a fountain—only to rescues a handsome stranger from drowning in it. She’s stunned to discover the man is none other than the Earl of Fencroft—the man she’s conveniently betrothed to!  
 
The Earl has a reputation for being a man of mystery, and he is less than forthcoming about what led to his strange and perilous predicament. Intrigued by his secrets, Clementine wishes to find out the truth before she walks down the aisle to wed him!
Available since: 07/01/2019.
Print length: 369 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • At Love's Command (Hanger's Horsemen Book #1) - cover

    At Love's Command (Hanger's...

    Karen Witemeyer

    • 1
    • 20
    • 0
    Haunted by the horrors of war, ex-cavalry officer Matthew Hanger leads a band of mercenaries known as Hanger's Horsemen who have become legends in 1890s Texas. They defend the innocent and obtain justice for the oppressed. But when a rustler's bullet leaves one of them at death's door, they're the ones in need of saving. 
     
    Dr. Josephine Burkett is used to men taking one look at her skirts and discounting her medical skills. What she's not used to is having a man change his mind in a heartbeat and offer to assist her in surgery. Matthew Hanger's dedication to his friend during recovery earns Josephine's respect, and when she hears of her brother's abduction, he becomes her only hope for rescue. 
     
    Matt has stared down ruthless outlaws, betrayal, and injury, but when a bossy lady doctor crawls under his skin, his heart is tempted to surrender. And when she is caught in the crossfire, he may have to sacrifice everything--even his team--to save her.
    Show book
  • Runaway Bride (With This Ring? Collection) - A Kincaid Brides and Trouble in Texas Novella - cover

    Runaway Bride (With This Ring?...

    Mary Connealy

    • 1
    • 8
    • 0
    1870s TexasBig John Conroy is a Texas Ranger asked by a friend to assist Carrie. He catches up to Carrie and her brother Isaac and races away from a dangerous man who will stop at nothing to make the beautiful young woman his wife. Soon Big John's feelings for Carrie turn to more than simply protective, and Carrie finally feels that she's in the presence of a man she can respect--something she's never known. Fans of Mary's The Kincaid Brides and Trouble in Texas series will enjoy catching up with those characters.
    Show book
  • No Way Up (The Cimarron Legacy Book #1) - cover

    No Way Up (The Cimarron Legacy...

    Mary Connealy

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    New Western Romance Series from Bestselling Author Mary ConnealyWhen Cimarron ranch patriarch Chance Boden is caught in an avalanche, the quick actions of hired hand Heath Kincaid save him. Badly injured, Chance demands that his will be read and its conditions be enforced immediately. Without anyone else to serve as a witness, Heath is pressed into reading the will. If Justin, Sadie, and Cole Boden don't live and work at home for the entire year, the ranch will go to their low-down cousin Mike. Then Heath discovers the avalanche was a murder attempt, and more danger might follow. Deeply involved with the family, Heath's desire to protect Sadie goes far beyond friendship. The danger keeps them close together, and their feelings grow until being apart is the last thing on their minds.
    Show book
  • Under a Summer Sky (Follow Your Heart) - A Savannah Romance - cover

    Under a Summer Sky (Follow Your...

    Melody Carlson

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    High school art teacher Nicole Anderson is looking forward to a relaxing summer in Savannah, house-sitting and managing an art gallery for a family friend. The house is luxurious in a way that only old money could make it, and the gallery promises interesting days in a gorgeous setting. Yet it isn't long before her ideal summer turns into more than she bargained for: a snooty gallery employee who's determined to force her out, a displaced adolescent roosting in the attic, and two of Nicole's close childhood friends--who also happen to be brothers--vying for her attention.With a backdrop of a beautiful historical city, incredible architecture, and even an alleged ghost or two, combined with the opportunity for romance . . . anything can happen!Bestselling and award-winning author Melody Carlson invites readers to spend the summer surrounded by beauty and tantalizing possibilities for the future.
    Show book
  • All Summer Long (Follow Your Heart) - A San Francisco Romance - cover

    All Summer Long (Follow Your...

    Melody Carlson

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Tia Gets a Second Chance at Love When an Old Crush Suddenly ReappearsTia D'Amico is thrilled to move to San Francisco to help her aunt transform an old luxury yacht into an upscale floating restaurant. What's not to love? Sunset dinner cruises, upscale wedding receptions--the possibilities are endless and far more appetizing than staying in a monotonous job in her Podunk hometown. Besides, some of her best memories are tied to San Francisco--especially the memory of Leo Parker, her crush from a long-ago sailing camp.When the self same Leo Parker turns out to be the yacht's captain, Tia is floating on air. But will it all come crashing down around her when she discovers his heart belongs to someone else?Get ready for a romantic summer in San Francisco, where the future glistens brighter than the bay at sunset.
    Show book
  • With You Always (Orphan Train Book #1) - cover

    With You Always (Orphan Train...

    Jody Hedlund

    • 2
    • 13
    • 0
    A Riveting Look at the Orphan Train from Historical Novelist Jody HedlundWhen a financial crisis in 1850s New York leaves three orphaned sisters nearly destitute, the oldest, Elise Neumann, knows she must take action. She's had experience as a seamstress, and the New York Children's Aid Society has established a special service: placing out seamstresses and trade girls. Even though Elise doesn't want to leave her sisters for a job in Illinois, she realizes this may be their last chance. The son of one of New York City's wealthiest entrepreneurs, Thornton Quincy faces a dilemma. His father is dying, and in order to decide which of his sons will inherit everything, he is requiring them to do two things in six months: build a sustainable town along the Illinois Central Railroad, and get married. Thornton is tired of standing in his twin brother's shadow and is determined to win his father's challenge. He doesn't plan on meeting a feisty young woman on his way west, though.
    Show book