Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
After She Falls - cover

After She Falls

Carmen Schober

Publisher: Bethany House Publishers

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

"Schober delivers a knockout debut. After She Falls is refreshingly unique and well-written. While the journey of faith and healing is set against the backdrop of the MMA, Schober's story world and characterization are vivid and evocative."--RACHEL HAUCK, New York Times bestselling author 
 
She's always had that fire in her. She just needs to find it again. 
 
Strong-willed Adri Rivera nearly achieved her goal of being a professional mixed martial artist, but then she fell in love with a man who knocked all the fight out of her. When their abusive, tumultuous relationship finally comes to a head, Adri flees with their young daughter to her small hometown in the mountains of Pennsylvania. There, she must face the people she left behind and put her broken life back together again.  
 
A hardened Max Lyons can't believe Adri is back in town after abruptly cutting him and everyone else off years ago. Despite the distance that grew between them, he feels compelled to help her regain her independence and offers her a job at his gym. But regaining each other's trust is another matter, made even more complicated by the lingering spark between them. As Adri dares to pursue her dream again, she trains for a big tournament with Max's help, but they'll both have to confront their own doubts in order to rise victorious. 
 
"Anyone who has watched a sports movie knows that the underdog will prevail, romance readers know that love wins, and Christian fiction readers know that God is bigger than any problem; Schober's debut novel is unique for being blend of the three."--LIBRARY JOURNAL

Other books that might interest you

  • The Destiny Series Books One to Five - Rosie and Ruby Anna Tilly Grace and Destiny - cover

    The Destiny Series Books One to...

    Patricia Dixon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The heartwarming, complete five-book series about love, family, romance, and friendship, from the bestselling author of The Other Woman. 
     
    Book 1: Rosie and Ruby 
     
    Working-class Ruby and middle-class Rosie are cousins with a bond forged in childhood—and mothers who aren’t quite the best. But can Rosie and Ruby’s bond survive through time and hardship? And in Ruby’s hour of need, will Rosie keep her promise and come to her rescue? 
     
    Previously published as Three Mothers. 
     
    Book 2: Anna 
     
    The unremarkable rock of her family, Anna is content with her life until she discovers that Matthew, her husband of twenty-two years, is having an affair. But can Anna find peace and learn to love again? 
     
    Previously published as À Bientôt. 
     
    Book 3: Tilly 
     
    Matilda “Tilly” Parker is flying to France for her dream wedding. Beneath a sweltering summer sun, two clans, a naughty dog, a gaggle of relatives, and friends gather in the Loire. But between an unexpected guest from hell and Tilly meeting another man, her wedding plans are about to go up in smoke . . . 
     
    Previously published as A Perfect Summer Wedding. 
     
    Book 4: Grace 
     
    Singleton Grace loves Christmas and having all her family with her on the day. But this year things will be different. One by one, each of her three children announce that they have other plans for the holidays, leaving Grace home alone with a dilemma. Should she put on a brave face or admit she is hurt? 
     
    Previously published as The Christmas Cottage. 
     
    Book 5: Destiny 
     
    In this collection of short stories, we make a return trip to the Loire, catching up with old friends and finding out what life has had in store for Anna and Daniel, Grace and Max, and Ruby and Rosie. 
     
    Previously published as Return Journeys. 
     
    Be prepared to laugh and cry as you devour the bestselling Destiny series. The perfect read for fans of authors like Amanda Prowse and Diane Chamberlain.
    Show book
  • The Queen Saves The King - cover

    The Queen Saves The King

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    When Queen Victoria is called upon to arrange a marriage for the dashing King Alexius of Vultarnia to save him and his country from the predatory Russians, the adventurous and beautiful Pythia takes the place of her cousin, Princess Erina, and heads for the small Balkan country in a British Battleship.
    Princess Erina has just fallen in love with a good-looking Peruvian and Pythia could not allow her happiness to be torn from her for cold political strategy.
    On her arrival in Vultarnia she receives a warm reception and she is determined to win the hearts of her new subjects and the heart of their cosmopolitan worldly King. 
    The King is surprised and impressed by his new wife and sees how much he could learn from her. But a Russian plot threatens to throw this popular new marriage into jeopardy and Pythia must think quickly in order to save the King and the beautiful country of Vultarnia.
    Will King Alexius fall in love with Pythia or remain attached to his glamorous and seductive Russian mistress?
     Will Pythia be able to stop a sinister plot to capture the King before it is too late? 
    And will the King discover Pythia's true identity and that she is not Royal? 
    Find out in 'The Queen Saves the King', an exciting and moving romance from the incomparable Barbara Cartland.
    Show book
  • The Workhouse Children - A heartwarming saga - cover

    The Workhouse Children - A...

    Lindsey Hutchinson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Tears and tribulations, laughs and heartbreak, from an exciting new talent. Perfect for the fans of Jo Cox and Lyn Andrews. 
     
    Cara Flowers' mother disappeared when she was too young to realise, and when her grandmother dies she leaves not only an enormous fortune, but also a huge responsibility – she wants Cara to find their estranged family. 
     
    Her quest leads her to the doors of the looming Bilston workhouse where children are torn away from their families to toil for others. Shocked by the appalling conditions, Cara vows to find a way to shut down the building and rescue its residents. And then she discovers a link between the workhouse and her missing mother... 
     
    Can Cara overcome her past and save these children from their fate? 
     
    What people are saying about THE WORKHOUSE CHILDREN: 
     
    'A truly beautiful read, well done to the author for giving me such enjoyment' 
     
    'A very poignant, feel good novel' 
     
    'I laughed, cried and gasped, such a gripping story line' 
     
    'What an amazing story start to finish'
    Show book
  • A Light on the Hill (Cities of Refuge Book #1) - cover

    A Light on the Hill (Cities of...

    Connilyn Cossette

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    Seven years ago, Moriyah was taken captive in Jericho and branded with the mark of the Canaanite gods. Now the Israelites are experiencing peace in their new land, but Moriyah has yet to find her own peace. Because of the shameful mark on her face, she hides behind her veil at all times and the disdain of the townspeople keeps her from socializing. And marriage prospects were out of the question . . . until now.Her father has found someone to marry her, and she hopes to use her love of cooking to impress the man and his motherless sons. But when things go horribly wrong, Moriyah is forced to flee. Seeking safety at one of the newly-established Levitical cities of refuge, she is wildly unprepared for the dangers she will face, and the enemies--and unexpected allies--she will encounter on her way.
    Show book
  • The Forgotten Life of Arthur Pettinger - absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction - cover

    The Forgotten Life of Arthur...

    Suzanne Fortin

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    'This story has great depths of emotion, highs and lows, and I found it utterly gripping!' Christina Courtenay
     
    'A deeply moving story of love in all its forms – I adored it' Mandy Baggot
     
    The secrets of the past won't remain hidden forever...
     
    Arthur Pettinger's memory isn't what it used to be. He can't always remember the names of his grandchildren, where he lives or which way round his slippers go. He does remember Maryse though, a woman he hasn't seen for decades, but whose face he will never forget.
     
    When Arthur's granddaughter, Maddy, moves in along with her daughter Esther, it's her first step towards pulling her life back together. But when Esther makes a video with Arthur, the hunt for the mysterious Maryse goes viral.
     
    There's only one person who can help Maddy track down this woman – the one that got away, Joe. Their quest takes them to France, and into the heart of the French Resistance.
     
    When the only way to move forwards is to look back, will this family finally be able to?
     
    Perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Lucinda Riley, Karen Swan and Lorna Cook
     
    What readers are saying about The Forgotten Life of Arthur Pettinger:
     
    'Five stars' Poppy Alexander
     
    'Fantastic read. I have been completely unable to put this one down. I cannot wait to read more by this author' NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'This is a beautiful account that stops you dead in your tracks' NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'This book is the love story to end all love stories ... I was hooked by the end of the first chapter and I didn't want to put this book down' NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'This book broke my heart in all the right places. OMG masterfully written ... I could not put this down. Loved everything about this book. Happiness, tears, it had it all' NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
     
    'What a read ... Beautifully written with the depth and warmth of true love. I could not put this book down. Exceptionally intriguing' NetGalley reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
    Show book
  • Love at The Ritz - cover

    Love at The Ritz

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    After her father the Earl of Cuttesdale suffers a riding injury, his lovely young daughter Lady Vilma accompanies him to Paris, where they are to stay at a friend's Rue St. Honoré home while he receives treatment from a Parisian expert. Because he is a proud man the Earl wants no one to know he is temporarily disabled – so they travel under one of their lesser-known names, calling themselves Colonel and Miss Crawshaw.
    To Vilma's astonishment the celebrated hotelier Cezar Ritz arrives at their door with a strange request – to borrow some of the house's chandeliers for the hotel. After agreeing to help him, Vilma soon finds herself at The Ritz, where she has an unpleasant encounter with an over-amorous French Comte – and is rescued by a dashing Englishman: the Marquis of Lynworth. 
    Assuming that Vilma is a lowly electrician's assistant, the Marquis is nevertheless taken with her – and soon he is escorting her around Paris, introducing her to all the sights, the restaurants and sophisticated society. And although the handsome Marquis has all London's Society ladies, not to mention the Cocottes of Paris, at his feet – and despite the fact that his mother has promised his hand in marriage to Princess Helgie of Whitenberg – he finds himself bewitched with Vilma. For her part, she too is deeply in love – but how can she tell him now that everything he knows about her is a lie?
    Show book