Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Harvest Poems - 1910–1960 - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

Harvest Poems - 1910–1960

Carl Sandburg

Publisher: Mariner Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The great American poet’s essential collection spanning fifty years of verse—with an introduction by Mark Van Doren. 
 
With major contributions in the realms of journalism, biography and children’s fiction, Carl Sandburg was a luminary of twentieth-century American literature. But he was first a foremost a poet who transformed the diversity of his experience into powerfully vivid and beloved verse. His many collections won numerous accolades, including two Pulitzer Prizes. 
 
This selection of Sandburg’s poems is culled from half a century of output and includes thirteen poems appearing in book form for the first time. As this collection so masterfully demonstrates, “[Sandburg’s poetry] is independent, honest, direct, lyric, and it endures, clamorous and muted, magical as life itself” (New York Times).
Available since: 10/20/2015.
Print length: 125 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Faith Machine (NHB Modern Plays) - cover

    The Faith Machine (NHB Modern...

    Alexi Kaye Campbell

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Travelling from America to Britain to a remote Greek island, The Faith Machine explores the relationship between faith and capitalism and asks fundamental questions about the true meaning of love.
    On a beautiful September morning in New York, Sophie forces Tom into a decision. The choice he makes, and the events of that day, will change their lives for ever.
    The Faith Machine premiered at the Royal Court Theatre, London, in August 2011.
    'an urgent play that has the courage to address big issues' Guardian
    'a welcome, brave and searching piece of drama.' Financial Times
    'blessed with a palpable generosity of spirit and many moments of sly humour' Telegraph
    Show book
  • Rapture - cover

    Rapture

    Professor Carol Ann Duffy DBE

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    'Carol Ann Duffy is the most humane and accessible poet of our time, and Rapture is essential reading for the broken-hearted of all ages' - Rose Tremain 
    The effortless virtuosity, directness, drama and humanity of Carol Ann Duffy's verse have made her our most admired and best-loved contemporary poet. Rapture, her seventh collection, is a book-length love-poem, and a moving act of personal testimony; but what sets these poems apart from other treatments of the subject is that Duffy refuses to simplify the contradictions of love, and read its transformations - infatuation, longing, passion, commitment, rancour, separation and grief - as simply redemptive or destructive.  
    Rapture is a map of real love, in all its churning complexity. Yet in showing us that a song can be made of even the most painful episodes in our lives, Duffy has accessed a new level of directness that sacrifices nothing in the way of subtlety of expression. These are poems that will find deep rhymes in the experience of most readers, and nowhere has Duffy more eloquently articulated her belief that poetry should speak for us all.
    Show book
  • The Cremation of Sam McGee - cover

    The Cremation of Sam McGee

    Robert W. Service

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    LibriVox volunteers bring you 7 different recordings of The Cremation of Sam McGee by Robert W. Service.
    Show book
  • Many Paths - cover

    Many Paths

    Bruce McEver

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This is a story of a successful businessman, Bruce McEver, the founder of Berkshire Capital and a global pioneer of investment banking, who is devastated by the sudden and unexpected death of his wife of thirty years, a beautiful and talented opera singer who shared that life with him and gave it meaning. The day following her death, Christmas morning, in a barn yard on the farm where he and his wife lived together, Bruce experiences a hierophany-a physical manifestation of the holy and sacred. Unbelieving its veracity, the revealing of his vision to his minister sets Bruce off on a journey spanning the world, Harvard Divinity School, Joseph Campbell lectures, summer poetry workshops, professorships, new loves and loves lost, health crises and new business.Many Paths is heartfelt, honest, unflinching, and charged on every page with humor and grace. It takes an under represented view of traditional autobiography, charting a full and unique life that weaves entrepreneurial, spiritual, intellectual, philanthropic and artistic paths together. In this way, Many Paths follows in the tradition of Augustine's Confessions, J.R. Moehringer's The Tender Bar, and Jack Welch's Jack: Straight from the Gut.
    Show book
  • But Not For Me - cover

    But Not For Me

    Keith Reddin

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Keith Reddin's examination of the early career of Richard Nixon. Set in a suite at the Beverly Hills Hotel, a paranoid Dick Nixon is an idealistic young congressman who is ambivalent about resorting to a monumentally underhanded “dirty trick”. This was orchestrated by Nixon's conniving campaign official Roy Day against his Democratic opponent, Congresswoman Helen Gahagan Douglas—the so-called 'Pink Lady'. Nixon's victory launches his career as a politician. A Goodman Theatre co-production.  An L.A. Theatre Works full cast performance featuring:  Timothy Carhart as Nixon Harry Groener as Melvyn Gary Houston as Roy Leslie Lyles as Helen David Shapiro as Stan  Directed by Michael Maggio. Recorded before a live audience at the DoubleTree Guest Suites, Chicago in October of 1998.
    Show book
  • St Georges Day - A Holiday in Verse - cover

    St Georges Day - A Holiday in Verse

    Robert Browning, John Keats,...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The United States has July 4th, Ireland St Patrick’s Day and France Bastille Day. 
    Most Nations celebrate a particular day as ‘theirs’. That day is when they turn to themselves; to reflect on the past, to revel in the present and to look forward to the future. 
    For England 23rd April is St George’s Day. 
    St George, a hero from bygone days, who slays Dragons and pursues other mythic deeds, is part of childhood.  But for modern times, for modern Nations, a greater purpose is needed. 
    For England St George is best now described as a principle.  A small Nation grown large and respected for its brainpower, brawn and ingenuity and fighting for beliefs, misguidedly or not, that others can’t or won’t. 
    Of course England’s role has changed many times over the centuries but perhaps its basic tenets and desires haven’t.  Fair Play. A role for everyone on equal terms. Democracy.  Tolerance. A safe haven for those oppressed.  England ‘expects’ and sometimes succeeds.
    Show book