Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
From Hero to Zero - The truth behind the ditching of DC-3 VH-EDC in Botany Bay - cover

From Hero to Zero - The truth behind the ditching of DC-3 VH-EDC in Botany Bay

Capt. Rod Lovell

Publisher: Vivid Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

On 24 April 1994, long before "Sully" became famous for ditching a plane into America's Hudson River, all 25 souls on board were saved when a pilot was forced to ditch a DC-3 aircraft into Australia's own Botany Bay after encountering problems just seconds after taking off from Sydney Airport.
 
The pilot, now retired Captain Rod Lovell, published a book detailing the truth behind the ditching and blowing the whistle on his treatment by the authorities which crushed him financially and destroyed his professional flying career. The controversial story highlights 25 years of frustration and persecution.
 
Lovell, who now lives in South Australia, had his licence suspended, losing his earning ability and suffered years of battling to fight the system and prove that the aircraft itself was a safety risk.
 
The very authorities who investigated the crash and suspended Lovell's licence were the same, or linked to those also responsible for giving the all clear for the aircraft he was piloting to be in the air.
 
"I effectively became the sacrificial lamb in a government cover-up to ensure blame was deflected away from those actually responsible for the safety of the passengers. Some years later the aircraft was proven to be unflyable." Lovell says.
 
In this book the author reveals the REAL reasons the aircraft would not fly on one engine.
 
2020 marks the 26th anniversary of the ditching of the plane just 46 seconds after engine failure on take-off.
 
Bureau of Air Safety Investigation (BASI) had 2 years.  
 
Sully had 208 seconds.  
 
Captain Rod Lovell had 46 seconds.

Other books that might interest you

  • Plan and Organize Your Life - Achieve your Goals by Creating Intentional Habits and Routines for Success - cover

    Plan and Organize Your Life -...

    Beatrice Naujalyte

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Design your days intentionally with this smart, inspiring guide from the creator of the Bliss Bean podcast and YouTube channel. This comprehensive and interactive “planning bible” is packed with proven advice on how to get organized, embrace simple habits, and work your way toward true self-improvement and personal development.   Beatrice Naujalyte introduces us to the four pillars of an intentional life: planning, organization, productivity, and routines. With these simple tools, you’ll be able to master everything from effective note taking to minimalist workspace organization.   This book is the ultimate guide to developing a planning system to effectively execute your daily, weekly, monthly, and yearly goals. Whether you have professional, personal, or creative planning to do, this book helps you accomplish your smallest and biggest goals by creating new habits and setting realistic expectations—with a system that works for you. Included are: · Organizational tips and prompts for your everyday success · Time and task management tools to help guide you · Productivity tips for your ultimate lifestyle change
    Show book
  • No Room at the Little Cornish Inn - a sweet and uplifting Christmas romance - cover

    No Room at the Little Cornish...

    Nancy Barone

    • 2
    • 8
    • 0
    There's magic in the Cornish air this Christmas... 
     
    When Rosie Anderson's boss suddenly assigns her to go incognito and save a tiny inn in Cornwall from being shut down, her dreams of a Christmas holiday with her son are shattered. And, for the life of her, Rosie has no idea why she's got to go.
     
    It's chaos from the start – after hours in the car, Rosie arrives at the inn to find that there are no rooms left. She isn't there for more than a minute before she's butting heads with the manager, Irishman Mitchell Fitzpatrick. He seems to dislike her on sight, so it's confusing that he seems to get on so well with Danny... But if he's as terrible as his reputation, Rosie will have to be the one to fire him.
     
    This really isn't the Christmas Rosie was dreaming of. But maybe, just maybe, it could be a whole lot more...
     
    A sweet and uplifting Christmas romance, No Room at the Little Cornish Inn is perfect for fans of Philippa Ashley, Holly Martin and Jenny Hale.
     
    Praise for Nancy Barone: 
     
    'I thoroughly enjoyed this utterly lovely story. Touching, heartwarming and a joy to read' Holly Martin on New Hope for the Little Cornish Farmhouse
     
    'Nothing like the magic of Cornwall!' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  NetGalley reviewer 
     
    'A sweet and delightful Christmas tale' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  NetGalley reviewer
     
    'All the makings of a classic Hallmark Christmas movie!' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  NetGalley reviewer
    Show book
  • Frostgrave: Dark Alchemy - cover

    Frostgrave: Dark Alchemy

    Joseph A. McCullough

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Dark Alchemy is an ebook only mini-expansion for Frostgrave that includes a three-scenario campaign which can be played by either solo by one player or by two players working co-operatively. It also includes an expanded potions table, with numerous new magical elixirs, as well as new rules for the buying, selling, and creation of potions.
    Show book
  • Magical Cross Stitch - Over 25 Enchanting Fantasy Designs - cover

    Magical Cross Stitch - Over 25...

    Charles The Editors of David &

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Become a stitching wizard with a collection of designs featuring your favorite fantastical creatures! 
     
    This fantastic cross stitch collection features a range of designs including the Celtic fairy queen, Chinese dragons, beautiful mermaids, and a majestic unicorn. Glittering metallic threads and gleaming beads are incorporated into many of the designs for a truly magical finish. 
     
    The projects range from full-sized pictures to cushions, greeting cards, sachets and bags, and quick-to-stitch gifts and accessories. It also features easy-to-follow color charts and complete step-by-step project making-up instructions. 
     
    Includes designs from: Claire Crompton * Joan Elliott * Joanne Sanderson * Ursula Michael * Lesley Teare * Carol Thornton
    Show book
  • The Knotting & Braiding Bible - The Complete Guide to Creative Knotting including Kumihimo Macramé and Plaiting - cover

    The Knotting & Braiding Bible -...

    Dorothy Wood

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The most comprehensive guide to knotting and braiding techniques, with hundreds of illustrations for making jewelry, accessories, and decorative items. 
     
    Ideal for everyone from experienced makers and young people making their first friendship bracelet, this guide from bestselling author Dorothy Wood shows you how to master hundreds of knotting and braiding techniques to create stunning jewelry, accessories, and home decorations. 
     
    Techniques cover kumihimo (braiding), plaiting, knotting (including macrame), and fusion, as well as adding beads, using different cords/wire, and attaching findings. 
     
    Easy to follow step-by-step instruction and photography will help you to learn each of the different techniques—and you can choose from a selection of project ideas to refine your new skills to create beautiful items for yourself and others.
    Show book
  • The Watchers - A gripping debut horror novel for 2021 - cover

    The Watchers - A gripping debut...

    A.M. Shine

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    A spine-chilling Irish horror adventure set in the remote unknown forests of Galway, from debut Irish author A.M. Shine. 
     
    'A dark, claustrophobic read' – T. Kingfisher, author of Paladin's Grance
     
    You can't see them. But they can see you.
     
    This forest isn't charted on any map. Every car breaks down at its treeline. Mina's is no different. Left stranded, she is forced into the dark woodland only to find a woman shouting, urging Mina to run to a concrete bunker. As the door slams behind her, the building is besieged by screams.
     
    Mina finds herself in a room with a wall of glass, and an electric light that activates at nightfall, when the Watchers come above ground. These creatures emerge to observe their captive humans and terrible things happen to anyone who doesn't reach the bunker in time.
     
    Afraid and trapped among strangers, Mina is desperate for answers. Who are the Watchers and why are these creatures keeping them imprisoned, keen to watch their every move?
     
    Perfect for fans of Francine Toon, Paul Tremblay and Andrew Michael Hurley.
    Show book