Which book are you going to read today?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Lady Chapel - The Owen Archer Series - Book Two - cover

The Lady Chapel - The Owen Archer Series - Book Two

Candace Robb

Publisher: Diversion Books

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

“A lovingly detailed background informs and animates the plot at every point.” —KIRKUS

Perfect for fans of both Ellis Peters and CJ Sansom, THE LADY CHAPEL is a vivid and immersive portrait of court intrigue and a testament to the power of the medieval guilds.
 
Summer in the year of our Lord 1365. On the night after the Corpus Christi procession, a man is brutally murdered on the steps of York Minster. The next morning his severed hand is found in a room at the York Tavern—a room hastily vacated by a fellow guild member who had quarreled with the victim. 

Archbishop Thoresby calls on Owen Archer to investigate. As Owen tracks the fleeing merchant, he uncovers a conspiracy involving a powerful company of traders, but his only witness is a young boy who has gone into hiding, and his only suspect is a mysterious cloaked woman. When Owen discovers a link between the traders and a powerful coterie in the royal court, he brings his apothecary wife Lucie into the race to find the boy before he is silenced forever by the murderers.

Other books that might interest you

  • Elizabeth Is Missing - A Novel - cover

    Elizabeth Is Missing - A Novel

    Emma Healey

    • 3
    • 28
    • 0
    HOW DO YOU SOLVE A MYSTERY WHEN YOU CAN'T REMEMBER THE CLUES? 
    In this darkly riveting debut novel—a sophisticated psychological mystery that is also an heartbreakingly honest meditation on memory, identity, and aging—an elderly woman descending into dementia embarks on a desperate quest to find the best friend she believes has disappeared, and her search for the truth will go back decades and have shattering consequences. 
    Maud, an aging grandmother, is slowly losing her memory—and her grip on everyday life. Yet she refuses to forget her best friend Elizabeth, whom she is convinced is missing and in terrible danger. 
    But no one will listen to Maud—not her frustrated daughter, Helen, not her caretakers, not the police, and especially not Elizabeth’s mercurial son, Peter. Armed with handwritten notes she leaves for herself and an overwhelming feeling that Elizabeth needs her help, Maud resolves to discover the truth and save her beloved friend. 
    This singular obsession forms a cornerstone of Maud’s rapidly dissolving present. But the clues she discovers seem only to lead her deeper into her past, to another unsolved disappearance: her sister, Sukey, who vanished shortly after World War II. 
    As vivid memories of a tragedy that occurred more fifty years ago come flooding back, Maud discovers new momentum in her search for her friend. Could the mystery of Sukey’s disappearance hold the key to finding Elizabeth?
    Show book
  • A Rustle of Silk - A new forensic mystery series set in Stuart England - cover

    A Rustle of Silk - A new...

    Alys Clare

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Introducing physician-sleuth Dr Gabriel Taverner in the first of an intriguing series of mysteries set in early 17th century Devon. 1603. Former ship's surgeon Gabriel Taverner is attempting to re-establish himself as a country physician in rural Devon. But it's not easy to gain the locals' trust, and a series of disturbing incidents, increasing in menace and intensity, convinces him that at least one person does not welcome his presence. Called out to examine a partially decomposed body found beside the river, Gabriel discovers that he has a personal connection to the dead man. Teaming up with Coroner Theophilus Davey to find out how the man died, Gabriel uncovers some darker aspects of the lucrative silk trade which operates from nearby Plymouth. The more he finds out, the more frighteningly apparent it becomes that the people closest to him have been keeping dangerous secrets.
    Show book
  • Deception in the Cotswolds - cover

    Deception in the Cotswolds

    Rebecca Tope

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In the wake of a series of unfortunate experiences house-sitting in the Cotswolds, Thea Osborne, accompanied by her spaniel Hepzibah, is perhaps over-optimistic about the English summertime and the possibilities of her latest assignment – house-sitting for transatlantic reptile breeder Harriet Young.  However the region’s bucolic charms prove to be more than deceptive, as Thea is thrust once more into the heart of a Cotswold mystery. 
    Despite the ease with which Thea’s new assignment in the secluded village of Cranham begins, she soon finds a dark side to the characters she encounters.  From the elderly Donny Davis to the enigmatic figure of Edwina, Thea begins to realise that Harriet Young’s beloved geckoes are not the only cold-blooded creatures at large in Cranham. 
    Family intrigue, murder and suicide combine to give Thea a decidedly challenging summer in the Heart of England . . .
    Show book
  • Music of the Distant Stars - cover

    Music of the Distant Stars

    Alys Clare

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The new 'Lassair' mystery from the author of the 'Hawkenlye' books - Very early one summer morning, Lassair slips out of her Fenland village on a deeply personal mission and discovers the body of a young woman, hidden where it has no place to be. The girl's identity is quickly discovered but, as she wonders who killed her and why, Lassair swiftly becomes mystified and frightened. Why did a sweet-natured seamstress have to die? Suspicion soon creeps uncomfortably close to home; then another body is found . . .
    Show book
  • The Pastor and the Private Eye - cover

    The Pastor and the Private Eye

    T.H. Pine

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “You have a right to remain silent…” the police officer directed at Pastor Vint Montrose as he bundled him into the back of the patrol car. Faced with a rape/murder charge he can’t get out from under and, with his small-town pastorate crumbling around him, things looked grim until a spunky, self-reliant private investigator from Philadelphia, named Cilla Stephenson, arrived at his door. He accepts her help and sets in motion a series of events that uncover secrets that shatter the once-peaceful, rural community of Bronson, Pennsylvania.The Pastor and the Private Eye is a murder mystery that delves into the dark side of human nature. It tells a story of hate, suspicion and unspeakable acts, as well as one of trust, redemption … and love. It examines the lengths to which people will go to hide the truth and the resourcefulness and determination others will employ to uncover it. It also explodes the myth that rural communities lay beyond the reach of the heinous horrors of the big city. Through it all, two people discover that they are never beyond the love of God. Mix equal parts of mystery, dark doings, criminal investigation and forensic medicine with a dash of romance and, above all, faith and you have the formula for The Pastor and the Private Eye.
    Show book
  • Task Lyst - cover

    Task Lyst

    Scott Hylbert

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Techno-Thriller:  Set in the heart of Silicon Valley, this thrilling story illustrates the endless possibilities that technology has in making our lives easier, but as we invite strangers in so do we invite danger.
    
    
    
     
    Convincing:  Apps are commonplace in many different facets of our every day life and everyone will relate to the fears behind these remote transactions.
    
    
    
     
    Suspenseful:  Filled with action and intrigue, this book will leave you at the edge of your seat.
    Show book