Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Is There Still Sex in the City? - cover

Is There Still Sex in the City?

Candace Bushnell

Publisher: Grove Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Twenty years after her sharp, seminal first book Sex and the City reshaped the landscape of pop culture and dating with its fly on the wall look at the mating rituals of the Manhattan elite, the trailblazing Candace Bushnell delivers a new book on the wilds and lows of sex and dating after fifty. 
 
Set between the Upper East Side of Manhattan and a country enclave known as The Village, Is There Still Sex in the City? follows a cohort of female friends—Sassy, Kitty, Queenie, Tilda Tia, Marilyn, and Candace—as they navigate the ever-modernizing phenomena of midlife dating and relationships. There’s “Cubbing,” in which a sensible older woman suddenly becomes the love interest of a much younger man, the “Mona Lisa” Treatment—a vaginal restorative surgery often recommended to middle aged women, and what it’s really like to go on Tinder dates as a fifty-something divorcee. From the high highs (My New Boyfriend or MNBs) to the low lows (Middle Age Madness, or MAM cycles), Bushnell illustrates with humor and acuity today’s relationship landscape and the types that roam it.  
 
Drawing from her own experience, in Is There Still Sex in the City? Bushnell spins a smart, lively satirical story of love and life from all angles—marriage and children, divorce and bereavement, as well as the very real pressures on women to maintain their youth and have it all.  This is an indispensable companion to one of the most revolutionary dating books of the twentieth century from one of our most important social commentators.

Other books that might interest you

  • Brutus - Caesar's Assassin - cover

    Brutus - Caesar's Assassin

    Kirsty Corrigan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The extraordinary life of the “noblest Roman of them all.”   Although Marcus Junius Brutus is one of the most famous, or infamous, conspirators of Rome and the ancient world, if not of all time, knowledge of this historical figure has principally been passed to the modern world through the literary medium of Shakespeare’s tragedy, Julius Caesar. Furthermore, any interest in Brutus has tended to focus only on events surrounding his most legendary act: Caesar’s murder. This biography instead considers Brutus in his historical context, gathering details from ancient evidence and piecing together, as much as possible, his whole life.   While his actions played a pivotal role in Roman history, ultimately, although completely unintentionally, bringing about the downfall of the Roman republic, Brutus has often been neglected. Indeed, he has rarely been considered on his own merits, instead featuring as part of the biographies and studies of other leading political figures of the time, especially those of Julius Caesar, Cicero, and Octavian. As the first dedicated biography in over thirty years, this full and balanced reconsideration of this significant Roman republican is long overdue.  
    Show book
  • Coroner - cover

    Coroner

    Thomas T. Noguchi, Joseph DiMona

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    America’s most controversial medical examiner explores the unanswered questions surrounding the deaths of Marilyn Monroe, Robert F. Kennedy, Sharon Tate, Janis Joplin, William Holden, Natalie Wood, John Belushi, and many of his other important casesNow, for the first time, Dr. Noguchi recounts his colorful and stormy career, explains his innovative techniques, and reveals the full story behind his most fascinating investigations.In Coroner, Dr. Noguchi sheds new light on his most controversial cases—controversies that persist even today:—How did Natalie Wood spend the last terrifying moments of her life?—Did Marilyn Monroe commit suicide or were the drugs that killed her injected into her body by someone else?—Did Sirhan Sirhan or another gunman fire the bullet that killed Robert Kennedy?—How could the knives used in the murder of Sharon Tate be identified and traced to the Manson gang if they were never found?—What were the real circumstances behind the drug-related death of Janis Joplin?—Were Patty Hearst’s kidnappers victims of police brutality or of their own revolutionary zeal?—How and why did William Holden die?—Was John Belushi murdered?These are just some of the questions answered in this powerful, gutsy book written by the real-life “Quincy,” with co-author Joseph DiMona.
    Show book
  • Introducing Stephen Hawking - A Graphic Guide - cover

    Introducing Stephen Hawking - A...

    J.P. McEvoy

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    'An ideal introduction [to Stephen Hawking]' - Independent
    
    
    'Astonishingly comprehensive - clearer than Hawking himself' - Focus
    
    
    Stephen Hawking was a world-famous physicist with a cameo in The Simpsons on his CV, but outside of his academic field his work was little understood. To the public he was a tragic figure - a brilliant scientist and author of the 9 million-copy-selling A Brief History of Time, and yet spent the majority of his life confined to a wheelchair and almost completely paralysed.
    
    Hawking's major contribution to science was to integrate the two great theories of 20th-century physics: Einstein's General Theory of Relativity and Quantum Mechanics.
    
    
    J.P. McEvoy and Oscar Zarate's brilliant graphic guide explores Hawking's life, the evolution of his work from his days as a student, and his breathtaking discoveries about where these fundamental laws break down or overlap, such as on the edge of a Black Hole or at the origin of the Universe itself.
    Show book
  • Nevertheless She Wore It - 50 Iconic Fashion Moments - cover

    Nevertheless She Wore It - 50...

    Ann Shen

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    From the creator of the bestselling Bad Girls Throughout History!Celebrated illustrator and author Ann Shen shares her striking study of history's most iconic styles, and the women who changed the world while wearing them.From the revolutionary bikini to the presidential pantsuit, this book explores 50 fashions through bold paintings and insightful anecdotes that empower readers to make their own fashion statements.• Demonstrates the power of fashion as a political and cultural tool for making change• Brilliantly illustrated with Ann's signature art style• Filled with radical clothing choices that defined their timeLooks include the Flapper Dress, the unofficial outfit of women's independence in the 1920s; the Afro, worn as a symbol of black beauty, power, and pride; the Cone Bra, donned by Madonna in her 1989 power anthem "Express Yourself"; and the Dissent Collar, Ruth Bader Ginsburg's famous signifier for when she disagrees with the majority.With stunning and vibrant illustrations, this is a treasure for anyone who wants to defy style norms and rewrite the rules. • An insightful look at the intersection of fashion statements and historical female power• Perfect for fans of Ann Shen, as well as anyone who loves fashion, feminism, and political consciousness• You'll love this book if you love books like Women In Science: 50 Fearless Pioneers Who Changed The World by Rachel Ignotofsky; Strong Is the New Pretty: A Celebration Of Girls Being Themselves by Kate T. Parker; and Women Who Dared: 52 Stories Of Fearless Daredevils, Adventurers, And Rebels by Linda Skeers.
    Show book
  • Mi casco por almohada - cover

    Mi casco por almohada

    Robert Leckie

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Las memorias de Robert Leckie constituyen uno de los más apasionantes relatos de un testigo directo de la Segunda Guerra Mundial.En enero de 1942, poco después del ataque japonés a Pearl Harbor, se alistó en el cuerpo de marines de los Estados Unidos. Aquí se narra su odisea, desde el durísimo y apresurado entrenamiento en Carolina del Sur hasta las feroces batallas de la campaña del Pacífico.
    Sin escatimar detalle de las atrocidades y sacrificios de la guerra, retrata en toda la crudeza de qué madera están hechos los verdaderos soldados, cómo luchan y a menudo mueren en defensa de su país.
    Tom Hanks, Steven Spielberg y Gary Goetzman, creadores de la magistral serie Hermanos de sangre, han adoptado material de esta obra para la exitosa miniserie épica de HBO The Pacific, en la que James Badge Dale interpreta a Robert Leckie.
    Show book
  • My Scientology Story - The True Story of an Ex-Scientologist - cover

    My Scientology Story - The True...

    Diana Dudas

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    One of the most commonly asked questions about Scientology is this: how can a person of sound mind believe any of it and fall into this very amateurish-looking trap? Why does it seem so valuable that people sacrifice all their energy, time and money for this system, which seems suspicious even at first glance? And how can such a seemingly primitive scam still exist after almost 70 years?
     
    The initial question is answered by the shocking story of Diana Dudas. 
     
    The book was first published on March 21, 2019 in Hungary and judging from the responses received so far, it rapidly became a readers’ favourite and a source of inspiration to many. In addition to a heart-wrenching story, which is presented in gripping detail, the book also contains a detailed and precise description of the everyday life of a Scientologist. As one reviewer put it: "her radiant, brave and iron-willed personality and her unique storytelling style infuse the entire novel and make it a real page-turner".
     
    The reader will have a better understanding of the whys and wherefores by following her along her path in Scientology.This book is recommended to anyone who would like to better understand the inner workings of this so-called church. Especially those people who want to takea stand against this sophisticated, well-established system that is dripping with malice. There is no great arsenal of effective weapons to fight it, but one of them is knowledge, through gaining a thorough understanding of the monster one faces.
    Show book