Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Letters from the Dead - cover

Letters from the Dead

Campbell Armstrong

Publisher: Open Road Media Mystery & Thriller

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

“A satisfying dank and creepy chiller” about hauntings and horror in a broken-down beach house on the Virginia shore (Kirkus Reviews). A battered Ouija board promises entertainment for the renters of a crumbling seaside cottage a few miles outside Cochrane Crossing. But when they play, thirteen-year-olds Lindy and Tommy receive sinister messages about someone named “Roscoe”—and their mothers encounter even more disturbing visions in the tiny, gloomy town nearby.   Something terrible happened here long ago, and one of the vacationers is about to be drawn slowly into the grip of possession by a frightening force that may prevent them all from ever returning home . . .   From an international bestselling author of horror and suspense novels, including such titles as Concert of Ghosts and the Frank Pagan series, as well as the riveting personal memoir I Hope You Have a Good Life, this is a tale of the macabre for fans of Dean Koontz and Stephen King or anyone who enjoys a spooky occult thriller.  

Other books that might interest you

  • Belladonna Dreams - Dreams and Reality #9 - cover

    Belladonna Dreams - Dreams and...

    Hadena James

    • 2
    • 6
    • 0
    Poisoning is the preference of most female serial killers and Sioux Falls, South Dakota has a poisoner on their hands.  The killer’s choice, belladonna, a rare flower in the United States.  The use of it is nearly unheard of.
    
     
    Then a chance encounter; a hand gesture, the laugh, Aislinn Cain knows it’s him.  Her old foe has returned to torment her.  The rest of the SCTU is worried her brain tumor has returned, because it’s impossible.
    
     
    As Aislinn falls further down the rabbit hole, chasing phantoms, the team tries to pull it together to find their poisoner.  However, Aislinn isn’t the only one chasing phantoms, as belladonna brings back nightmares for another member of the SCTU and will leave them questioning their decision to work with serial killers.  Then someone attacks the VCU, further hindering the investigation. 
    
     
    Amid the mass deaths, the SCTU must decide between tacking down the person poisoning bar patrons in South Dakota or getting revenge for their fallen serial killer hunters.  Finding this killer will bring more questions than answers, it will open old wounds, and force everyone to rethink what they know about serial killers
    Show book
  • The Phantom of the Opera - cover

    The Phantom of the Opera

    Gaston Leroux

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    Based on the translation by Alexander Teixeira de Mattos. With an Introduction by David Stuart Davies.
     
     
    ‘… the shadow turned round; and I saw a terrible death’s-head, which darted a look at me from a pair of scorching eyes. I felt as if I were face to face with Satan…’
     
     
    Erik, the Phantom of the Paris Opera House, is one of the great icons of horror literature. This tormented and disfigured creature has made his home in the labyrinthine cellars of this opulent building where he can indulge in his great passion for music, which is a substitute for the love and emotion denied him because of his ghastly appearance.
     
     
    It is in the Opera House that he encounters Christine Daaé whom he trains in secret to become a great singer. Erik’s passionate obsession with a beautiful woman beyond his reach is doomed and leads to the dramatic tragic finale.
     
     
    Gaston Leroux’s novel is a marvellous blend of detective story, romance and spine-tingling terror which has fascinated readers ever since the work was first published.
    Show book
  • Butchered Dreams - Dreams and Reality #6 - cover

    Butchered Dreams - Dreams and...

    Hadena James

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    The Butcher is on a rampage. He's working his way across the state of Missouri, in a reign of terror, righting the wrongs he believes have been committed against his family and himself. In his wake, he leaves a blood bath; a string of mutilated victims that seem to have no pattern.  
     
    With The Butcher, it's personal. Both Aislinn Cain and Malachi Blake have ties to this monster. As a result, neither the SCTU nor the VCU can assist in his capture and the job is given to two untrained FBI agents. When one is murdered, Cain and Blake are forced to join the hunt, as consultants.  
     
    Both of them will have to battle their own demons to catch The Butcher. Demons that will show exactly how much monster they each have inside themselves. A truth that neither of them are ready to face.
    Show book
  • A Courtroom of Ashes - cover

    A Courtroom of Ashes

    C.S. Wilde

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    I always wondered if I'd go to Hell for defending murderers. Now I'll know. 
     
    There's a ghost on the other side of my mirror. John, the incredibly charming and incredibly dead man, says my mirror is a window to Purgatory. Which would be fine, if Mr. Eyecandy were the only ghost around. 
     
    See, vicious spirits roam free in the land of the dead, and they're after me. Of course. It's only fitting after all the things I've done. 
     
    When an evil ghost drags my soul through the mirror and into the great beyond, I will need all the help I can get to return to my body. But Purgatory is a dangerous place for a lawyer with a pitch-black past. 
     
    Karma can be a real bitch. And today, it's coming for me.  
     
    _________________________________ 
     
    ★★★★★ "AMAZING!" - Amazon top 100 reviewer 
    ★★★★★ "A fantastic, roller-coaster, mind-bending adventure." The Bookmuse - Goodreads top 100 reviewer 
    ★★★★★ "Santana is one of the most interesting characters I've read in recent memory: complex, strong, capable of both good and terrible things." Nicholas Conley, author of Pale Highway
    Show book
  • Runaway Vampire - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Runaway Vampire - An Argeneau Novel

    Lynsay Sands

    • 4
    • 18
    • 0
    Buckle up—the argeneaus are back in a sexy, witty new novel from New York times bestselling author Lynsay Sands 
    Dante Notte has heard it said that love hurts. He just wasn’t expecting it to run him over in an RV. Still, a punctured lung and broken ribs are nothing compared to the full-body shock he feels whenever he’s near the vehicle’s driver, Mary Winslow. He needs to keep her safe from their pursuers while he rescues his brother. Most challenging of all, he needs to claim this smart, stubborn woman as his life mate. 
    The naked, injured, insanely gorgeous younger man who clambered into her RV insists they belong together. If Mary wasn’t feeling their incredible connection in every inch of her being, she wouldn’t believe it. But now that the men who took Dante’s twin are after her too, trusting her gut means risking her life for an immortal who’s the very definition of a perfect stranger.
    Show book
  • Battered Dreams - Dreams and Reality #8 - cover

    Battered Dreams - Dreams and...

    Hadena James

    • 1
    • 8
    • 0
    San Marcos, Texas.  A picture perfect American landscape.  Communities dominated by Friday Night Football, modest homes, and happy families.  Until the serenity of small town life is broken by one family’s discovery of bodies in an abandoned well. 
    Local police try to keep the discovery quiet; they seldom deal with murder and aren’t prepared when one of the bodies turns out to be a local high school boy.  The multiple murders drive home the sinister reality that they are no longer innocent of the crimes that plague large cities.  
    Based on the skill involved, the Serial Crimes Tracking Unit realizes that this is not the killer’s first time.  As the SCTU digs deep to discover the killer, they uncover more victims.  Anger and fear begin to cause panic in what was once a quiet community.  Aislinn Cain and the members of her team need to find the killer before the town implodes with terror and the citizens begin doling out their own brand of justice.
    Show book