Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Dams and Development in China - The Moral Economy of Water and Power - cover

Dams and Development in China - The Moral Economy of Water and Power

Bryan Tilt

Publisher: Columbia University Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

China is home to half of the world's large dams and adds dozens more each year. The benefits are considerable: dams deliver hydropower, provide reliable irrigation water, protect people and farmland against flooding, and produce hydroelectricity in a nation with a seeimingly insatiable appetite for energy. As hydropower responds to a larger share of energy demand, dams may also help to reduce the consumption of fossil fuels, welcome news in a country where air and water pollution have become dire and greenhouse gas emissions are the highest in the world. Yet the advantages of dams come at a high cost for river ecosystems and for the social and economic well-being of local people, who face displacement and farmland loss. This book examines the array of water-management decisions faced by Chinese leaders and their consequences for local communities. Focusing on the southwestern province of Yunnan—a major hub for hydropower development in China—which encompasses one of the world's most biodiverse temperate ecosystems and one of China's most ethnically and culturally rich regions, Bryan Tilt takes the reader from the halls of decision-making power in Beijing to Yunnan's rural villages. In the process, he examines the contrasting values of government agencies, hydropower corporations, NGOs, and local communities and explores how these values are linked to longstanding cultural norms about what is right, proper, and just. He also considers the various strategies these groups use to influence water-resource policy, including advocacy, petitioning, and public protest. Drawing on a decade of research, he offers his insights on whether the world's most populous nation will adopt greater transparency, increased scientific collaboration, and broader public participation as it continues to grow economically.

Other books that might interest you

  • Love Gone Wrong - Living Happily Ever After as Survivors of Abuse - cover

    Love Gone Wrong - Living Happily...

    Lynn Johnson, Jillian Adams,...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Market size:  1 in 3 women and 1 in 5 men have been sexually abused, and 1 in 5 women will be a victim of domestic violence
    Moves beyond the “Me Too” Movement to encourage next steps of healing
    Disarms the shame felt by victims as they realize their experience is stereotypical and they are not alone
    Inspires courage as victims hear stories of others who have navigated a hopeless situation and overcome
    Elevates community as an important avenue of transformation.  Each woman sought help as a result of witnessing their friend’s recovery.
    Backed by clinical insights from a professional psychologist which validate and support the content
    Show book
  • Global Mixed Race - cover

    Global Mixed Race

    Rebecca C. King-O'Riain, Stephen...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Patterns of migration and the forces of globalization have brought the issues of mixed race to the public in far more visible, far more dramatic ways than ever before. Global Mixed Race examines the contemporary experiences of people of mixed descent in nations around the world, moving beyond US borders to explore the dynamics of racial mixing and multiple descent in Zambia, Trinidad and Tobago, Mexico, Brazil, Kazakhstan, Germany, the United Kingdom, Canada, Okinawa, Australia, and New Zealand.  In particular, the volume’s editors ask: how have new global flows of ideas, goods, and people affected the lives and social placements of people of mixed descent?  Thirteen original chapters address the ways mixed-race individuals defy, bolster, speak, and live racial categorization, paying attention to the ways that these experiences help us think through how we see and engage with social differences. The contributors also highlight how mixed-race people can sometimes be used as emblems of multiculturalism, and how these identities are commodified within global capitalism while still considered by some as not pure or inauthentic. A strikingly original study, Global Mixed Race carefully and comprehensively considers the many different meanings of racial mixedness.
    Show book
  • Reprogram Your Weight - Stop Thinking about Food All the Time Regain Control of Your Eating and Lose the Weight Once and for All - cover

    Reprogram Your Weight - Stop...

    Erika Flint

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Are you struggling with your weight – tired of thinking about food all the time, and feel like you’re eating is out of control? In Reprogram Your Weight, award-winning hypnotist Erika Flint combines insightful and leading edge hypnosis techniques with client success stories of weight loss to help many lose the weight once and for all. She understands many people don’t know what to do to lose weight and often have a hard time consistently following through. Some people feel like there’s something deeper going on inside that’s keeping them from achieving their weight loss goal—Flint shows them how to bring these issues to the surface and combat them in a healthy, mindful manner. Within these pages lies the roadmap to a healthier, happier you!
    Show book
  • The Black Cabinet - The Untold Story of African Americans and Politics During the Age of Roosevelt - cover

    The Black Cabinet - The Untold...

    Jill Watts

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Watts’s The Black Cabinet is the first of its kind full-scale in-depth examination of Roosevelt’s Black Cabinet.The Black Cabinet traces an arc directly from Reconstruction to the Black Cabinet assembled for Theodore Roosevelt and subsequently disbanded by Taft and Wilson, past the New Deal era to the March on Washington and the Civil Rights Movement. It is a missing link in a continuous African American fight to be treated as equal citizensRoosevelt’s Black Cabinet was a diverse group made up of social scientists, legal minds, educators, politicos, and journalists who sought to get the black community’s needs on the table during the New Deal, a time when Black Americans were in even direr economic straits than whites.Because the Democratic Party of the day was so dependent on Southern white votes, Roosevelt never publicly acknowledged the Black Cabinet and only met personally with a tiny number of its members. Besides a red-baiting Senator, its name was never spoken aloud except in the black press, which has been underexploited as a source by historians. As a result Mary McLeod Bethune, a celebrity in her day, is the only one of these figures who has made it into the mainstream historical record; Watts has uncovered a rich story here.From assimilation and accommodation vs protest, #OwnVoices leadership vs working with white leadership, and down to the very basic question of whom the federal government is supposed to serve and protect, and what the unique history of and resulting challenges facing African Americans entitles them to, The Black Cabinet demonstrates that events that happened 75+ years ago share themes ripped from today’s headlines.Watts’s narrative synthesizes the story of the Black Cabinet, which at one time numbered over a hundred, into a character-driven story focusing in on five key figures, tracing them from their infancy in politics to their ascent into key powerful positions.For fans of The Warmth of Other Suns, The New Jim Crow, and The New Negro.
    Show book
  • Revolution from Within - A Book of Self-Esteem - cover

    Revolution from Within - A Book...

    Gloria Steinem

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “Without self-esteem, the only change is an exchange of masters; with it, there is no need for masters.” —Gloria Steinem  When trying to find books to give to “the countless brave and smart women I met who didn’t think of themselves as either brave or smart,” Gloria Steinem realized that books either supposed that external political change would cure everything or that internal change would. None linked internal and external change together in a seamless circle of cause and effect, effect and cause. She undertook to write such a book, and ended up transforming herself as well as others. The result of her external plus internal reflection is this bestselling and truly transforming book: part collection of personal stories from her own life and the lives of many others, part revolutionary guide to finding community and inspiration. Steinem finds role models in a very young and uncertain Gandhi as well as unlikely heroes from the streets to history. Revolution from Within addresses the core issues of self-authority and unjust external authority, and argues that the first is necessary to transform the second.
    Show book
  • Lost Powers - Reclaiming Our Inner Connection - cover

    Lost Powers - Reclaiming Our...

    J. Douglas Kenyon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Have we lost our way? Lost our psychic “sense of smell”? The conventional notion of the human psyche is that it is a product of our mass culture, and we are conditioned to see and understand only the stimulus that is provided to it. However, there is a deeper process at work, something coming from our innate ability to discern greater truth. Tapping into this subconscious truth-detector is key in determining whether we buy into the premises of the many mainstream “truths” presented to us in popular culture and popular science.In the quest to reestablish that universal connection, editor J. Douglas Kenyon has culled from the pages of Atlantis Rising® magazine this collection of 34 concise and well-illustrated articles by world-class philosophers and theoreticians who offer thought-provoking insights from the lost secrets of ancient and primordial wisdom.Featuring:Secrets of the Alchemists, by Joseph Robert JochmansThe Psi in CSI, by Barbara JasonCan We See into the Future?, by Robert M. SchochPsychokinesis, by Robert M. SchochThe Superhero Factor, by Len KastenDeathbed Visitations, by Michael TymnWar and Reincarnation, by John ChambersTime Travel Evidence, by Joseph Robert JochmansThe Case for Immortality, by Patrick Marsolek
    Show book