Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Jo - cover

Jo

Bryan Costales

Publisher: Fool Church Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Jo Bailey was a mystic and religious figure who, shortly before his death, founded the Church of Jo. Jo is a late 20th Century historical novel by award winning author Bryan Costales. The life and times of Jo Bailey is presented in the form of a sequence of letters, articles, news accounts, diaries, and so on, each told by someone who cared about, or hated, Jo. It is the combined nature of these narratives that provide a rich overview of the last part of the 20th Century and and of Jo Bailey's ability to foresee death, but never prevent it.
 
This book is a fiction in the guise of reality, a story about the last half of the 20th century, and about three solved mysteries.
Available since: 10/22/2014.

Other books that might interest you

  • In Thrall to the Enemy Commander - cover

    In Thrall to the Enemy Commander

    Greta Gilbert

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Cleopatra’s slave girland an enemy Roman soldier…Egyptian slave Wen-Nefer is wary of all men. But she can’t help but be captivated by handsome Titus, adviser to Julius Caesar, even though he is commanding and intolerant of bold women like her. Their affair is as all-consuming as it is forbidden. But is he a man who will go to any lengths to love her despite their boundaries…or a sworn enemy she must never trust?“Gilbert’s passion for ancient history imbues her tales with authenticity [and] immerses readers in a long-lost culture.” — RT Book Reviews on The Spaniard’s Innocent Maiden“Gilbert’s desert romance is a tale to prize … Definitely a must.” — RT Book Reviews on Enslaved by the Desert Trader
    Show book
  • The Butcher's Daughter - A Novel - cover

    The Butcher's Daughter - A Novel

    Victoria Glendinning

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In 1535, England is hardly a wellspring of gender equality; it is a grim and oppressive age where women—even the privileged few who can read and write—have little independence. In The Butcher’s Daughter, it is this milieu that mandates Agnes Peppin, daughter of a simple country butcher, to leave her family home in disgrace and live out her days cloistered behind the walls of the Shaftesbury Abbey. But with her great intellect, she becomes the assistant to the Abbess and as a result integrates herself into the unstable royal landscape of King Henry VIII.As Agnes grapples with the complex rules and hierarchies of her new life, King Henry VIII has proclaimed himself the new head of the Church. Religious houses are being formally subjugated and monasteries dissolved, and the great Abbey is no exception to the purge. The cosseted world in which Agnes has carved out for herself a sliver of liberty is shattered. Now, free at last to be the master of her own fate, she descends into a world she knows little about, using her wits and testing her moral convictions against her need to survive by any means necessary . . .The Butcher’s Daughter is the riveting story of a young woman facing head-on the obstacles carefully constructed against her sex. This dark and affecting novel by award-winning author Victoria Glendinning intricately depicts the lives of women in the sixteenth century in a world dominated by men, perfect for fans of Wolf Hall and Philippa Gregory.
    Show book
  • The Canyon - cover

    The Canyon

    Jack Warner Schaefer

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Deep in Cheyenne territory, years prior to the arrival of European settlers, a war hungry group of Cheyenne Indians meet and plan to attack a rival tribe. One young Cheyenne, Little Bear, refuses to fight. Little Bear has earned admiration for his courage and skill in hunting, but now, as a rite of passage into adulthood, he must spend two weeks alone in the wilds, eating only what nature provides. During this retreat, in the dark of night, he falls precipitously into a deep canyon. Is Little Bear tough enough to survive? An adventure story that unfolds with quiet intensity, The Canyon is a Jack Schaefer classic not to be missed. First published in 1953, The Canyon was one of Schaefer's personal favorites and is sure to be a favorite of anyone who enjoys Westerns.
    Show book
  • Lords of the Land - cover

    Lords of the Land

    Matt Braun

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Hank Laird had never laid claim to sainthood. Truth is, his enemies would be quick to swear that the man was the devil himself-a reputation Laird earned as one of the most hardscrabble men ever to grace the soil of South Texas. With grit, gold and gunpowder, he forged an empire out of chaos in the wake of the Civil War. But now the vultures are coming home to roost and it's up to Laird whether Santa Guerra ranchlands will be heaven or hell.
    Show book
  • The Half Wives - A Novel - cover

    The Half Wives - A Novel

    Stacia Pelletier

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “Part historical fiction, part heartbreaking romance, part bildungsroman, this book takes readers on a journey rich with detail and darkness” (Seattle Book Review).   Henry Plageman is a master secret-keeper. A former Lutheran minister, he lost his faith after losing his infant son, Jack, many years ago; his wife, Marilyn, remains consumed by grief. But Henry has another life—another woman and another child—unknown to Marilyn. His lover, Lucy, yearns for a man she can be with openly while their eight-year-old daughter, Blue, tries to make sense of her parents’ fractured lives  The Half Wives follows these interconnected characters through one momentous day, May 22, 1897, the sixteenth anniversary of Jack’s birth. Marilyn distracts herself with charity work. Henry needs to talk his way out of the police station, where he has spent the night for disorderly conduct. Lucy must rescue the intrepid Blue, who has fallen in a saltwater well. Before long, the four will be drawn to the same destination—the city cemetery on the outskirts of San Francisco—where the collision of lives and secrets leaves no one unaltered.  A Finalist for the Townsend Prize   “The developing San Francisco of the 1890s becomes a rich background for these three as they play out their messy, somber, intertwined fates.” —The New York Times Book Review   “A poignant, sometimes heart-rending, beautifully crafted, always gripping tale of loss and love, and the human need to try to set things right.” —Kevin Baker, author of The Big Crowd   “Pelletier’s writing is moving and enthralling . . . [She] keeps readers hooked right up to the book’s satisfying conclusion.” —Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • Casanova in Bohemia - A Novel - cover

    Casanova in Bohemia - A Novel

    Andrei Codrescu

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    An erotic, comedic, and compulsively readable historical novel depicting the beguiling Giacomo Casanova as he looks back on a life of love and ribald adventure In Count Waldstein’s far-flung Bohemian castle, an aging Casanova spends his days as a librarian cataloging the count’s extensive collection of books. Or at least that’s what he’s supposed to be doing. Ever the storyteller, Casanova instead dedicates himself to his own writing, for which the young servant Laura Brock serves as an endlessly fascinated audience. He recounts to her his greatest escapades—from romances in a Venetian convent to the seduction of an entire harem to the triumphant amassing (and subsequent loss) of a fortune in Paris. Enlivened by the French Revolution and the liberating ideas of the Enlightenment, Casanova’s latest exploits prove he still possesses an intellectual vigor and insatiable curiosity. Even old age can’t keep this legendary libertine—who corresponded with Voltaire, discussed flight with Benjamin Franklin, and whose life and writings inspired artists as diverse as Mozart, Flaubert, Stendhal, and Hesse—from causing trouble.   Rich with eighteenth-century European social, political, and religious history, Casanova in Bohemia is an energetic and erotic portrait of Western literature’s most beloved lothario, whose hedonism was matched by his creativity and wit.
    Show book