Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Islands in the Net - cover

Islands in the Net

Bruce Sterling

Publisher: Open Road Media Sci-Fi & Fantasy

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

In a near-future new age of corporate control, hacker mercenaries, and electronic terrorism, a public relations executive on the rise finds herself caught in the violent epicenter of a data war Two decades into the twenty-first century, the world’s nations are becoming irrelevant. Corporations are the true global powers, with information the most valuable currency, while the smaller island nations have become sanctuaries for data pirates and terrorists. A globe-trotting PR executive for the large corporate economic democracy Rizome Industries Group, Laura Webster is present when a foreign representative is assassinated on Rizome soil during a conference for offshore data havens. Dispatched immediately on an international mission of diplomacy, Laura hopes she can make a difference in a volatile, unsteady world, but instead finds herself trapped on the front lines of rapidly escalating third-world hostilities and caught up in an inescapable net of conspiracy, terrorism, post-millennial voodoo, and electronic warfare. During the 1980s, science fiction luminary Bruce Sterling envisioned the future . . . and hit it almost dead-on. The author who, along with William Gibson, Neal Stephenson, and Rudy Rucker, helped create and define the cyberpunk subgenre imagines a world of tomorrow in Islands in the Net that bears a striking—and disturbing—resemblance to our present-day information-age reality. Nominated for the Hugo and Locus Awards and winner of the John W. Campbell Memorial Award, Sterling’s extraordinary novel is a gripping, eye-opening, and remarkably prescient science fiction classic.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Hot Rock - cover

    The Hot Rock

    Donald E. Westlake

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Edgar Award Finalist: Fresh out of prison, John Dortmunder plans a heist that could mean war in this thriller by Mystery Writers of America Grand Master Donald E. Westlake. John Dortmunder leaves jail with ten dollars, a train ticket, and nothing to make money on but his good name. Thankfully, his reputation goes far. No one plans a caper better than Dortmunder. His friend Kelp picks him up in a stolen Cadillac and drives him away from Sing-Sing, telling a story of a $500,000 emerald that they just have to steal. Dortmunder doesn’t hesitate to agree. The emerald is the crown jewel of a former British colony, lately granted independence and split into two nations: one for the Talabwo people, one for the Akinzi. The Akinzi have the stone, the Talabwo want it back, and their UN representative offers a fine payday to the men who can get it. It’s not a simple heist, but after a few years in stir, Dortmunder could use the challenge.
    Show book
  • Summer Rain - An Inspector Banks Short Story - cover

    Summer Rain - An Inspector Banks...

    Peter Robinson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A mystery from the past bursts in upon the present in this gripping Inspector Banks short story— featuring an excerpt from Peter Robinson's new novel In the Dark Places ("Thrilling"—Louise Penny).  
    Acclaimed by Michael Connelly as "a man for all seasons," Inspector Alan Banks is among the most beloved characters in contemporary fiction. And now Banks confronts one of the most puzzling cases of his career— when a tourist claims that several decades earlier, in a previous life, he witnessed a murder committed nearby. 
    Banks doesn't believe in the supernatural. Or superstition. But when evidence of a crime comes to light, he begins to wonder: How did this mysterious visitor know about a killing possibly committed before he was born? 
    Ingenious, atmospheric, and poignant, 'Summer Rain' is perfect for both longtime Peter Robinson fans and those who have yet to discover one of the world's most popular mystery writers.
    Show book
  • A War of Deception - cover

    A War of Deception

    P. A. Duncan

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    A War of Deception has received the 2017  New Apple Award for Excellence in Independent Publishing for "Best Historical Fiction." 
    Past and present. Fathers and sons. Retribution and revenge. 
    When retired U.N. spy Mai Fisher leaves a diplomatic reception on a cold, rainy night in the new year of 2001, she dashes for the first cab she sees. The driver has a tattoo Mai has seen before on Serbian paramilitaries. Suspicious, she forces him to admit he was waiting for her--to deliver her to the Russian Mafiya. 
    After almost 40 years as a spy for the United Nations Intelligence Directorate, Alexei Bukharin is glad to be alive to enjoy times with his wife, Mai Fisher, and ti finish raising his college-student granddaughter, Natalia. When Mai calls him out of bed to bring her dry clothes after she take an information drop from a Serbian diplomat, he discovers she's suffered something that can be death for a spy, retired or otherwise: Someone knows her true identity. 
    A raid on the Mafiya apartment where Mai was to be taken uncovers something more devastating. The thugs have a photograph of Natalia at her university. The investigation becomes two-pronged: Who burned Mai, and why is the Russian underworld interested in Natalia? 
    Their investigation uncovers a Russian mole in the FBI, one who has been selling America's secrets to the Soviets and the Russian Federation for more than 20 years. When Alxei discovers the reason behind the interest in Natalia, he realizes a decision he made in 1974 has come back to haunt him. 
    Personal needs, professional standards, and a choice from the past collide in a war of deception.
    Show book
  • Slingshot - A Spycatcher Novel - cover

    Slingshot - A Spycatcher Novel

    Matthew Dunn

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Matthew Dunn uses his experience as a former MI6 field officer to bring transfixing realism to Slingshot, his third Spycatcher novel featuring Will Cochrane—MI6’s, and now the CIA’s, most prized asset and deadliest weapon. In Slingshot, Cochrane is ordered to recover a mysterious document stolen by a Russian Foreign Intelligence Service (SRV) traitor working for a former high-ranking East German Stasi officer. The officer, years before, had instigated a secret pact between Russian and U.S. generals. The agreement stipulated that should it be broken, an assassin would immediately be set loose after an unknown target. The SRV has sent their own version of Cochrane, a cold-blooded, brilliant operative, to retrieve the document, pitting spycatcher against spycatcher. Slingshot, with its cat-and-mouse espionage, brutal action, and complex protagonist, is a must-read for fans of Robert Ludlum and Lee Child.
    Show book
  • The Return of the Dancing Master - cover

    The Return of the Dancing Master

    Henning Mankell

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    December 12, 1945. Nazi Germany lies in ruins as a British warplane lands in Buckeburg. A man carrying a small black bag quickly disembarks and travels to Hamelin, where he disappears behind the prison gates.  Early the next day, England's most experienced hangman executes twelve war criminals.Fifty-four years later, retired policeman Herbert Molin spends another sleepless night on his remote farm in Härjedalen, Sweden. But it is this night when the long-dreaded shadows from his past finally emerge to exact revenge.  After Molin is found brutally slaughtered—literally whipped to death—the police discover strange tracks in the blood on the floor. . .as if someone had been practicing the tango.Stefan Lindman is a young police officer who has just been diagnosed with cancer of the tongue. When he reads about the murder of his former colleague, he decides to travel north and find out what happened.  Soon he is enmeshed in a puzzling investigation with no witnesses, no discernible motives. Terrified of the illness that could take his life, Lindman nonetheless becomes more and more reckless as he uncovers the links between Molin's death, World War II, and an underground neo-Nazi network that runs much further and deeper than he had ever imagined. The Return of the Dancing Master is a gripping mystery from the widely praised author of the Kurt Wallander series.
    Show book
  • Jordan's Stormy Banks - A Body Farm Novella - cover

    Jordan's Stormy Banks - A Body...

    Jefferson Bass

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the summer of 1990, Dr. Bill Brockton—a bright, ambitious young forensic scientist—is hired by the University of Tennessee to head, and to raise the profile of, the school's small Anthropology Department. Six months later, the ink on his contract barely dry, Brockton is called to a gruesome crime scene in a rural area to identify a corpse and determine how the woman died. But the case—one of Brockton's first murder investigations in Tennessee—could also prove to be his last when he runs afoul of both the county sheriff and an angry mob intent on administering their own swift, rough brand of "justice." With his back to the wall, Brockton is forced to think fast, talk faster, and hope for a miracle.
    Show book