"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island." - Walt Disney
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
A Heart So Fierce and Broken - cover

A Heart So Fierce and Broken

Brigid Kemmerer

Publisher: Bloomsbury YA

  • 1
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

In the sequel to New York Times bestselling A Curse So Dark and Lonely, Brigid Kemmerer returns to the world of Emberfall in a lush fantasy where friends become foes and love blooms in the darkest of places. 
 
Find the heir, win the crown. 
The curse is finally broken, but Prince Rhen of Emberfall faces darker troubles still. Rumors circulate that he is not the true heir and that forbidden magic has been unleashed in Emberfall. Although Rhen has Harper by his side, his guardsman Grey is missing, leaving more questions than answers.  
 
Win the crown, save the kingdom.  
Grey may be the heir, but he doesn't want anyone to know his secret. On the run since he destroyed Lilith, he has no desire to challenge Rhen--until Karis Luran once again threatens to take Emberfall by force. Her own daughter Lia Mara sees the flaws in her mother's violent plan, but can she convince Grey to stand against Rhen, even for the good of Emberfall? 
 
The heart-pounding, compulsively readable saga continues as loyalties are tested and new love blooms in a kingdom on the brink of war.

Other books that might interest you

  • Anne of Green Gables - A Graphic Novel - cover

    Anne of Green Gables - A Graphic...

    Mariah Marsden

    • 1
    • 25
    • 0
    The spirit of Anne is alive and well in Mariah Marsden's crisp adaptation, and it's a thrill to watch as the beloved orphan rushes headlong through Brenna Thummler's heavenly landscapes. Together Marsden and Thummler conjure all the magic and beauty of Green Gables. Like Anne herself, you won't want to leave. — Brian Selznick, author/illustrator of “The Invention of Hugo Cabret” and “The Marvels”The magic of L.M. Montgomery’s treasured classic is reimagined in a whimsically-illustrated graphic novel adaptation perfect for newcomers and kindred spirits alike.When Matthew and Marilla Cuthbert decide to adopt an orphan who can help manage their family farm, they have no idea what delightful trouble awaits them. With flame-red hair and an unstoppable imagination, 11-year-old Anne Shirley takes Green Gables by storm.Anne’s misadventures bring a little romance to the lives of everyone she meets: her bosom friend, Diana Barry; the town gossip, Mrs. Lynde; and that infuriating tease, Gilbert Blythe. From triumphs and thrills to the depths of despair, Anne turns each everyday moment into something extraordinary. 
    Show book
  • Shatterproof - cover

    Shatterproof

    Jocelyn Shipley

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Thirteen-year-old Nate needs a break from looking after his newly disabled mom. One day when his mom thinks he's at a cross-country meet, he goes to the mall with a friend he's forbidden to have contact with. At the skate shop he sees a new board he can't afford but has to have, and Nate gets talked into running a scam. It turns out Nate looks a lot like a teen TV star filming in the area. So he and his buddy get girls to pay cash to be extras on set. It's all fine until Nate meets a girl he really likes. Nate knows he has to tell her the truth, but he's not sure he has what it takes to come clean.
    Show book
  • Past Perfect Life - cover

    Past Perfect Life

    Elizabeth Eulberg

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    An exciting new direction for acclaimed author Elizabeth Eulberg, Past Perfect Life   is a tense and tender read about secrets and lies, reality and   identity, and the ways we put ourselves back together when everything is   broken.  
     
    Small-town Wisconsin high school senior Allison Smith loves her life the way it is--spending quality time with her widowed father and her tight-knit circle of friends, including best friend Marian and maybe-more-than-friends Neil. Sure she is stressed out about college applications . . . who wouldn't be? In a few short months, everything's going to change, big time. 
     
    But when Ally files her applications, they send up a red flag . . . because she's not Allison Smith. And Ally's--make that Amanda's--ordinary life is suddenly blown apart. Was everything before a lie? Who will she be after? And what will she do as now comes crashing down around her? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Far From the Tree, this  is the story of one teen's search for herself amid the confusion of a  shattered past and a future far from all she planned.
    Show book
  • 50 Great Lessons from Life - cover

    50 Great Lessons from Life

    Tony Spollen

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Originally written for his grown-up children, Tony Spollen now shares his 50 GREAT LESSONS FROM LIFE with a wider audience.
     
    Simple, heartfelt, born of experience – these lessons ring true for everyone in any walk of life.
     
    Some you know already; others will be new – or will surprise you with a new twist on something you took for granted. Some are aspirational, some are fanciful, some are basic and mostly, they are one size fits all – but, above all, they are timeless advice, universally applicable.
     
    Be successful. Be healthy. Be happy. Read. Enjoy.
    Show book
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses - cover

    A Court of Thorns and Roses

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 15
    • 79
    • 1
    The sexy, action-packed first book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Court of Thorns and Roses series from Sarah J. Maas. 
     
    When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a terrifying creature arrives to demand retribution. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she knows about only from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not truly a beast, but one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled her world.  
     
    At least, he's not a beast all the time.  
     
    As she adapts to her new home, her feelings for the faerie, Tamlin, transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But something is not right in the faerie lands. An ancient, wicked shadow is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it, or doom Tamlin-and his world-forever. 
     
    From bestselling author Sarah J. Maas comes a seductive, breathtaking book that blends romance, adventure, and faerie lore into an unforgettable read.
    Show book
  • Nowhere Near You - cover

    Nowhere Near You

    Leah Thomas

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Ollie and Moritz might never meet, but their friendship knows no bounds. Their letters carry on as Ollie embarks on his first road trip away from the woods--no easy feat for a boy allergic to electricity--and Moritz decides which new school would best suit an eyeless boy who prefers to be alone.  
      
    Along the way they meet other teens like them, other products of strange science who lead seemingly normal lives in ways Ollie and Moritz never imagined possible: A boy who jokes about his atypical skeleton; an aspiring actress who hides a strange deformity; a track star whose abnormal heart propels her to victory. Suddenly the future feels wide open for two former hermits. But even as Ollie and Moritz dare to enjoy life, they can't escape their past, which threatens to destroy any progress they've made. Can these boys ever find their place in a world that might never understand them? 
     
    Because You'll Never Meet Me 
    A William C. Morris YA Debut Award finalist
    Show book