Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Chile Pepper in China - A Cultural Biography - cover

The Chile Pepper in China - A Cultural Biography

Brian R. Dott

Publisher: Columbia University Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Chinese cuisine without chile peppers seems unimaginable. Entranced by the fiery taste, diners worldwide have fallen for Chinese cooking. In China, chiles are everywhere, from dried peppers hanging from eaves to Mao’s boast that revolution would be impossible without chiles, from the eighteenth-century novel Dream of the Red Chamber to contemporary music videos. Indeed, they are so common that many Chinese assume they are native. Yet there were no chiles anywhere in China prior to the 1570s, when they were introduced from the Americas.Brian R. Dott explores how the nonnative chile went from obscurity to ubiquity in China, influencing not just cuisine but also medicine, language, and cultural identity. He details how its versatility became essential to a variety of regional cuisines and swayed both elite and popular medical and healing practices. Dott tracks the cultural meaning of the chile across a wide swath of literary texts and artworks, revealing how the spread of chiles fundamentally altered the meaning of the term spicy. He emphasizes the intersection between food and gender, tracing the chile as a symbol for both male virility and female passion. Integrating food studies, the history of medicine, and Chinese cultural history, The Chile Pepper in China sheds new light on the piquant cultural impact of a potent plant and raises broader questions regarding notions of authenticity in cuisine.

Other books that might interest you

  • 101 More Things To Do With a Slow Cooker - cover

    101 More Things To Do With a...

    Stephanie Ashcraft, Janet Eyring

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    With the continuing slow cooker craze Stephanie Ashcraft brings you 101 More Things to do With a Slow Cooker. With two new sections-Vegetarian Delights and Turkey-this book will be flying of the shelves. More great recipes like Raspberry Chocolate Carmel Fondue, Southwestern Chili, Cajun Chicken Pasta, Mandarin Orange Steaks, Apple Cranberry Pork Chops, and Gooey Cherry Chocolate Cake will make your mouth water just by reading the ingredients. So throw a few ingredients in the slow cooker and go have fun with your family and friends-when you're done, your meal will be too!
    Show book
  • I Love Pie - cover

    I Love Pie

    Ann Tudor

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Did your mother forget to teach you to make pie crust?  Have you always sought the secrets of biscuits?  Here's the chance to join the slow-food trend toward making your own pies and biscuits.  In this audio program, Ann Tudor, calling on some fifty years of making-from-scratch experience, shares everything she knows about pie crust, homemade lard, biscuits, pinwheels, and strawberry shortcake.  And just in case you feel that she thinks she knows it all, the last track on this program is a humiliating but hilarious account of one of her spectacular failures.
    Show book
  • Cake Pops - Tips Tricks and Recipes for More Than 40 Irresistible Mini Treats - cover

    Cake Pops - Tips Tricks and...

    Bakerella

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    What's cuter than a cupcake? A cake pop, of course! Wildly popular blogger Bakerella (aka Angie Dudley) has turned cake pops into an international sensation! Cute little cakes on a stick from decorated balls to more ambitious shapes such as baby chicks, ice cream cones, and even cupcakes these adorable creations are the perfect alternative to cake at any party or get-together. Martha Stewart loved the cupcake pops so much she had Bakerella appear on her show to demonstrate making them. Now Angie makes it easy and fun to recreate these amazing treats right at home with clear step-by-step instructions and photos of more than 40 featured projects, as well as clever tips for presentation, decorating, dipping, coloring and melting chocolate, and much more.
    Show book
  • A Good Meal Is Hard to Find - Storied Recipes from Deep South - cover

    A Good Meal Is Hard to Find -...

    Martha Hall Foose, Amy C. Evans

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    A Good Meal Is Hard to Find is more than just a cookbook: it's a love letter to the women and food of the Deep South. With charming narratives, visual storytelling, and delectable recipes, A Good Meal Is Hard to Find is everything you've ever wanted in a Southern cookbook. Inside are 60 go-to recipes organized into five chapters—Morning's Glories, Lingering Lunches, Dinner Dates & Late-Night Takes, Afternoon Pick-Me-Ups, and Anytime Sweets. Written by award-winning cookbook author and Southern food expert Martha Hall Foose.• Each of the 60 recipes opens with a short vignette about a story about a unique Southern character.• Divided into five chapters from breakfast to dinner, with cocktails and desserts in between• Recipes paired with gorgeous, vintage-inspired oil paintings by Amy C. EvansInspired by generations of storytelling and Southern comfort food, this genre-bending cookbook is a must-have for cookbook lovers, vintage collectors, and Southern cooking enthusiasts alike. Recipes include Francine's Strawberry-Glazed Doughnuts, Camille's Bridge Club Egg Salad, The Suzy B's Spinach and Mushroom Frito Pie, Stella's Harissa Gold Chicken, and Estelle's Butterscotch Pound Cake.• Master the art of traditional Southern cooking and soul food.• Perfect for fans of Poole's: Recipes and Stores from a Modern Diner by Ashley Christensen, Magnolia Table by Joanna Gaines, and Heritage by Sean Brock• A great cookbook for readers of Southern Living and Garden & Gun
    Show book
  • Tables & Spreads - A Go-To Guide for Beautiful Snacks Intimate Gatherings and Inviting Feasts - cover

    Tables & Spreads - A Go-To Guide...

    Shelly Westerhausen Worcel

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    From the author of the bestselling Platters & Boards comes a beautifully photographed recipe collection and styling guide that shows you how to easily create lovely, abundant spreads for every occasion.Tables & Spreads is a must-have cookbook and resourceful styling guide from bestselling author Shelly Westerhausen. Here are more than 60 easy-to-prepare recipes plus behind-the-scenes insight into creating a beautiful, inviting table for every occasion, including tips on choosing a theme, styling your food in creative ways, and achieving that "wow factor" with linens, flowers, music, and more. There are 20 visually striking spreads that range from Ladies Night Lettuce Wraps to a Christmas Morning Dutch Baby Party, Dips for Dinner, and a Boozy Bloody Mary Bar. Rich with gorgeous and instructive photography, Tables & Spreads is inspiring yet totally accessible, perfect for home cooks who like to host gatherings of all sizes, and those who loved Shelly's first book, Platters & Boards. Complete with timelines, shopping lists, diagrams, and more, this book includes all the tools you need to make every meal delicious and unforgettable.• NEXT LEVEL ENTERTAINING: Tables & Spreads takes easy entertaining to the next level with additional recipes and robust guidance on casual styling of beautiful platters and tables for any number of guests.• ON TREND: The simple but impactful guidelines in this book speak to the way people are eating and entertaining today—often casually, with beautiful presentation, and a "help yourself" mentality. This book teaches us how to do that elegantly and create gorgeous grazing tables whether you're preparing a "snack dinner" for one, a family brunch, or a large-scale wedding or holiday table.• FOR ALL SKILL LEVELS: Anyone can make successful, beautiful spreads with these easy-to-follow guidelines and visual inspiration. These grazing spreads offer low-effort, high-impact results with easily sourced ingredients to feed a crowd—perfect for anyone that loves to eat and entertain.Perfect for:• Fans of Shelly Westerhausen and of Platters & Boards• Ina Garten and Martha Stewart fans who are always looking for creative & tasty ideas• People who seek inspiration in tablescaping, arranging, menus, and party inspirations
    Show book
  • The Slider Effect - You Can't Eat Just One! - cover

    The Slider Effect - You Can't...

    Jonathan Melendez

    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
    Way better than a cupcake, these omnivore and vegetarian slider recipes include limitless ingredient and flavor combinations just waiting to be squeezed between two buns. Sliders are the perfect bite that can be served as an appetizer, tapas, entrée, side, or midnight snack. The Slider Effect focuses on these amazing, handheld mini sandwiches featuring more than 75 recipes and 65 delicious photographs designed to turn you into a slider pro.   The opening chapter begins with slider pantry basics, followed by four main chapters that focus on meat, poultry, seafood, and vegetarian sliders. In the Meat chapter you’ll find recipes for Grilled Steak and Potato Sliders as well as Mediterranean Lamb Sliders. The Poultry chapter will introduce you to Turkey-Bacon BLT Avocado Sliders and Chicken Curry Sliders. The Seafood chapter ranges from Fish and Chips Sliders to Shrimp Fajita Sliders. And in the Vegetarian chapter you’ll find tiny buns filled with roasted beets, eggplant, polenta, and black beans. If you like making your own rolls, there are recipes ranging from biscuits to challah and from waffle to pretzel buns. And what slider would not be complete without a dab of Cilantro, Lime and Green Chile Aioli or Arugula Pumpkin Seed Pesto on top? There is no end to what you can make work in a slider!    
    Show book