Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
A Flash of Words 2 - The Games - cover

A Flash of Words 2 - The Games

Brian Paone

Publisher: Scout Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

From Scout Media comes A Flash of Words 2: The Games, the seventh volume in an ongoing short story anthology series featuring authors from all over the world, and the second in which the stories are exclusively flash-fiction pieces.
 
 
 
In this installation, no limits were set on genre; however, the authors had to incorporate a game into the plotline, from chess, to hide and seek, to Monopoly, to poker, and even Super Mario Bros. Within these moments of competition and not always good sportsmanship, these flash-fiction length stories will warm your heart, send shivers down your spine, and tickle your funny bone.
 
 
 
Whether to be enlightened, entertained, or momentarily immersed in another world, these selections convey the true spirit of flash fiction.

Other books that might interest you

  • Redemption Song - A Novel - cover

    Redemption Song - A Novel

    Bertice Berry

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Owner of a small African-American bookshop, Miss Cozy has an unique gift: Customers who walk through her door rarely leave without a book that speaks directly to their life. But when Josephine—"Fina"—and Ross arrive in search of an obscure, unpublished manuscript written by a slave woman, Miss Cozy knows that all her visions have been leading her to this magical day. 
    Yet Miss Cozy has no intention of selling the manuscript—no matter the price. So she offers Fina and Ross an alternative. They can read it together at the store. It was not what they hoped for, but their interest in the extraordinary love story is about as strong as their uncanny attraction for one another…one they both sense runs much deeper than a kiss. In the course of a few days, Fina and Ross realize that this powerful book has special meaning for the two of them—and that the path to their shared future may be linked to something that happened more than a century ago…
    Show book
  • Bars and Shadows: The Prison Poems of Ralph Chaplin - cover

    Bars and Shadows: The Prison...

    Ralph Chaplin

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Ralph Chaplin and many other prominent members of the Industrial Workers of the World were imprisoned under the Espionage Act of 1917 as the United States entered World War I. As with Socialist presidential candidate Eugene V. Debs, these activists were accused of undermining recruiting efforts and the draft - even of encouraging soldiers to desert. Though they never gained the universal popularity of his anthem "Solidarity Forever," the poems and songs in this volume - composed during his four years in prison - represent the defiant attitude of a true rebel in the face of persecution. - Summary by Ben Adams
    Show book
  • Persuasion - cover

    Persuasion

    Jane Austen

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Twenty-seven-year old Anne Elliot is Austen's most adult heroine. Eight years before the story proper begins, she is happily betrothed to a naval officer, Frederick Wentworth, but she precipitously breaks off the engagement when persuaded by her friend Lady Russell that such a match is unworthy. The breakup produces in Anne a deep and long-lasting regret. When later Wentworth returns from sea a rich and successful captain, he finds Anne's family on the brink of financial ruin and his own sister a tenant in Kellynch Hall, the Elliot estate. All the tension of the novel revolves around one question: Will Anne and Wentworth be reunited in their love?Jane Austen once compared her writing to painting on a little bit of ivory, 2 inches square. Readers of Persuasion will discover that neither her skill for delicate, ironic observations on social custom, love, and marriage nor her ability to apply a sharp focus lens to English manners and morals has deserted her in her final finished work.
    Show book
  • A Strange Thing - cover

    A Strange Thing

    John Galsworthy

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    John Galsworthy (1867-1933) was an English playwright and novelist who was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1932.'A Strange Thing' is the story of a beautiful country wedding and the poignant backstory behind it.
    Show book
  • Shout Her Lovely Name - cover

    Shout Her Lovely Name

    Natalie Serber

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Short stories that are “achingly true to life when it comes to the many ways mothers and daughters grow together and apart, over and over again” (O, The Oprah Magazine).   “Mothers and daughters go at it in the way only mothers and daughters can, with full hearts and claws out, in Natalie Serber’s funny, bittersweet collection” of short fiction named a New York Times Notable Book (Vanity Fair).   In a battle between a teenager and her mother, wheat bread and plain yogurt become weapons. An aimless college student, married to her much older professor, sneaks cigarettes while caring for their newborn son. On the eve of her husband’s fiftieth birthday, a pilfered fifth of rum, an unexpected tattoo, and rogue teenagers leave a woman questioning her place. And in a suite of stories, we follow capricious, ambitious single mother Ruby and her cautious, steadfast daughter, Nora, through their tumultuous life—stray men, stray cats, and psychedelic drugs—in 1970s California.   “The characters are irresistible . . . Serber writes with exquisite patience and sensitivity, and is an expert in the many ways that love throws people together and splits them apart, often at the same time.” —TheWall Street Journal   “From its first page, Serber’s debut collection plunges us into the humid heat and lightning of a perfect storm: that of American mothers and daughters struggling for power, love, meaning, and identity. . . . Serber’s writing sparkles: practical, strong, brazenly modern, marbled with superb descriptions.” —San Francisco Chronicle   “Mothers and daughters burst from these pages in stories about food, boyfriends, birthdays, husbands and more.” —Houston Chronicle   “In the tradition of Lorrie Moore and Tobias Wolff, Natalie Serber’s stories uncover the secret hearts of seemingly ordinary people. Funny, heart-felt, and keenly perceptive, this is a book worth shouting about.” —Dan Chaon, author of If I Loved You I Would Tell You This
    Show book
  • Rip Van Winkle - cover

    Rip Van Winkle

    Washington Irving

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In New York's Catskill Mountains before the American Revolution, a Dutch American villager named Rip Van Winkle falls asleep and wakes up 20 years later without realizing how much time has passed. Unaware that the Revolutionary War has taken place, he must come to terms with the changes he encounters.Washington Irving wrote "Rip Van Winkle" while living in England as part of the collection The Sketch Book of Geoffrey Crayon, Gent., alongside his other famous tale, "The Legend of Sleepy Hollow". Irving later admitted that "When I wrote the story, I had never been on the Catskills." Since its publication in 1819, the story has become part of American pop culture and has been adapted many times for stage, film, radio, and television.
    Show book