Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Statement - A Novel - cover

The Statement - A Novel

Brian Moore

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 1
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

The hunt is on for an elusive Nazi war criminal in this “absorbing intellectual thriller that keeps you guessing . . . until the final page” (The New York Times).   For four decades Pierre Brossard has eluded capture as one of the most vicious SS officers in history. Condemned to death in absentia he’s tenuously protected by an intricate web of Nazi collaborators and an extreme right-wing faction of the Catholic Church. With nothing more than a suitcase and a prayer, Brossard seeks refuge in a monastery outside Salon-de-Provence. He knows the Committee for Justice is closing in. With every reason to fear his days are numbered, he realizes only one man can help him get away with murder: Commissaire Vionnet, a retired police chief who, forty years earlier, allowed Brossard to escape.   But two other men are collaborating as well: a hired assassin known only as T, and Cardinal Primate Delavigne, reformist of the postwar church. He’s as unstoppable as T, as ruthless as Brossard, and he can’t wait to play this game to its unpredictable end.   “An exciting, classic novel of hunter and hunted” inspired by a true story, The Statement was made into an award-winning film starring Michael Caine, Tilda Swinton, and Alan Bates (The Washington Post).    
Available since: 04/17/2018.
Print length: 217 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Jackal's Head - cover

    The Jackal's Head

    Elizabeth Peters

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A woman returns to Egypt to clear her archaeologist father’s name in this mystery by the New York Times–bestselling author of the Amelia Peabody series.   Althea Tomlinson’s ostensible reason for returning to Egypt is to chaperone a spoiled teenager through this fabulous desert land. The truth is more complex—and dangerous. Ten years ago, something that happened here brought about her archaeologist father’s ruin and subsequent death. . . . and Althea intends to clear his disgraced name and finally lay a dark past to rest.   But there are some mysteries best left buried in the shifting sands, and a devoted daughter’s search for answers is stirring up forgotten memories almost too painful to endure, which propel her onward among ancient tombs, legendary treasures, miraculous discoveries . . . and ever closer to her own threatened doom.  Praise for the novels of Mystery Writers of America Grand Master Elizabeth Peters   “Deeply satisfying.” —Entertainment Weekly   “Elizabeth Peters is truly great.” —San Francisco Chronicle   “This author never fails to entertain.” —Cleveland Plain Dealer
    Show book
  • Patrick Flint Series The: Books 1-3 - Switchback Snake Oil and Sawbones - cover

    Patrick Flint Series The: Books...

    Pamela Fagan Hutchins

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Fans of C.J. Box's Joe Pickett and Craig Johnson's Walt Longmire will love Patrick Flint and family. 
    An unputdownable 3-mystery box set of suspenseful thrillers set in 1970s Wyoming, from USA Today bestselling author Pamela Fagan Hutchins. 
    “Best books I’ve read in a long time!” — Kiersten Marquet, author of Three Reluctant Promises 
    SWITCHBACK: 
    TAKEN meets LONGMIRE 
    When Patrick Flint's daughter goes missing on a mountain vacation, the adventurous young doctor will have just one shot to get her back. 
    SNAKE OIL: 
    A doctor on a quest to make a difference. A flirty widow with a suspiciously dead husband. When Patrick Flint goes after a murderer, he puts everything —and everyone — he cares about on the line. 
    SAWBONES: 
    When a killer threatens his family before their testimony in a capital murder trial, Patrick Flint will do anything to keep them safe.
    Show book
  • Bunburry - Deadlier than Fiction - A Cosy Mystery Series Episode 9 (Unabridged) - cover

    Bunburry - Deadlier than Fiction...

    Helena Marchmont

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Miss Marple meets Oscar Wilde in this new series of cosy mysteries set in the picturesque Cotswolds village of Bunburry.In "Deadlier than Fiction”, amateur sleuth Alfie McAlister enjoys his volunteer work in Bunburry’s community library, set up in the mansion of the formidable Miss Radford. The library is home from home for eleven-year-old Noah, an Agatha Christie fan who sees murder round every corner. At first Alfie dismisses this as a child’s overactive Imagination - but then he himself is attacked. Could young Noah be right after all?Nathaniel Parker, born in 1962, graduated from the London Academy of Music and Dramatic Art and went on to join the Royal Shakespeare Company. His television career began in 1988 when he played Flying Officer 'Flash' Gordon in the LWT mini-series "Piece of Cake". He is also the lead in the BBC series "The Inspector Lynley Mysteries", based on the novels by Elizabeth George. Nathaniel Parker has an extensive list of audio books to his credit, ranging from the classics of Charles Dickens and Thomas Hardy to more modern writings and children's books.
    Show book
  • Ming Tea Murder - cover

    Ming Tea Murder

    Laura Childs

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    It's scones and scandal for Indigo Tea Shop owner Theodosia Browning in the latest from the New York Times bestselling author of Steeped in Evil…  
    Normally Theodosia wouldn't attend a black tie affair for all the tea in China. But she can hardly say no to her hunky, handsome boyfriend, Max, who directs public relations for the Gibbes Museum in Charleston. Max has organized an amazing gala opening for an exhibit of a genuine eighteenth century Chinese teahouse, and the creme de la creme of Charleston society is invited.  
    In the exotic garden staged in the museum's rotunda, a Chinese dragon dances to the beat of drums as it weaves through the crowd. The guests are serenaded by a Chinese violin as they sample an assortment of tempting bites. And to give them a memento of the occasion, there's even a photo booth. But Theodosia makes a grim discovery behind the booth's curtains: the body of museum donor Edgar Webster.  
    While Theodosia prefers tea service over the service of justice, this case is difficult to ignore—especially after Max becomes a suspect. Now she must examine the life of the fallen philanthropist and find out who really wanted him to pay up… includes delicious recipes and tea time tips!
    Show book
  • Murder Of A Statesman - cover

    Murder Of A Statesman

    James R. Thompson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In the year 13 BC, a famous Roman man has died. Marcus Aemilius Lepidus, a member of the triumvirate that ruled Roman along with Marc Antony and Octavian, is found dead in his bed by his wife, Junia Secunda. Although Lepidus was an old man, it appears that he did not die a natural death. He was murdered. 
    Wishing to know who killed her husband, Junia sends to Rome for an investigator named Patroclus Numitius. Patroclus is one of the world’s first private investigators. He solves crimes that no one could with his keen insight and dogged perseverance. When he arrives at the house of Lepidus, he discovers that the death could not have been accidental or natural. It had to have been a murder. 
    The investigation he takes on leads him to the very heart of the Roman empire itself- to Augustus Caesar, the emperor of Rome. As they were once friends turned bitter enemies, Augustus may have had a hand in the death of Lepidus. So Patroclus suspects. 
    A web of intrigue soon unfolds, the likes of the Roman empire has rarely seen before. When powerful men with much to lose are involved, anything can happen.
    Show book
  • The Animal - The Luke Titan Chronicles Book 5 - cover

    The Animal - The Luke Titan...

    David Beers

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    FBI agent Christian Windsor's life rests in the hands of a madman, Charles Twaller.His only hope of salvation? The person who waged war against the entire FBI. His former partner. The genius. The psychopath.Luke Titan.FBI Director Alan Waverly sees none of this, though. He only knows Titan escaped and his two agents are missing. Most likely dead.To Waverly, Titan won the war.Going against everything he believes in, Waverly refuses to let Titan escape. He makes a phone call and steps outside of the law. He hires a killer unlike any of them have seen.He hires an animal.Now, the world already on a fire, a ruthlessness is let loose into it. The animal has only one objective: kill Luke Titan and anyone around him. Can anyone survive, or will the animal feast on them all?
    Show book