Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Magician's Wife - A Novel - cover

The Magician's Wife - A Novel

Brian Moore

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

The restless wife of an illusionist becomes embroiled in a North African holy war in this “tour de force” of historical fiction (The New York Times).   Early in her marriage to renowned prestidigitator Henri Lambert, Emmeline had exulted in his fame, the foreign tours, and the command performances of his “Magical Evenings.” Now, Henri’s given it all up to pursue a quiet life in their remote country manor, but restless, devoted Emmeline longs to see her husband return to his former glory.   It all changes again when, in service to their country, Henri and Emmeline are invited to spend seven days at Compiègne as guests of Napoléon III. The emperor wants Henri to work his magic on a charismatic Algerian marabout who’s influencing his followers to overthrow the French in a holy war. For Henri, convincing a man of where his allegiance should lie will be the performance of a lifetime. But for Emmeline, ushered from the lavish royal courts to the barren Sahara, it will prove to be an illuminating journey that will challenge her views on God and faith, open her eyes to her husband’s weaknesses, and expose the treachery of her own country.   “Flashing his own sleight of hand, [Moore] transforms a historical fact into a story both true to its time and relevant to the present day.” —The New York Times  

Other books that might interest you

  • Hit List - cover

    Hit List

    Nick Harlow

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
         It’s time to take America back. And only organized crime can do it. 
         When a gambler tries to pay a bookie with food stamps, the Mafia realizes the liberal entitlement society has gone too far. 
         With half the country on some sort of government assistance, disposable income is disappearing. And without disposable income, the Mob will soon be out of business. 
         Enough. 
         Three New Jersey Mafia families decide to band together to take control of the country. To do so they must get 12 liberals who are destroying the country with a progressive agenda “out of the way.” A “hit list” that will lead to the ultimate target, the socialist President. 
         But this is the new Mob, using brains and technology instead of bullets. And they have a not-so-secret weapon: a United States Senator who happens to be a blood relative. 
         And blood is thicker than politics.
    Show book
  • A Girl Called Seven - The Sentinel Series #3 - cover

    A Girl Called Seven - The...

    Valery Keith

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Like her sisters Nina and Emily, Sara is enjoying her life as a normal young woman, especially her new role as big sister to the younger children. 
    So when a dog-fighting ring threatens the peaceful community they have come to love, she and her sisters spring into action once more to shut it down. But once they do, they discover that some of the criminals have friends in very high places.  
    Now, their family under threat, all the children will band together to protect their home, no matter what that means.
    Show book
  • The Sands of Time - cover

    The Sands of Time

    Sidney Sheldon

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    Four women leave their Spanish convent and enter an alien world of uncertainty, romance, and suspense.
    Show book
  • Last Night Out The - A psychological thriller - cover

    Last Night Out The - A...

    Catherine O'Connell

    • 2
    • 10
    • 0
    Six friends. A bride to be. One murder. Too many secrets. 
    After drinking too much at her bachelorette party, Maggie Trueheart wakes to find a stranger in her bed. To make matters worse, a phone call brings the devastating news that her friend Angie was murdered some time after they parted ways the night before.
    Kelly Delaney, who left the party early, is the first of Maggie’s friends to face questions from Chicago homicide detective Ron O’Reilly. After taking a closer look at the other women who attended the party, O’Reilly concludes that at least some of them are lying.
    As the clock ticks down to the wedding day and more shocking secrets are revealed, the murderer zeros in on another one of the girls. Can the killer be stopped before there is another victim?
    Show book
  • The Norfolk Mystery - A County Guides Mystery - cover

    The Norfolk Mystery - A County...

    Ian Sansom

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Love Miss Marple? Adore Holmes and Watson? Professor Morley's guide to Norfolk is a story of bygone England: quaint villages, eccentric locals—and murder … 
    It is 1937, and disillusioned Spanish Civil War veteran Stephen Sefton is broke. So when he sees a mysterious advertisement for a job where "intelligence is essential," he eagerly applies. 
    Thus begins Sefton's association with Professor Swanton Morley, an omnivorous intellect. Morley's latest project is a history of traditional England, with a guide to every county. 
    They start in Norfolk, but when the vicar of Blakeney is found hanging from his church's bell rope, Morley and Sefton find themselves drawn into a rather more fiendish plot. Did the reverend really take his own life, or is there something darker afoot? 
    A must-read for fans of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Agatha Christie, and Charles Todd, this novel includes plenty of murder, mystery, and mayhem to confound.
    Show book
  • Bonded Couple - Iron Crows Motorcycle Club #4 - cover

    Bonded Couple - Iron Crows...

    Laran Mithras

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    To be accepted was all I ever wanted as a man. 
    I had done something that went far beyond shifting directions in my life. I had done something illegal. Deathly illegal, and now I had that stain on my hands. I had done it for the club: for the Iron Crows. 
    Society had never accepted me, but I had wanted to fit in; it was my desire in life. So I married my Kristy, a loner like me. But with the Iron Crows, I did the one thing that would forever ostracize me from what I had wanted most: inclusion. 
    My wife had something going with not just the treasurer of the club, but almost anyone who wanted her. It was her own way of finding inclusion and it excited me. I got off on it, deeply. But the growing secrets weren't something I could handle. 
    I turned to Donna, most like us, and my wife hated it. I turned also to Tequila, least like us, and my wife approved. My brain wasn't wired to understand a woman. But I had to or I was going to risk losing it all.
    Show book