Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Secret of Dreadwillow Carse - Special Preview - The First 5 Chapters plus Bonus Material - cover

The Secret of Dreadwillow Carse - Special Preview - The First 5 Chapters plus Bonus Material

Brian Farrey

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

  • 1
  • 13
  • 0

Summary

A princess and a peasant girl must embark on a dangerous quest to outwit a centuries-old warning foretelling the fall of the Monarchy in this thrilling modern fairytale.   In the center of the verdant Monarchy lies Dreadwillow Carse, a black and desolate bog that the happy people of the land do their best to ignore. Little is known about it, except for one dire warning: If any monarch enters Dreadwillow Carse, then the Monarchy will fall. Twelve-year-old Princess Jeniah yearns to know what the marsh could possibly conceal that might topple her family’s thousand-year reign of peace and prosperity. Meanwhile, in the nearby town of Emberfell, where everyone lives with unending joy, a girl named Aon hides a sorrow she can never reveal. She knows that something in the carse--something that sings a haunting tune only Aon can hear--holds the cure for her sadness. Yet no matter how many times she tries to enter, the terror-inducing dreadwillow trees keep her away. After a chance meeting, Princess Jeniah and Aon hatch a plan to send Aon into the heart of the carse to unlock its darkest secret. But when Aon doesn’t return, a guilt-stricken Jeniah must enter the carse to try and rescue her friend--even if it means risking the entire Monarchy.The Secret of Dreadwillow Carse weaves together classic fairy-tale elements--a princess, a forbidden land, and a dangerous quest--in a clever, fast-paced adventure that explores the importance of asking questions and the power of friendship.

Other books that might interest you

  • Book of a Thousand Days - cover

    Book of a Thousand Days

    Shannon Hale

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    This beloved romantic fantasy from award-winning, New York Times bestselling author Shannon Hale celebrates its 10th anniversary with a gorgeous new cover. 
     
    When Lady Saren refuses to marry a man she fears, she and her maid, Dashti, are locked in a tower with just a tiny flap open to the outside world. As food runs low and the weather changes from broiling hot to unbearably cold, it is all Dashti can do to make them comfortable in their dark prison. 
     
    Not long after their confinement begins, Saren's suitors arrive--one welcome, the other less so-and she orders Dashti to speak to them. Impersonating Lady Saren is a crime punishable by death, but Dashti will have to play the role many times if she is to save them both from the tower and the dangers outside. As she takes control of their desperate situation, Dashti begins to understand her own astonishing talents and believe that even a low-born maid can find true love. 
     
    Master storyteller Shannon Hale's beloved Book of a Thousand Days is equal parts fantastical and romantic, with an unforgettable protagonist to root for at its center.
    Show book
  • The Gift - cover

    The Gift

    Peter Dickinson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A boy with psychic powers struggles to save his loved ones When Davy’s mother deserts their family, Davy’s father packs his children into a rickety old car and takes them on a vacation. They drive to their mysterious old grandparents’ house in the sprawling Welsh countryside, a place so rural that running water is a novelty. It is there that Davy learns he has the gift. He has always seen the pictures—images in his head that tell of the future or the past—but his grandmother explains that the gift is both a remarkable power and a terrible curse. It was the gift that killed Davy’s great-uncle—and it is the gift that could save his life. Seven years later, Davy is in high school, and for the first time he can remember, life is almost normal. But when he starts having troubling visions of his father’s new employer he knows that only he can save his family from destruction. This ebook features an illustrated personal history of Peter Dickinson including rare images from the author’s collection.
    Show book
  • Dangerous - cover

    Dangerous

    Shannon Hale

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    How far would you go to save the world? 
        
    When Maisie Danger Brown nabbed a spot at a NASA-like summer boot camp, she never expected to uncover a conspiracy that would change her life forever. 
        
    And she definitely didn't plan to fall in love. 
        
    But now there's no going back--Maisie's the only thing standing between the Earth and annihilation. She must become the hero the world needs. The only problem is: how does a regular girl from Salt Lake City do that, exactly? It's not as though there's a handbook for this sort of thing. It's up to Maisie to come up with a plan--and find the courage to carry it out-before she loses her heart . . . and her life. 
     
    Equal parts romance and action-adventure, this explosive story is sure to leave both longtime Shannon Hale fans and avid science fiction readers completely breathless.
    Show book
  • Ma and Pa Dracula - cover

    Ma and Pa Dracula

    Ann M. Martin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Jonathan thinks his parents are normal—but he’s about to see the light of dayNine-year-old Jonathan is convinced that sleeping during the day and waking at night is what every kid does—especially if your parents work at a blood bank all night. But when he breaks his parents’ rules and sneaks outside during the daytime, he meets Tobi, a neighborhood girl who fills him in on the truth about telephones, TV, and school. Shocked at his discovery, Jonathan confronts his parents, who tell him the truth about their nocturnal life.Determined to fit into the daytime world, he convinces his parents to let him go to school and make friends. But it isn’t easy being the new kid—especially when your parents are vampires whose supplies from the blood bank are getting low. Maybe inviting his friends over wasn’t such a good idea after all.  This ebook features an illustrated personal history of Ann M. Martin, including rare images from the author’s collection.
    Show book
  • Two Naomis - cover

    Two Naomis

    Olugbemisola Rhuday-Perkovich,...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A realistic contemporary story of two girls whose divorced parents begin to date—perfect for fans of Lisa Graff, Sara Pennypacker, and Rita Williams-Garcia. 
    Other than their first names, Naomi Marie and Naomi Edith are sure they have nothing in common, and they wouldn’t mind keeping it that way. 
    Naomi Marie starts clubs at the library and adores being a big sister. Naomi Edith loves quiet Saturdays and hanging with her best friend in her backyard. And while Naomi Marie’s father lives a few blocks away, Naomi Edith wonders how she’s supposed to get through each day a whole country apart from her mother. 
    When Naomi Marie’s mom and Naomi Edith’s dad get serious about dating, each girl tries to cling to the life she knows and loves. Then their parents push them into attending a class together, where they might just have to find a way to work with each other—and maybe even join forces to find new ways to define family.
    Show book
  • The Diary of Ma Yan - The Struggles and Hopes of a Chinese Schoolgirl - cover

    The Diary of Ma Yan - The...

    Ma Yan, Pierre Haski

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Wednesday, November 7  
     
    My father gave me and my brother a little money. My stomach is all twisted up with hunger, but I don't want to spend the money on anything as frivolous as food. Because it's money my parents earn with their sweat and blood.  
    I have to study well so that I won't ever again be tortured by hunger. . . .  
     
    In a drought-stricken corner of rural China, an education can be the difference between a life of crushing poverty and the chance for a better future. But money is scarce, and the low wages paid for backbreaking work aren't always enough to pay school fees.  
    Ma Yan's heart-wrenching, honest diary chronicles her struggle to escape hardship and bring prosperity to her family through her persistent, sometimes desperate, attempts to continue her schooling.  
    First published in France in 2002, the diary of ma yan created an outpouring of support for this courageous teenager and others like her -- support that led to the creation of an international organization dedicated to helping these children . . . all because of one ordinary girl's extraordinary diary.
    Show book