Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Secret of Dreadwillow Carse - Special Preview - The First 5 Chapters plus Bonus Material - cover

The Secret of Dreadwillow Carse - Special Preview - The First 5 Chapters plus Bonus Material

Brian Farrey

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

  • 1
  • 10
  • 0

Summary

A princess and a peasant girl must embark on a dangerous quest to outwit a centuries-old warning foretelling the fall of the Monarchy in this thrilling modern fairytale.   In the center of the verdant Monarchy lies Dreadwillow Carse, a black and desolate bog that the happy people of the land do their best to ignore. Little is known about it, except for one dire warning: If any monarch enters Dreadwillow Carse, then the Monarchy will fall. Twelve-year-old Princess Jeniah yearns to know what the marsh could possibly conceal that might topple her family’s thousand-year reign of peace and prosperity. Meanwhile, in the nearby town of Emberfell, where everyone lives with unending joy, a girl named Aon hides a sorrow she can never reveal. She knows that something in the carse--something that sings a haunting tune only Aon can hear--holds the cure for her sadness. Yet no matter how many times she tries to enter, the terror-inducing dreadwillow trees keep her away. After a chance meeting, Princess Jeniah and Aon hatch a plan to send Aon into the heart of the carse to unlock its darkest secret. But when Aon doesn’t return, a guilt-stricken Jeniah must enter the carse to try and rescue her friend--even if it means risking the entire Monarchy.The Secret of Dreadwillow Carse weaves together classic fairy-tale elements--a princess, a forbidden land, and a dangerous quest--in a clever, fast-paced adventure that explores the importance of asking questions and the power of friendship.

Who read this book also read:

  • Legends of Fire - A Dark Faerie Tale Series #7 - cover

    Legends of Fire - A Dark Faerie...

    Alexia Purdy

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Some secrets were never meant to be exposed to the light of the world.  
     
    When the Raven Faery Queen’s brother is cursed and in danger of losing his wings and mind, she calls in specialized mercenaries for the Seelie Faery Court—Benton and Rylan (AKA Soap). They immediately discover this might not be a cut and dry mission.  
     
    Benton is reminded of a promise he vowed to keep and uncovers an important tie to his family’s past. But the secrets go beyond his family and lead to the real reason Elementals, like Benton, are being hunted and are almost extinct. Soap also discovers a link to his past that threatens his magic and reveals deadly truths about the Land of Faerie and the two divided courts.  
     
    In the midst of it all, Benton and Rylan are tasked with finding Zena, a human girl with the gift of The Sight, before she is captured by an obsessed bounty hunter who only hunts humans with specific and unusual abilities for nefarious reasons.  
     
    Some say you should never trust a faery…  
     
    This is book 7 in A Dark Faerie Tale Series.  
     
    Also Available to read in this series:  
    The Withering Palace (Book #0.1, Companion story #1)  
    Evangeline (Book #0.5, Companion story #2)  
    Ever Shade (Book #1)  
    Ever Fire (Book #2)  
    Ever Winter (Book #3)  
    The Cursed (Book #3.5, Companion story #3)  
    Ever Wrath (Book #4)  
    Without Armor (Book #4.5, Companion story #4)  
    History of Fire (Book #5)  
    Ever Dead (Book #6)  
    Legends of Fire (Book #7)  
    Guardians of Fire (Book #8) Coming soon
    Show book
  • Reading Between The Lines - The Rosewoods #4 - cover

    Reading Between The Lines - The...

    Katrina Abbott

    • 1
    • 19
    • 0
    Brooklyn Prescott is starting to settle into life at The Rosewood School for Academic Excellence. Now that the masquerade ball is over and was a total success (whew!), she can return to her non-party planning life! She’s dating Jared officially now that he’s returned from Japan, and he’s even asked her to read his memoir of his life as a child actor, a great honor for Brooklyn, the wannabe journalist. 
    But just as things seem like they’re sliding into place, Emmie breaks up with Dave, who is suddenly showing interest in Brooklyn. More confused than ever, Brooklyn doesn’t know what to do—stay with the great guy who is obviously into her, or take a chance with the one she’s been crushing on since her first day on campus and risk alienating her friend and roommate? And what about Coach Fleming, who she has to resist every single day at equestrian practice? 
    One kiss starts the ball rolling and a second changes everything, causing a chain of events Brooklyn never could have imagined. As the holidays approach, Brooklyn needs to figure out who and what she is most thankful for. But then who she really is catches up with her and turkey dinners and horse shows are nothing compared to suddenly being faced with a life or death situation.  
    Reading Between The Lines is the fourth installment of The Rosewoods, an exciting new Young Adult series for readers who love fun, flirty love stories.
    Show book
  • Dead Rules - cover

    Dead Rules

    Randy Russell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Till death 
    Jana Webster and Michael Haynes were in love. They were destined to be together forever. 
    Do 
    But Jana's destiny was fatally flawed. And now she's in Dead School, where Mars Dreamcote lurks in the back of the classroom, with his beguiling blue eyes, mysterious smile, and irresistibly warm touch. 
    Us 
    Michael and Jana were incomplete without each other. There was no room for Mars in Jana's life—or death—story. Jana was sure Michael would rush to her side soon. 
    Part 
    But things aren't going according to Jana's plan. So Jana decides to do whatever it takes to make her dreams come true—no matter what rules she has to break.
    Show book
  • A Radiant Sky - cover

    A Radiant Sky

    Jocelyn Davis

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Perfect for fans of Lauren Kate's Fallen series and Becca Fitzpatrick's Hush, Hush saga, this darkly romantic story that began with A Beautiful Dark and gathered intensity in A Fractured Light comes to a thrilling conclusion in A Radiant Sky. 
    Since the night of her seventeenth birthday, Skye has been torn between two opposites: light and dark, the Order and the Rebellion, Devin and Asher. But in a shocking decision, she chose neither. With the help of her friends, Skye now forges her own path, setting out to gather an uprising of Rogues. These half-angels may be the key to maintaining the balance. But completing the mission is more difficult—and dangerous—than she could have imagined. And it comes at a cost: her greatest love may now be a lethal enemy. Because it's not just the Order that sees her as a threat. The Rebellion does, too. Dark days lie ahead, and if Skye is to survive, she'll need to rely on her extraordinary powers and the strength of her will. Because she has a future—and a love—that's worth fighting for.
    Show book
  • Super Fly - The World's Smallest Superhero! - cover

    Super Fly - The World's Smallest...

    Todd H. Doodler

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    From just a tiny larva in diapers to . . . SUPER FLY! This is the story of Eugene Flystein, a small and nerdy, mild-mannered housefly, who also happens to be the world's smallest superhero and humanity's greatest crime fighter.  
     
    SUPER FLY!:  Able to stop tornadoes from destroying towns with just one breath.  
                       Strong enough to push a ship away from a looming iceberg.  
                       He's even read every book in the library twice. Yes, twice! 
     
    Can this four-eyed little bugger, along with his trusty sidekick Fantastic Flea, take on Crazy Cockroach and his army of insect baddies? It's housefly vs. cockroach in this epic battle of good vs. evil. Who will come out on top? Stay tuned!
    Show book
  • Asylum - cover

    Asylum

    Madeleine Roux

    • 1
    • 16
    • 0
    Madeleine Roux's New York Times bestselling Asylum is a thrilling and creepy photo-illustrated novel that Publishers Weekly called "a strong YA debut that reveals the enduring impact of buried trauma on a place." Featuring found photographs from real asylums and filled with chilling mystery and page-turning suspense, Asylum is a horror story that treads the line between genius and insanity, perfect for fans of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. 
    For sixteen-year-old Dan Crawford, the New Hampshire College Prep program is the chance of a lifetime. Except that when Dan arrives, he finds that the usual summer housing has been closed, forcing students to stay in the crumbling Brookline Dorm—formerly a psychiatric hospital. As Dan and his new friends Abby and Jordan start exploring Brookline's twisty halls and hidden basement, they uncover disturbing secrets about what really went on here . . . secrets that link Dan and his friends to the asylum's dark past. Because Brookline was no ordinary mental hospital, and there are some secrets that refuse to stay buried.
    Show book