Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Secret of Dreadwillow Carse - Special Preview - The First 5 Chapters plus Bonus Material - cover

The Secret of Dreadwillow Carse - Special Preview - The First 5 Chapters plus Bonus Material

Brian Farrey

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

  • 1
  • 13
  • 0

Summary

A princess and a peasant girl must embark on a dangerous quest to outwit a centuries-old warning foretelling the fall of the Monarchy in this thrilling modern fairytale.   In the center of the verdant Monarchy lies Dreadwillow Carse, a black and desolate bog that the happy people of the land do their best to ignore. Little is known about it, except for one dire warning: If any monarch enters Dreadwillow Carse, then the Monarchy will fall. Twelve-year-old Princess Jeniah yearns to know what the marsh could possibly conceal that might topple her family’s thousand-year reign of peace and prosperity. Meanwhile, in the nearby town of Emberfell, where everyone lives with unending joy, a girl named Aon hides a sorrow she can never reveal. She knows that something in the carse--something that sings a haunting tune only Aon can hear--holds the cure for her sadness. Yet no matter how many times she tries to enter, the terror-inducing dreadwillow trees keep her away. After a chance meeting, Princess Jeniah and Aon hatch a plan to send Aon into the heart of the carse to unlock its darkest secret. But when Aon doesn’t return, a guilt-stricken Jeniah must enter the carse to try and rescue her friend--even if it means risking the entire Monarchy.The Secret of Dreadwillow Carse weaves together classic fairy-tale elements--a princess, a forbidden land, and a dangerous quest--in a clever, fast-paced adventure that explores the importance of asking questions and the power of friendship.

Who read this book also read:

  • Dark Energy - cover

    Dark Energy

    Robison Wells

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    We are not alone. They are here. And there’s no going back. Perfect for fans of The Fifth Wave and the I Am Number Four series, Dark Energy is a thrilling stand-alone science fiction adventure from Robison Wells, critically acclaimed author of Variant and Blackout. 
    Five days ago, a massive UFO crashed in the Midwest. Since then, nothing—or no one—has come out. 
    If it were up to Alice, she’d be watching the fallout on the news. But her dad is director of special projects at NASA, so she’s been forced to enroll in a boarding school not far from the crash site. Alice is right in the middle of the action, but even she isn’t sure what to expect when the aliens finally emerge. Only one thing is clear: everything has changed.
    Show book
  • The Countdown - cover

    The Countdown

    Kimberly Derting

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    In the concluding book in the otherworldly Taking trilogy, Kyra struggles to understand who she is as she races to save the world from complete destruction. 
    Ever since Kyra was abducted by aliens and then returned to earth, she has known there was something different about her. Now she knows the truth: she is an alien too. Her alien captors replaced all her human DNA with their own—gifting her with supernatural powers like incredible healing, enhanced eyesight, and telekinesis. But when she’s captured by an unexpected enemy, Kyra begins to wonder if her abilities are also a curse. And is she, as her enemies believe, meant to play some key role in helping an impending alien invasion? Is it programmed into her, something inescapable? Or can she fight that destiny? 
    No matter what the truth is, Kyra is sure of one thing: She just rescued the love of her life, Tyler, and she is not going to stand by and let anyone hurt him or her friends. Whatever it takes, Kyra will do everything in her power to save the world…even if it means making the ultimate sacrifice.
    Show book
  • The Queen B* Strikes Back - The Queen B* #2 - cover

    The Queen B* Strikes Back - The...

    Crista McHugh

    • 1
    • 26
    • 0
    Alexis Wyndham isn’t quite sure what to think about her “friendship” with star quarterback, Brett Pederson. Sure, he has more intelligence than the entire football team combined. Not to mention that fact he’s a great kisser. When he asks her to help him with his college admission essays, she isn’t sure if he’s doing it to spend more time with her or if he’s just using her for her brains. But after her nemesis, Summer Hoyt, makes it clear she’s not finished chasing after Brett, Alexis begins realize how hard she’s fallen for Brett. Now the war is on, and the head cheerleader will find out why she should never take on a Queen B*.
    Show book
  • Gone - cover

    Gone

    Michael Grant

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    The first in New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant's breathtaking dystopian sci-fi saga, Gone is a page-turning thriller that invokes the classic The Lord of the Flies along with the horror of Stephen King. 
    In the blink of an eye, everyone disappears. Gone. Except for the young. There are teens, but not one single adult. Just as suddenly, there are no phones, no internet, no television. No way to get help. And no way to figure out what's happened. Hunger threatens. Bullies rule. A sinister creature lurks. Animals are mutating. And the teens themselves are changing, developing new talents—unimaginable, dangerous, deadly powers—that grow stronger by the day. It's a terrifying new world. Sides are being chosen, a fight is shaping up. Townies against rich kids. Bullies against the weak. Powerful against powerless. And time is running out: on your birthday, you disappear just like everyone else. . . . 
    Michael Grant's Gone has been praised for its compelling storytelling, multidimensional characters, and multiple points of view.
    Show book
  • The Body Finder - cover

    The Body Finder

    Kimberly Derting

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    The first book in the Body Finder series from Kimberly Derting is equal parts romance and mystery. 
    Sixteen-year-old Violet is hiding two secrets. The first is her confusing new feelings for her childhood best friend Jay. The second is her unusual ability to sense the dead...and the people who killed them. Violet has never considered her morbid ability to be a gift, but when a serial killer begins terrorizing her small town, Violet realizes she may be the only person who can stop him. 
    Ever protective of her, Jay agrees to help Violet, and as they search, Violet realizes she isn’t the only one whose emotions have changed. But as they fall in love, Violet is also getting closer and closer to discovering the killer...and becoming his prey herself.  
     
    The Body Finder is the compulsive first book in the four-book Body Finder series by Kimberly Derting.
    Show book
  • Autumn Unlocked - Summer Unplugged #2 - cover

    Autumn Unlocked - Summer...

    Amy Sparling

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    The sequel to Summer Unplugged. This is a novella at approx 17,000 words. 
     
    After a summer grounded from technology, Bayleigh is back home and rebuilding her relationship with her mother. Her boyfriend Jace keeps his promise and stays in Texas, where he works at a local motocross track. 
     
    Knowing her relationship with Jace is something special and not like all the guys before him, Bayleigh is determined to keep their love strong, despite his notorious fame in the motocross world and the dozens of girls throwing themselves at him in his new job. 
     
    The Entire Series 
     
    Book 1 - Summer Unplugged 
    Book 2 - Autumn Unlocked 
    Book 3 - Winter Untold 
    Book 4 - Spring Unleashed 
    Book 5 - The Beginning of Forever (a novel) 
    Book 6 - Autumn Adventure 
    Book 7 - Winter Wonderful 
    Book 8 - The Girl with my Heart (a novel from Jace's point of view) 
    Book 9 – Autumn Awakening 
    Book 10 – Winter Whirlwind 
     
    Plus the spin-off series: 
     
    The Summer Series 
    Summer Alone 
    Summer Together 
    Summer Apart 
    Summer Forever 
     
    Jett’s Series 
    Believe in Me 
    Believe in Us 
    Believe in Forever
    Show book