Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Boy Who Made it Rain - cover

The Boy Who Made it Rain

Brian Conaghan

Publisher: Sparkling Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

When a school tragedy happens, you probably lay the blame on society, the Internet, TV or violent films. Not many of you think it could be the parents' or the teachers' fault, do you? But then, is it? We all have our say, spout off opinions in different directions according to our view of the world. In this novel, too, they all have their say, but who's right?
 
At only sixteen Clem's world is turned upside down. His Willy-Loman-like father, a travelling salesman and a loser, is transferred from Eastbourne to Glasgow and along with him go Clem and his meek accommodating mother. But Glasgow is rough and Clem's posh English accent is not well-accepted in the sink school he attends. And he's a brilliant scholar. He soon becomes the target for McEvoy's group of thugs for whom slashing faces is the most important ambition in their depraved lives.
 
"innovative and insightful... couldn’t wait to devour part two" - Times Educational Supplement
 
"I was utterly flabbergasted... one of the most compelling novels I've ever read" - Heffers Review,  Cambridge
 
"Brilliant writing, brilliant structure, brilliant book" - Des Dillon, author of Me and Ma Gal
 
"definitely up there with the modern classics" - What? Magazine
 
"A Must-Read for Teens and Adults: The Boy Who Made It Rain is an innovative novel that will keep you glued to the story until you turn the last page and learn the final outcome." - Fran Lewis, New York Reviewer.
 
 

Other books that might interest you

  • Unchained: Blood Bond: Parts 1 2 & 3 (Volume 1) - cover

    Unchained: Blood Bond: Parts 1 2...

    Helen Hardt

    • 1
    • 33
    • 0
    Dante Gabriel is starving. What he craves is red gold—human blood. After being held captive as a blood slave to a female vampire for years, he has finally escaped. Unchained at last, he follows his nose to the nearest blood bank to sate his hunger.
     
    ER nurse Erin Hamilton expects just another busy night shift…until she finds a gorgeous stranger vandalizing the hospital blood bank. Though her logic tells her to turn him in, she’s pulled by stronger and unfamiliar emotions to protect the man who seems oddly infatuated with her scent. Chemistry sizzles between them, but Dante, plagued by nightmares of his time in captivity, fears he won’t be able to control himself…especially when he discovers a secret she doesn’t even know she’s hiding.
    Show book
  • Blood Bond: 5 - cover

    Blood Bond: 5

    Helen Hardt

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Once bonded, never broken. Those words from the ancient Vampyre Texts are what keep Dante Gabriel going. He refuses to glamour Erin Hamilton into giving him her blood. He loves her, and he wants a true blood bond with her, not a forced one that is easily broken.
     
    Though she tries, Erin finds she can’t resist Dante. When he comes for her, she always submits willingly, despite her best intentions. Once she accepts that vampires indeed exist, more supernatural elements begin to surface around her, and she realizes the mystery of the disappearing women is much more sinister than she’d first thought.
    Show book
  • Bridge of Sighs - cover

    Bridge of Sighs

    Priscilla Masters

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    Two violent suicides leave Coroner Martha Gunn with some disturbing questions to answer – but the most difficult one of all lies closer to home . . . Gina Marconi was a beautiful young barrister with everything to live for – a loving fiancé, a young son and a successful career. So why did she leave her home in the middle of the night and drive her car into a stone wall? Soon afterwards, Patrick Elson, a clever twelve-year-old schoolboy, jumps off a bridge on to the A5. The victims are unrelated, but neither suicide makes sense. Could there be a connection? Then there’s a third unexplained death: DI Alex Randall’s wife, Erica. With Alex on gardening leave pending an investigation, Martha must search for answers to the questions raised by the suicides on her own. Not only that, she must confront the most difficult question of all: could Alex Randall be a murderer?
    Show book
  • Since We Fell - A Novel - cover

    Since We Fell - A Novel

    Dennis Lehane

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 
    Barnes and Noble Best Book of the Year 
    Bookpage Best of 2017 
    Booklist Best Crime Novel 
    PopSugar Best Book of 2017 
    The new novel from New York Times bestseller Dennis Lehane, author of Mystic River and Shutter Island 
    “Lehane is the master of complex human characters thrust into suspenseful, page-turning situations.” —Gillian Flynn 
     
    Since We Fell follows Rachel Childs, a former journalist who, after an on-air mental breakdown, now lives as a virtual shut-in. In all other respects, however, she enjoys an ideal life with an ideal husband. Until a chance encounter on a rainy afternoon causes that ideal life to fray. As does Rachel’s marriage. As does Rachel herself. Sucked into a conspiracy thick with deception, violence, and possibly madness, Rachel must find the strength within herself to conquer unimaginable fears and mind-altering truths. By turns heart- breaking, suspenseful, romantic, and sophisticated, Since We Fell is a novel of profound psychological insight and tension. It is Dennis Lehane at his very best.
    Show book
  • The Queen of Blood - Book One of The Queens of Renthia - cover

    The Queen of Blood - Book One of...

    Sarah Beth Durst

    • 3
    • 2
    • 0
    Winner of a 2017 ALA Alex Award! 
    A Tor.com Best of 2016 pick! 
    Set in the magical world of Renthia, The Queen of Blood is Sarah Beth Durst’s ambitious entry into adult epic fantasy. With the danger of Peter Brett’s The Warded Man, heart of Naomi Novik’s Uprooted, and lyricism of Patrick Rothfuss’ The Name of the Wind, this is the first chapter in a series destined to be a classic. 
    Everything has a spirit: the willow tree with leaves that kiss the pond, the stream that feeds the river, the wind that exhales fresh snow . . . 
    But the spirits that reside within this land want to rid it of all humans. One woman stands between these malevolent spirits and the end of humankind: the queen. She alone has the magical power to prevent the spirits from destroying every man, woman, and child. But queens are still just human, and no matter how strong or good, the threat of danger always looms.  
    With the position so precarious, young women are chosen to train as heirs. Daleina, a seemingly quiet academy student, is under no illusions as to her claim to the throne, but simply wants to right the wrongs that have befallen the land. Ven, a disgraced champion, has spent his exile secretly fighting against the growing number of spirit attacks. Joining forces, these daring partners embark on a treacherous quest to find the source of the spirits’ restlessness—a journey that will test their courage and trust, and force them to stand against both enemies and friends to save their land . . .  before it’s bathed in blood.
    Show book
  • Hit List - cover

    Hit List

    Jack McSporran

    • 2
    • 17
    • 0
    A major security breach. Blackmail. A list of names with deadly consequences.When her old agency is hacked by an elusive crime syndicate, ex-secret agent Maggie Black is enjoying the carefree life of a civilian. Then she learns the names of the agency’s agents, past and present, are being leaked by the hackers, one-by-one, until their notorious boss is released from prison.
     
    With the government refusing to negotiate with the blackmailers, Maggie is forced out of retirement and dragged back into the perilous life of espionage she swore to leave behind. Her name is on that list, as well as those she cares about most.
     
    As the bodies of agents begin to pile up, Maggie risks it all to hunt down the hackers. From the war-torn streets of Somalia to the seedy red-light district of Amsterdam, Maggie must race against time before her dark past ruins any chance at a future.HIT LIST is the second exhilarating adventure in the Maggie Black thriller series, and the perfect read for fans of Lee Child and James Patterson.
     
    Get your copy of HIT LIST today and delve into the sequel of the binge-worthy series everyone is talking about.
    Show book