Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Night Call - cover

Night Call

Brenden Carlson

Publisher: Dundurn

  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A sci-fi thriller/mystery for readers of Jonathan Lethem, Richard Morgan, and Isaac Asimov, set in an alternate version of 1930s Manhattan
New York is a double-decker city, where the rich live high above the Lower City on the ground, and semi-autonomous machines, which think and act almost like humans, are considered second-class citizens
The "night call" of the title refers to an off-the-book murder case handed to Elias Roche, a former cop, who solves sensitive mysteries law enforcement doesn't want to touch
Author is an exciting, fresh new voice in sci-fi mystery

Other books that might interest you

  • Hateful Things - The Children of D'Hara episode 2 - cover

    Hateful Things - The Children of...

    Terry Goodkind

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    'This is not the way I wanted it to be. Any time but now. Even if by a miracle these children are born, their birth will be their death sentence' – Kahlan Amnell. 
     
    Only magic protects D'Hara from the Golden Goddess and her kind, the magic of Richard Rahl and Kahlan Amnell, the magic that the Mother Confessor carries within her womb. 
     
    To take this world, the Goddess must ensure Richard and Kahlan's children are never born. 
     
    In the dark shadows of the People's Palace the predators are gathering, watching, learning, feeding... 
     
    Hateful Things is the second episode in Terry Goodkind's new serial novel, The Children of D'Hara. Told in irresistibly intense instalments, this is the story of a world confronted by an apocalyptic nightmare. 
     
    'I want to introduce everyone to THE CHILDREN OF D'HARA, a new series that continues the story of the lives of Richard and Kahlan. This is a journey that began 25 years ago with the 1994 release of WIZARD'S FIRST RULE, when Richard first met Kahlan that fateful day in the Hartland woods. 
     
    After the Sword of Truth series ended, I knew there was more to Richard and Kahlan's story. Much more. A whole world more. For years, readers have asked me about Richard and Kahlan's lives after the Sword of Truth series... and importantly, about their children. 
     
    While my masterwork, Sword of Truth, concluded with WARHEART – 20 languages and 26 million books sold – I was burning to tell readers more about Richard and Kahlan. For that reason, this new series starts immediately after the 'Sword of Truth' books ended. Without skipping a beat, readers will plunge back into Richard and Kahlan's lives, with new episodes releasing every three months. 
     
    So it is that I want to welcome you all back into the Sword of Truth world with many of the characters besides Richard and Kahlan, such as the Mord-Sith, that we have come to love. Learn what the star shift has done to their world and what monsters now lurk in shadows. I promise an arresting, beautiful, and sometimes tragic adventure that will keep you glued to this irresistible story.' – Terry Goodkind.
    Show book
  • Conan - cover

    Conan

    Robert E. Howard

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    "Know, oh prince, that between the years when the oceans drank Atlantis and the gleaming cities, and the years of the rise of the Sons of Aryas, there was an Age undreamed of, when shining kingdoms lay spread across the world like blue mantles beneath the stars—Nemedia, Ophir, Brythunia, Hyperborea, Zamora with its dark-haired women and towers of spider-haunted mystery, Zingara with its chivalry, Koth that bordered on the pastoral lands of Shem, Stygia with its shadow-guarded tombs, Hyrkania whose riders wore steel and silk and gold. But the proudest kingdom of the world was Aquilonia, reigning supreme in the dreaming west. Hither came Conan, the Cimmerian, black-haired, sullen- eyed,sword in hand, a thief, a reaver, a slayer, with gigantic melancholies and gigantic mirth, to tread the jeweled thrones of the Earth under his sandalled feet."
    The complete Robert E. Howard's Conan in a new omnibus edition that includes:
    The Frost Giant's Daughter
    The Tower of The Elephant
    The God in The Bowl
    Rogues in The House
    Queen of The Black Coast
    The Vale of Lost Women
    Black Colossus
    Shadows in The Moonlight
    A Witch Shall Be Born
    Shadows in Zamboula
    Xuthal Of the Dusk
    The Devil in Iron
    The People of The Black Circle
    The Black Stranger
    The Pool of The Black One
    Red Nails
    Jewels of Gwahlur
    Beyond the Black River
    The Phoenix on the Sword
    The Scarlet Citadel
    The Hour of the Dragon
    Synopsis, Drafts and Unfinished Stories
    The Hyborian Age
    Show book
  • Hardening the Steel - cover

    Hardening the Steel

    Mark B. Gilgam

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Is it possible to teach healing to the last descendant of a murderous race and keep him from war? “Blood will not be cheated,” those are the words of a Kri-warrior dying in the Battle of the Bloodswamp.Kitt grows up on the island of Isenkliff in the Grey Northern Sea, where Brynnir’s forge stands. He works hard to become a master blacksmith, forging the Aurora Steel, and does not doubt that he knows all about his parents, the smith Eckehart and the healer Aslaug. In thirteen stories, he faces Ice-Maidens and Ice-Giants, and once, a Silver Sword is wielded by a shadow woman. He runs for his life in the Dark Wood Murkowydir, where lost cities sleep and creatures that have died out elsewhere survive, where the Feen Woodstalkers live and are feared for their stealth and cruelty.
    Show book
  • Boundless - A Drizzt Novel - cover

    Boundless - A Drizzt Novel

    R. A. Salvatore

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This second book in New York Times bestselling author R. A. Salvatore’s all-new Forgotten Realms trilogy—full of swordplay, danger, and imaginative thrills—features one of fantasy’s most beloved and enduring characters, Drizzt Do’Urden. 
     
    Split between time and two worlds, Zaknafein had always been conflicted. That inner turmoil was magnified by his inferior position as a male dark elf in the matriarchal drow society. Only his status as one of the greatest warriors—as well as his friendship with the mercenary Jarlaxle—kept him sane. When he finally perished, he was content knowing he left behind a legacy as substantial as his son Drizzt. 
    Except . . . someone isn’t ready for Zaknafein to be dead. And now he’s back, hundreds of years later, in a world he doesn’t recognize. His son’s companions are not the prideful—and bigoted—males the drow warrior was accustomed to in his previous life. Drizzt’s circle includes dwarves, elves, and, perhaps worst of all, a human wife. 
    Struggling to navigate this transformed new world, Zaknafein realizes that some things have not changed: the threat of demons and the machinations of a drow matron no longer content with her family’s position in the ranks of Houses. 
    Though he has been displaced in time, Zaknafein is still a warrior. And no matter what prejudices he must overcome, he knows he will do his duty and fight by Drizzt’s side to stem the tide of darkness that threatens the Realms.
    Show book
  • Protect the Prince - cover

    Protect the Prince

    Jennifer Estep

    • 2
    • 9
    • 0
    USA TODAY Bestseller!  
    Magic, murder, adventure, and romance combine in this second novel in the exciting Crown of Shards saga from New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jennifer Estep. 
    Everleigh Blair might be the new gladiator queen of Bellona, but her problems are far from over. 
    First, Evie has to deal with a court full of arrogant, demanding nobles, all of whom want to get their greedy hands on her crown. As if that wasn’t bad enough, an assassin tries to kill Evie in her own throne room. 
    Despite the dangers, Evie goes ahead with a scheduled trip to the neighboring kingdom of Andvari in order to secure a desperately needed alliance. But complicating matters is the stubborn Andvarian king, who wants to punish Evie for the deaths of his countrymen during the Seven Spire massacre. 
    Dark forces are also at work inside the Andvarian palace, and Evie soon realizes that no one is safe. Worse, her immunity to magic starts acting in strange, unexpected ways, which makes Evie wonder whether she is truly strong enough to be a Winter Queen. 
    Evie’s magic, life, and crown aren’t the only things in danger—so is her heart, thanks to Lucas Sullivan, the Andvarian king’s bastard son and Evie’s … well, Evie isn’t quite sure what Sullivan is to her. 
    Only one thing is certain—protecting a prince might be even harder than killing a queen…
    Show book
  • Summertide - cover

    Summertide

    Charlotte E. English

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    ‘You may have noticed,’ said Maut, ‘that the Tree is on the move.’
     
    On the edge of the town of Kottow stands the tallest (and oddest) Tree in the land. It’s a staid and solid arbour — until the Tree picks up its mighty old roots and wanders off, taking its resident band of misfits away with it. Whither goes the Tree? Not even the wizard can say.
     
    'There is something mighty fey about all this, or my name ain't Diggory Stokey.'
     
    Far away from Kottow, a forest lies lost in the mists of a dream. There’s much to mend in this hoary old wood, for the Summer’s been swept from the glittering skies, and no one’s keeping an eye on the Winter...
     
    'Enchanted forests,' Mudleaf spat. 'Bah. Like it's been raining magic this long age through.'
     
    The good folk of Kottow aren’t used to so wayward a magic — not even Maut Fey, the one with the sunlight behind her eyes. But magic will have its way with them, whether they will or no.
     
    Summertide’s waiting. Can the folk of the Tree bring it back, or will the wild magic wash them away?
     
    “If you mixed elements of the Faraway Tree, Narnia, Frozen and A Midsummer Night’s Dream together, you might get something like Summertide. Maybe.” — The Author
     
    ‘Almond tarts for her MAJESTY!’ someone else roared. ‘Apple ice-wine for her majesty!’
     
    Praise for the Wonder Tales:
     
    “...large helpings of wit and whimsy... readers who enjoy the old-fashioned language of classic fairy tales will be pleased with this one.” - Publishers Weekly on Faerie Fruit
     
    “Her faultless prose by turns ascends with the lark, leads you down secret paths like the willow-the-wisp, bewitches you into bewilderment, and sparkles with eye-bedazzling wonder...” - NYT bestselling author Mercedes Lackey on Gloaming
    Show book