Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Turning Secrets - A Stonechild and Rouleau Mystery - cover

Turning Secrets - A Stonechild and Rouleau Mystery

Brenda Chapman

Publisher: Dundurn

  • 1
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

Features a timely exploration of the sexual exploitation of vulnerable young women
Author is a former teacher and senior communications advisor who has written 19 books; this is the 6th in the popular Stonechild & Rouleau series
Author is an experienced public speaker who has appeared on numerous television and radio programs including CBC, 1310 Radio, Global, Rogers Ottawa, and Bell Fibe TV

Other books that might interest you

  • The Pupil - An unforgettable psychological thriller with a shocking twist perfect for summer reading - cover

    The Pupil - An unforgettable...

    Dawn Goodwin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    One moment of carelessness. Four shattered lives. A chance for revenge. 
     
    Viola Matthews is sure she's met Katherine Baxter before. So when her husband Samuel Morton introduces Viola to the quiet, unassuming woman he has offered to mentor, she vows to discover the truth and why exactly she can't remember their meeting. 
     
    As their worlds collide and the bond between Samuel and Katherine deepens, Viola realises she must take control. As memories begin to filter back and the tension in her relationship rises, Viola begins to piece together the truth and Katherine needs to pay for what happened twelve years ago... 
     
    Perfect for fans of My Lovely Wife, The Mother in Law, Mel Sherratt and Claire Allan.
    Show book
  • What She Knew - A Novel - cover

    What She Knew - A Novel

    Gilly Macmillan

    • 1
    • 14
    • 0
    THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 
    In her enthralling debut, Gilly Macmillan explores a mother’s search for her missing son, weaving a taut psychological thriller as gripping and skillful as The Girl on the Train and The Guilty One. 
    In a heartbeat, everything changes… 
    Rachel Jenner is walking in a Bristol park with her eight-year-old son, Ben, when he asks if he can run ahead. It’s an ordinary request on an ordinary Sunday afternoon, and Rachel has no reason to worry—until Ben vanishes.   
    Police are called, search parties go out, and Rachel, already insecure after her recent divorce, feels herself coming undone. As hours and then days pass without a sign of Ben, everyone who knew him is called into question, from Rachel’s newly married ex-husband to her mother-of-the-year sister. Inevitably, media attention focuses on Rachel too, and the public’s attitude toward her begins to shift from sympathy to suspicion. 
    As she desperately pieces together the threadbare clues, Rachel realizes that nothing is quite as she imagined it to be, not even her own judgment. And the greatest dangers may lie not in the anonymous strangers of every parent’s nightmares, but behind the familiar smiles of those she trusts the most. 
    Where is Ben? The clock is ticking...
    Show book
  • Damaged Goods - cover

    Damaged Goods

    Debbi Mack

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    A Marine veteran may have survived combat, but can she survive this case?
     
    Unlicensed private eye Erica Jensen works as a “researcher” who performs background checks, conducts surveillance, and takes on other dubious assignments while battling post-traumatic stress and an opioid addiction. When a wealthy man hires her to find his missing daughter, Erica ends up with more work than she bargained for: a murder victim and unwanted attention from the killers.
     
    While seeking the daughter, Erica uncovers evidence that raises questions about the dead man. Did the missing daughter know him? Did the victim have ties to an artifacts smuggling ring? Erica’s search for answers puts her in the crosshairs of people who kill to keep secrets.
     
    PRAISE FOR THE BOOK
     
    “Debbi Mack’s novella, Damaged Goods, is a fulfilling and exciting read and proof that the novella is alive and well. Highly recommended.”— David Swinson, author of The Second Girl and Trigger
     
    "Pitch perfect pace and plot with a well-drawn protagonist."— M. Ruth Myers, Shamus Award winning author of the Maggie Sullivan mystery series
     
    “Marine veteran turned unlicensed PI Erica Jensen is a flawed and intriguing heroine in this meticulous mystery. Charlie Fox would work alongside her any day!” — Zoë Sharp, author of Bad Turn
     
    "A gritty, stunning portrayal of the impact and response to post-traumatic stress, packaged inside a compelling mystery."— Frank Zafiro, author of the Charlie-316 series
     
    "Mack keeps the action rolling along while fleshing out a keeper of a protagonist. Excellent read for neo-noir and private eye fans!"— W.D. Gagliani, author of The Judas Hit and the Nick Lupo Series
    Show book
  • A Date With Death - cover

    A Date With Death

    Mark Roberts

    • 8
    • 41
    • 2
    All they wanted was to find their happy-ever-after... Instead, they met their deaths. 
     
    Three women have been killed in Liverpool. The MO points to a stranger, and now DCI Eve Clay is on the trail of a vicious man who preys on lonely women on dating sites. He signs off the same way with each message: "Kiss kiss, night night." 
     
    His crimes are escalating – and Eve has to stop him before another girl dies. But first she needs to find him. And that means going undercover online, and posing as his perfect victim... 
     
    REVIEWS FOR MARK ROBERTS: 
     
    'A fast-paced, chilling novel ... Short chapters, crackling dialogue and action that never lets up for a single moment ... Mark Roberts is what British crime fiction has been looking for' CRIMESQUAD. 
     
    'Intricate, fast-paced, with a sense of the macabre ... A genuinely innovative crime writer' DAILY MAIL. 
     
    'Dark, gripping and believable. Roberts' intimate knowledge of Liverpool makes the city into a sinister character of itself' GRAHAM MASTERTON. 
     
    'This is one of the most thought-provoking, powerful serial killing murders I've ever read. It's brutal, but I found that the plot was so deep, so twisted, intense and clever that there was no way I could put the book down until the final page' BESTSELLING CRIME THRILLERS.
    Show book
  • The Stranger Within - cover

    The Stranger Within

    Tara Lyons

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A London detective must get inside the mind of a mentally ill killer in this psychological thriller by the author of No Safe Home.   Detective Inspector Denis Hamilton is looking forward to a little time with his family when he’s called into an urgent briefing on his weekend off. Someone’s been murdered inside a mental health facility—a crime that draws Hamilton back into an investigation he thought had been closed long ago. Putting his personal worries aside, Hamilton and his Murder Investigation Team go on the hunt for Grace Murphy: an escaped mental patient hell-bent on revenge.   As the case dredges up difficult memories from his tragic past, Hamilton will have to open his mind to the difficulties of mental illness in order to solve it. How do you track a person who’s become a stranger to herself? But when a colleague's life is threatened, it’s Hamilton unlock the truth of Grace’s illness before it’s too late
    Show book
  • Beneath the Ashes - cover

    Beneath the Ashes

    Jane Isaac

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A “carefully executed police procedural, that hits all the targets” from the bestselling author of Before It’s Too Late and The Lies Within (Angela Clarke, author of On My Life).  The floor felt hard beneath her face. Nancy opened her eyes. Blinked several times. A pain seared through her head. She could feel fluid. No. She was lying in fluid.  When a body is discovered in a burnt-out barn in the Warwickshire countryside, DI Will Jackman is called to investigate. Nancy Faraday wakes up on the kitchen floor. The house had been broken into and her boyfriend is missing. As the case unravels, DI Jackman realizes that nothing is quite as it appears and everyone, it seems, has a secret. Can he discover the truth behind the body in the fire, and track down the killer before Nancy becomes the next victim? “I thought I’d never read a book that came close to the realities of crime and policing. Then I read this.”—Ian Patrick, author of Rubicon “A smart, intelligent and tightly woven police procedural with real depth of human emotion at its heart.”—Rebecca Bradley, bestselling author of the DI Hannah Robbins series “A sharp, gripping read which drew me in from the first page. With engaging characters and an impressive level of authenticity, this is a police procedural that you won’t be able to put down.”—Caroline Mitchell, author of Silent Victim  “If you like pacy convincing police procedurals this is one for you.”—Kate Ellis, author of the DI Wesley Peterson crime series
    Show book