"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island." - Walt Disney
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Closing Time - A Stonechild and Rouleau Mystery - cover

Closing Time - A Stonechild and Rouleau Mystery

Brenda Chapman

Publisher: Dundurn

  • 0
  • 17
  • 0

Summary

Secrets abound at a northern Ontario lodge when a teenage employee is murdered. 
 

It’s late summer and a restless Officer Kala Stonechild has taken her foster niece, Dawn, on a canoe trip at Pine Hollow Lodge in the wilderness north of Sault Ste. Marie. But the getaway turns deadly when a teenage girl goes missing on her way home from an evening shift at the lodge’s restaurant. 
 

After the girl’s body is found between the lodge and the nearby town of Searchmont, Stonechild reluctantly agrees to help with the investigation. She’s teamed with Clark Harrison, an officer she worked with during her last posting in northwestern Ontario. As the investigation heats up, Stonechild’s past threatens the close bonds she’s forged back home. Will she return to her life in Kingston, or will the rekindling of an old relationship lure her away for good?

Other books that might interest you

  • Billionaire - cover

    Billionaire

    J.L. Ryan

    • 7
    • 36
    • 0
    Reluctant billionaire Alexander Jacobs was not prepared for the events that would forever change his life. His parents were recently killed by a drunk driver, and now, he's forced to run the family's corporation. There's only one problem. He has zero business experience. He's dreading the upcoming funeral for his parents, but when he learns that his longtime friend Brienne Warhol is coming, it makes him feel just a little better. She's attending Columbia Law School, but when she hears about his parents, she knows she has to be with him.
     
    He went to college locally and missed Brienne's friendship when she left for New York. She fantasizes about him constantly, but he thinks of her only as "one of the guys." When she finally graduates from law school, they meet up for a celebratory glass of champagne.
     
    She has too much to drink, and before she can stop herself, she kisses him. Her head is spinning, and after he looks at her like she crossed the line, she feels sick. She wishes she could take back that damn kiss.
     
    Did Brienne ruin her chances of a romantic relationship with Alexander, the only man she's ever wanted in her life, or did her "move" spark something inside him that he's never felt before?
     
    Books Included In This Romance Boxed Set
     
    The Billionaire's Desire 
     
    Unexpected Romance 
     
    The Billionaire's Addiction 
     
    Buy Now!
    Show book
  • The Hellion - cover

    The Hellion

    Harriet Young

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Whalley, 1537: On a day like any other, a devastating fire changes the lives of two young girls.  
    What happens next triggers a series of events leading inexplicably to the cells of Lancaster Gaol. 
    Lancashire, 1612: The most notorious witchcraft trials in England are taking place.  
    Among the accused, three generations of the same family. A family rooted in Pendle, tied to the infamous Malkin Towers and always followed by a whisper of evil. A family destroyed by the evidence given by a nine year old girl…
    Show book
  • The Moscow Sleepers - A Liz Carlyle Thriller - cover

    The Moscow Sleepers - A Liz...

    Stella Rimington

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    For fans of Homeland and The Night Manager, the latest thriller in Stella Rimington's bestselling espionage series sees Liz Carlyle investigating a sinister Russian plot. 
     
    A Russian immigrant lies dying in a hospice in upstate Vermont. When a stranger visits, claiming to be a childhood friend, the FBI is alerted and news quickly travels to MI5 in London. 
     
    Liz Carlyle and her colleague Peggy Kinsolving are already knee-deep in conspiracies, and as they unravel the events that landed the man in the hospital, Liz learns of a network of Russians and their plot to undermine the German government. Liz and Peggy set out to locate and stop this insidious network, traveling the world from Montreal to Moscow.  
     
    The latest expertly plotted thriller in Stella Rimington's bestselling series, The Moscow Sleepers is a white-knuckle ride through the dark underbelly of international intelligence, simmering political animosities, and global espionage.
    Show book
  • The Lost Girls - a gripping historical fiction page turner - cover

    The Lost Girls - a gripping...

    Jennifer Wells

    • 1
    • 43
    • 2
    Everyone remembers the day the girls went missing. 
     
    May Day 1912, a day that haunts Missensham. The day two girls disappeared. The day the girls were murdered. 
     
    Iris Caldwell and Nell Ryland were never meant to be friends. From two very different backgrounds, one the heir to the Caldwell estate, the other a humble vicar's daughter. Both have their secrets, both have their pasts, but they each find solace with one another and soon their futures become irrevocably intertwined. 
     
    Now, many years later, old footage has emerged which shows that Iris Caldwell may not have died on that spring morning. The village must work out what happened the day the girls went missing...
    Show book
  • The Long Dark Road - an addictive and page-turning thriller - cover

    The Long Dark Road - an...

    P.R. Black

    • 2
    • 31
    • 0
    If you go, there's no coming back. 
     
    Dr Georgia Healey can't grieve. Her nineteen-year-old daughter went for a walk two years ago and vanished. The police never found Stephanie's body. The case has gone stale, but Georgia can't let it go. She knows Stephanie's out there, somewhere.
     
    On the anniversary of Stephanie's disappearance, Georgia's ready to re-interrogate university students, lecturers, Steph's past boyfriends, everyone. She treads the exact path where Stephanie vanished. Yet the shocking truth is even more than she can handle.
     
    When you seek the lost, be prepared for what you find . . . 
     
    Praise for P.R. Black: 
     
    'It's edge-of-the-seat stuff. The plot is good. I really couldn't see how it was going to work out ... It's a cracker' BOOKBAG
     
    'I absolutely loved this heart-stopping, spine-tingling novel that had me completely and utterly gripped throughout' Amazon Reviewer
     
    'Cleverly written with some great shockers and I had no idea how it would end – I wasn't disappointed' Amazon Reviewer
     
    'This was a fast-paced murder thriller that kept me turning the pages late into the night. It was intelligent and slick' Amazon Reviewer
     
    'It's always something of a risk trying a new author, but I was really glad I did ... I did not see the plot twist coming, and it was very surprising' Amazon Reviewer
    Show book
  • The Geneva Trap - A Liz Carlyle novel - cover

    The Geneva Trap - A Liz Carlyle...

    Stella Rimington

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    At a tracking station in Virginia, U.S. Navy officers watch in horror as  one of their communications satellites plummets into the Indian Ocean  and panic spreads through the British and American intelligence  services. 
     
    When a Russian intelligence officer approaches MI5 with  vital information about the cyber sabotage, he refuses to talk to  anyone but Liz Carlyle. But who is he, and how is he connected to Liz? 
     
    Is  this a Russian plot to disable the West's defenses? Or is the threat  coming from elsewhere? As Liz and her team search for a mole inside the  Ministry of Defense, the trail takes them from Geneva, to Marseilles,  and to Korea in a race against time to stop the Cold War from heating  up.
    Show book