Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Supernatural Short Stories - cover

Supernatural Short Stories

Bram Stoker

Publisher: Arcturus Publishing

  • 2
  • 13
  • 0

Summary

Legends of vampires, werewolves, and unruly spirits have been a feature of European folklore for centuries. The authors whose work is collected together in this volume range from early Gothic writers to modern pulp enthusiasts.English writers like John William Polidori (1795-1821), the physician who wrote The Vampyre, and William H. G. Kingston (1814-1880), were pioneers of supernatural fiction, while others chose to master the ghost story. E. F. Benson was a part time archaeologist and M. R. James, a medieval historian at King's College, Cambridge. James would read his ghost stories aloud to his friends and students at Christmas-time. With good reason, he has been described as 'the best ghost-story writer England has ever produced.'Classic literary writers such as Ambrose Bierce and Guy de Maupassant found an outlet for their imagination in their terrifying tales, and later writers like Clifford Ball and M. P. Shiel established supernatural fiction in the pulp magazines of the early 20th century.Together, these stories demonstrate a stunning mastery of atmosphere and show an unmatched ability to terrify readers to this day.This collection features several of the leading purveyors of supernatural horror. Authors include:Clifford BallE. F. BensonAmbrose BierceFrancis Marion CrawfordCharlotte Perkins GilmanM. R. JamesWilliam H. G. KingstonArthur MachenGuy de MaupassantJohn William PolidoriM. P. ShielBram Stoker

Other books that might interest you

  • Shopping with Mrs Blakemore - The Blakemore Files #2 - cover

    Shopping with Mrs Blakemore -...

    Olivia Gaines

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    The Blakemores are back in this second installment of the short story series where readers learn more about Saxton Blakemore, his family and the reason he stayed married to Odessa. 
    Settle into a comfy chair with your eReader as the Blakemores begin a new adventure under the guise of their newly formed company, Blakemore Imports and Collectibles. In this edition, they are heading into Panama to collect intel on arms shipments being funneled through the Central American country. Their mission, observe, take photos and do not engage. 
    But, we are talking about Odessa Blakemore, aren’t we? There are snakes and ligers, and smugglers, oh my. The Blakemores also make a horrific discovery while making a few new allies. However, it is the new enemies they have made, which may be the death of this twosome.
    Show book
  • The Price of the Haircut - Stories - cover

    The Price of the Haircut - Stories

    Brock Clarke

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From an acclaimed and original writer comes a new collection of stories bursting with absurdist plot twists and laced with trenchant wit. Brock Clarke, author of An Arsonist’s Guide to Writers’ Homes in New England and Exley, among other novels, now offers up bite-sized morsels of his trademark social satire that will have readers laughing, and perhaps shifting uncomfortably in their seats. The title story delivers a cringingly biting dissection of racial attitudes in contemporary America, and Clarke also turns his eagle eye to subjects like PTSD, the fate of child actors, and, most especially, marital discord in stories like “Considering Lizzie Borden, Her Axe, My Wife” and “The Misunderstandings.” In “The Pity Palace,” a masterful study in self-absorption and self-delusion, a reclusive husband in Florence, Italy, who believes his wife has left him for a famous novelist, sells tickets to tourists anxious to meet someone more miserable than they. It’s a distinctly Clarkean world, in which readers find themselves reflected back with the distortion of funhouse mirrors—and swept up on a wild ride of heart-wrenching insight and self-discovery.
    Show book
  • Edgar Allan Poe: Poetry and Tales (LOA #19) - cover

    Edgar Allan Poe: Poetry and...

    Edgar Allan Poe

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    This ebook compiles Edgar Allan Poe's greatest writings, including novels, short stories and poems such as "The Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym of Nantucket", "The Fall of the House of Usher", "The Tell-Tale Heart", "The Raven" and "The Cask of Amontillado". 
    
    This edition has been professionally formatted and contains several tables of contents. The first table of contents (at the very beginning of the ebook) lists the titles of all novels included in this volume. By clicking on one of those titles you will be redirected to the beginning of that work, where you'll find a new TOC that lists all the chapters and sub-chapters of that specific work.
    Show book
  • Queen Joanna - cover

    Queen Joanna

    Kate Danley

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Thrust into a loveless marriage of state, Queen Joanna discovers her new palace is home to many dark secrets. When a face in the mirror confronts her with a dire warning, she realizes her life is at risk. Has she awakened a curse—or been struck by madness? 
    Queen Joanna presents a haunting twist on the ghost story legend of Bloody Mary.
    Show book
  • First Love and Other Sorrows - Stories - cover

    First Love and Other Sorrows -...

    Harold Brodkey

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    In the vein of John Cheever and J. D. Salinger, this powerful collection of short stories chronicles the loss of innocence, the harsh cruelty of social distinctions, and the anguish of young loveFirst Love and Other Sorrows is the hauntingly beautiful debut collection of short stories from American master Harold Brodkey. Written when the author was in his twenties, these strong, affecting tales recall the intoxicating joy of young, springtime love, while lamenting the betrayal of dreams and false ideals in the glaring light of reality. Set in the Midwest during the 1950s, First Love and Other Sorrows centers around a Jewish family that has recently lost its patriarch—and with him the world of privilege.  Through the eyes of a son, a sister, and a mother—each one struggling to find a foothold in both family and society—these stories explore class prejudice, obsessive love, and the tragic foibles and emotional truths of being human. First Love and Other Sorrows is masterful fiction from an extraordinary literary artist.
    Show book
  • My Maggie Valentine - Maggie MacKay: Holiday Special #3 - cover

    My Maggie Valentine - Maggie...

    Kate Danley

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Valentine's Day is terrible.  Especially when you're Maggie MacKay and tasked with chaperoning the local high school Valentine's dance.  Join Maggie and Killian on a holiday, short story adventure.  Sometimes you wrestle with demons.  And sometimes they just want to cuddle...
    Show book