Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Supernatural Short Stories - cover

Supernatural Short Stories

Bram Stoker

Publisher: Arcturus Publishing

  • 4
  • 15
  • 0

Summary

Legends of vampires, werewolves, and unruly spirits have been a feature of European folklore for centuries. The authors whose work is collected together in this volume range from early Gothic writers to modern pulp enthusiasts.English writers like John William Polidori (1795-1821), the physician who wrote The Vampyre, and William H. G. Kingston (1814-1880), were pioneers of supernatural fiction, while others chose to master the ghost story. E. F. Benson was a part time archaeologist and M. R. James, a medieval historian at King's College, Cambridge. James would read his ghost stories aloud to his friends and students at Christmas-time. With good reason, he has been described as 'the best ghost-story writer England has ever produced.'Classic literary writers such as Ambrose Bierce and Guy de Maupassant found an outlet for their imagination in their terrifying tales, and later writers like Clifford Ball and M. P. Shiel established supernatural fiction in the pulp magazines of the early 20th century.Together, these stories demonstrate a stunning mastery of atmosphere and show an unmatched ability to terrify readers to this day.This collection features several of the leading purveyors of supernatural horror. Authors include:Clifford BallE. F. BensonAmbrose BierceFrancis Marion CrawfordCharlotte Perkins GilmanM. R. JamesWilliam H. G. KingstonArthur MachenGuy de MaupassantJohn William PolidoriM. P. ShielBram Stoker

Other books that might interest you

  • Red - cover

    Red

    Jessi McPherson

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    Everyone has read the tale of Little Red Riding Hood... Such a carefree, naïve girl who fell victim to the wolf and had to be saved by the Huntsman. I'd like to set that story straight. It all began with a girl, a curse, and wolf. We all have a hero inside. All it takes is to believe. Cara knew the legends of her village but she never thought she'd become one.
    Show book
  • Letters from the Dead - cover

    Letters from the Dead

    Campbell Armstrong

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “A satisfying dank and creepy chiller” about hauntings and horror in a broken-down beach house on the Virginia shore (Kirkus Reviews). A battered Ouija board promises entertainment for the renters of a crumbling seaside cottage a few miles outside Cochrane Crossing. But when they play, thirteen-year-olds Lindy and Tommy receive sinister messages about someone named “Roscoe”—and their mothers encounter even more disturbing visions in the tiny, gloomy town nearby.   Something terrible happened here long ago, and one of the vacationers is about to be drawn slowly into the grip of possession by a frightening force that may prevent them all from ever returning home . . .   From an international bestselling author of horror and suspense novels, including such titles as Concert of Ghosts and the Frank Pagan series, as well as the riveting personal memoir I Hope You Have a Good Life, this is a tale of the macabre for fans of Dean Koontz and Stephen King or anyone who enjoys a spooky occult thriller.  
    Show book
  • The Hellbound Heart - A Novel - cover

    The Hellbound Heart - A Novel

    Clive Barker

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    Frank Cotton's insatiable appetite for the dark pleasures of pain led him to the puzzle of Lemarchand's box, and from there, to a death only a sick-minded soul could invent. But his brother's love-crazed wife, Julia, has discovered a way to bring Frank back—though the price will be bloody and terrible . . . and there will certainly be hell to pay.
    Show book
  • Carmilla - cover

    Carmilla

    Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    "Carmilla" is a Gothic novella by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu and one of the early works of vampire fiction, predating Bram Stoker's Dracula (1897) by 26 years.
    
    Joseph Thomas Sheridan Le Fanu (28 August 1814 – 7 February 1873) was an Irish writer of Gothic tales and mystery novels.
    Show book
  • The Wanting - cover

    The Wanting

    Campbell Armstrong

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A California vacation town holds a terrifying secret in this novel from the international bestselling author who “writes much better than King or Straub” (Village Voice).   When Max and Louise Untermeyer rent a house in the remote pine forests of Northern California, they figure it’ll be a perfect escape from the city, especially for their twelve-year-old son, Denny. Their neighbors, Dick and Charlotte Summer, are an elderly couple who certainly seem nice enough. And while they positively dote on the boy, plying him with sweets and gifts, it’s a shame there are no other children Denny’s age to play with. Louise is beginning to wonder why, but no one in town likes to talk about it.   But that’s not the only thing troubling Louise. A parent expects a boy of Denny’s age to go through changes—just not like this. Day by day, his innocence seems to be draining away, replaced by something unhealthy, even perverse. Now, the closer Denny gets to Mr. and Mrs. Summer, the closer he is to being lost forever in their dark secret. And anyone who comes looking for him hasn’t got a prayer.   The international bestselling author of the Glasgow novels and the Frank Pagan series, Campbell Armstrong has won a Scottish Arts Council Award and a nomination for the Prix du Polar. Any one of his novels “belongs in the permanent collection of horror/thriller fans” (Kirkus Reviews).  
    Show book
  • Triggered Reality - Dreams and Reality #15 - cover

    Triggered Reality - Dreams and...

    Hadena James

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    For most of Kansas City, it was a beautiful spring day.  For Eric Clachan, it was the day he would get justice through bloodshed.  A rifle would ensure that the spree killer would never destroy another family.  He wouldn’t stop there.  Eric had a list of other targets inside the prison walls.  Targets that would ensure justice would change.  A single day would change the world and pave the way for the US Marshals to become the baddest serial killer hunters in the world.  Eric knew this as he looked down the scope and took aim.   
    Max Goff needed to relax.  His life had become overwhelming.  He should have gotten a massage and spent a day with friends.  Instead, he stole a car and began a killing spree that would terrorize an entire city.  Until the newly formed US Marshals’ Serial Crimes Tracking Unit would come hunting for him and he would learn what fear really was.
    Show book